We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a reasonable price”
Review of Dorisol Mimosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorisol Mimosa
Ranked #80 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 10 September 2017

It is worth to know that the reduced ratings of this hotel are probably the result of above all too high expectations. One must know that the specifics of the island of Madeira was that it was not so accessible to mass tourism. It is also far from continental Europe, so it is more expensive to get here. Also for these reasons, more expensive hotels dominate here. Those that are cheaper are mainly hotels built in the 20th century and have not been renovated for years. Hotel Mimosa is characterized by the old equipment (80s), but it is very clean here. There are two major drawbacks - often one employee handles reception for two hotels. The second minus is the scourge of pigeons on the balconies (even on high floors!). Please ask the owners to take some steps, because the pigeons unfortunately even enter the hotel rooms. These are birds that carry many parasites, also dangerous for humans, eg Argas reflexus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michal_KTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Mimosa. We offer spacious rooms with kitchenettes and balconies, and pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our premises. As to the pigeons, unfortunately very often our guests feed them in their own balconies, and they get used to this. We will take steps to try and avoid this as much as it is within our power. We hope to welcome you back in some future trip to our lovely island of Madeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Well located in Lido area. Funchal centre and some shops (e.g Pingo Doce) reachable by walk.
Basic and a bit dated hotel. There's lack of a/c and wifi in the rooms. A little noisy because of building works nearby.
Parking available for free.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kamil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your concise review of our Hotel Mimosa. We would like to add that we offer spacious studios with kitchenettes and balconies with great views. We also take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and friendliness of our staff. We offer very good value for money, and hope to welcme you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

n holiday with 3 generations of family on the 8th floor, Located on a Steep hill which was inaccessible for the 80 year old ( but that is not the hotels fault)
Hotel is multinational, close to a few bars and restaurants 20 mins. walk into the centre
The Room was ok, it had Air Con( I was later told on the way home that it was the only floor that had air con, and other guest had been opening the fridge door to cool the room)
with a kitchenette, we never used the kitchenette but it looked functional
We shared a towel for 2 days as the chamber maid only left one bath towel (presumed they had run out )
We tried to have a lay in one day( 9 am) only to be woken up by the chambermaids having a heated discussion outside our room

There is a heated pool which was needed for the children as the main pool was deep and very cold

The Breakfast was bad quality hot and cold food, the problem was chasing the staff all the time for cutlery cups and plates and they just could not be bothered, in the end I gave up and used forks to stair my coffee very poor service
The lunch was the bare minimum fish meat chips and dry pasta?
the funniest thing was the snacks between 4 and 6 which was ham cheese in a Tupperware container, sliced bread and a toaster, which you had to DIY, every day the same
The evening meal was in the dining room, a selection of hot and cold food buffet which was OK

The entertainment was again the bare minimum

There was only 1 bar open which was the pool bar, because only a small amount of guest were All Inclusive (only Brit’s) the bar was never that busy as the other guest choose to go elsewhere and I don't blame them because the staff are so rude slamming the drinks down, it was as if the last thing they wanted to do was serve you !
at one point I wanted to tell the staff how much I had paid for the holiday to see if that would shame them into improving their service

They say you get what you pay for, on this occasion that was not true,
The hotel is 3 stars but will be going down to 2 stars if the staff do not change their attitude towards the customers

I would not recommend this Hotel and I am disgusted at Thompson Holidays for selling it to me

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank vickyw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Wedeeply regret the inconveniences suffered during your stay with us! Your comments regarding the food and service have already been passed on to our F&B department for imediate improvement. We promide you a much better experience if you do choose to give us another opportunity on a next visit to Madeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Dated hotel but had a nice feel. Room was comfortable but very small balcony and dated. Food was terrible. Breakfast was good though. Staff were very friendly. Good bus service into Funchal about ten mins away. Nice restaurants close by. Great for the money paid

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Mimosa. Our studio rooms are spacious, at 24 square meters and they all have balconies. Our chef tries hard to please many different nationalities, and everything is cooked fresh every day and there is plenty of choice. Our staff is very friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Madeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

I think this hotel has received unfair reviews. Generally you get what you pay for - this is not a 5 star hotel but you are not paying 5 star prices. First of all the staff could not be more friendly or helpful; such nice people. There are good facilities; tennis court, bar area, nice pool, plenty of sun beds and terrace. We had two rooms on the eighth floor that had nice balconies and small kitchen areas; the rooms were cleaned every day. The food was a major bone of contention with all the guests and here is our view; it was plentiful with a varied menu, not haut cuisine but hey come on let's be realistic. The breakfast was as you would expect anywhere and they put on nice snacks in the afternoon. We were there for one week and ate out twice just so we could have a curry and an Italian for a change, I think if future guest adopt a similar approach there will be no disappointments. Take my word for it this a good hotel and well worth the money.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BBBBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you ever so much for such a nice review of our Hotel Mimosa! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to our lovely island of Madeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

After reading some reviews, we were wary of this hotel. However, it is not as bad as people make out!
Our room was ready as soon as we arrived and it was spotless. Only downside was no air con and noisy dogs!
Breakfast was great, with bacon eggs mushrooms beans etc, plus ham cheese lots of lovely fresh bread, cereal yoghurt and fruit. Plenty of fruit juices and coffee.
Lunch was OK, pasta, salads, fish and a meat dish and potato wedges or chips.
Dinner was taken in Europa restaurant which is located in the Estrelica (middle hotel ). There was always soup, salad, pasta, fish and meat. Choices were quite limited and could have been hotter, but the main issue was the heat in the restaurant. It was unbearable and did put us off going in. Also, there wasn't any child friendly foods so we ate out for dinner.
The outdoor pool was nice but the shallow end is 1.5m, which I thought was a bit too deep. The indoor pool was fab though as was the jacuzzi!
Entertainment was pretty low key, but I think that is the norm in Madeira. If you want karaoke and bustling British bars, you'd be better off in Benidorm.
The hotel is very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. There were a couple of grumpy ones but nothing that worried us!
Ice cream and toasties are available between 4pm and 6pm, but you need to ask for the ice cream, don't bother paying for those in the fridge, at €2, they're not really worth it.
Drinks were good, spirits although unbranded were strong and plentiful!
The Hill! Wow! It was steep, so be aware if you have mobility or breathing issues! ! Our 9 year old could sprint up it, but we trudged slowly far behind!
If going into Funchal, the bus is €1.95 per person, but a taxi is only a few cents more and reception will happily call one for you, plus they drop you at the door on the way back! Bonus - no Hill climb!
We only found one bureau de change, which is located next to the church in Funchal, so be aware if you plan on taking English money as the hotel won't change it.
All in all, we had a great time at Dorisol Mimosa and came home with great memories.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you ever so much for such a nice review of our Hotel Mimosa! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to our lovely island of Madeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Nice welcome but our room was not ready already after flight delay and my wife was very tired need sleep..we went had dinner up in pool Terrance we found salad which was ok for dinner but it was the same for 2weeks .finally the room was ready given our keys and wasn't told we were told what hotel going around in circles ,no help what so ever .get to our room 3single beds 1970 furniture,leaking toilet and so called shower.
The meals were just the same with rice and salade again .cakes were lovely
The staff some were friendly not that barman with a bald head,having arguments with other staff,should never be working with the public.slams drinks down and gruts
Hotel needs vamp up and needs to be cleaner.better beds .i left cups on the table in morning where we didn't use the kitchen found them in the sink
Going back too Madeira not dorisol

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We are very sorry not to have met your expectations! We are a good 3 star hotel with spacious studio rooms with balconies, and our chef tries hard to please many different nationalities. We offer very good value for money. We deeply regret having disappointed you and promise to take your comments to heart and do our best to improve where we are lacking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 km away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#73 of 88 in Funchal
397 reviews
0.0 km away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#86 of 88 in Funchal
426 reviews
0.4 km away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#52 of 88 in Funchal
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#54 of 88 in Funchal
160 reviews
0.4 km away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#51 of 88 in Funchal
346 reviews
1.2 km away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Mimosa

Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $61 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Mimosa 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the promenade, with great views over the sea and Funchal bay. Studio apartments with balcony and fully equipped kitchenette. Gardens, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court and spa. Shuttle bus to city center. Daily entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Dorisol Mimosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Mimosa Funchal
Dorisol Mimosa Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Mimosa Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing