We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
51
126
151
54
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
126
151
54
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shallow end courtesy bus indoor pool walking difficulties garden terrace local buses room was spotless whole complex bars restaurants each evening cooked breakfast definitely return to this hotel star hotel small kitchen cleaned daily meal times beautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 430 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Well located in Lido area. Funchal centre and some shops (e.g Pingo Doce) reachable by walk.
Basic and a bit dated hotel. There's lack of a/c and wifi in the rooms. A little noisy because of building works nearby.
Parking available for free.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kamil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for your concise review of our Hotel Mimosa. We would like to add that we offer spacious studios with kitchenettes and balconies with great views. We also take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and friendliness of our staff. We offer very good value for money, and hope to welcme you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

n holiday with 3 generations of family on the 8th floor, Located on a Steep hill which was inaccessible for the 80 year old ( but that is not the hotels fault)
Hotel is multinational, close to a few bars and restaurants 20 mins. walk into the centre
The Room was ok, it had Air Con( I was later told on the way home that it was the only floor that had air con, and other guest had been opening the fridge door to cool the room)
with a kitchenette, we never used the kitchenette but it looked functional
We shared a towel for 2 days as the chamber maid only left one bath towel (presumed they had run out )
We tried to have a lay in one day( 9 am) only to be woken up by the chambermaids having a heated discussion outside our room

There is a heated pool which was needed for the children as the main pool was deep and very cold

The Breakfast was bad quality hot and cold food, the problem was chasing the staff all the time for cutlery cups and plates and they just could not be bothered, in the end I gave up and used forks to stair my coffee very poor service
The lunch was the bare minimum fish meat chips and dry pasta?
the funniest thing was the snacks between 4 and 6 which was ham cheese in a Tupperware container, sliced bread and a toaster, which you had to DIY, every day the same
The evening meal was in the dining room, a selection of hot and cold food buffet which was OK

The entertainment was again the bare minimum

There was only 1 bar open which was the pool bar, because only a small amount of guest were All Inclusive (only Brit’s) the bar was never that busy as the other guest choose to go elsewhere and I don't blame them because the staff are so rude slamming the drinks down, it was as if the last thing they wanted to do was serve you !
at one point I wanted to tell the staff how much I had paid for the holiday to see if that would shame them into improving their service

They say you get what you pay for, on this occasion that was not true,
The hotel is 3 stars but will be going down to 2 stars if the staff do not change their attitude towards the customers

I would not recommend this Hotel and I am disgusted at Thompson Holidays for selling it to me

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank vickyw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Wedeeply regret the inconveniences suffered during your stay with us! Your comments regarding the food and service have already been passed on to our F&B department for imediate improvement. We promide you a much better experience if you do choose to give us another opportunity on a next visit to Madeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Dated hotel but had a nice feel. Room was comfortable but very small balcony and dated. Food was terrible. Breakfast was good though. Staff were very friendly. Good bus service into Funchal about ten mins away. Nice restaurants close by. Great for the money paid

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Mimosa. Our studio rooms are spacious, at 24 square meters and they all have balconies. Our chef tries hard to please many different nationalities, and everything is cooked fresh every day and there is plenty of choice. Our staff is very friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Madeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

I think this hotel has received unfair reviews. Generally you get what you pay for - this is not a 5 star hotel but you are not paying 5 star prices. First of all the staff could not be more friendly or helpful; such nice people. There are good facilities; tennis court, bar area, nice pool, plenty of sun beds and terrace. We had two rooms on the eighth floor that had nice balconies and small kitchen areas; the rooms were cleaned every day. The food was a major bone of contention with all the guests and here is our view; it was plentiful with a varied menu, not haut cuisine but hey come on let's be realistic. The breakfast was as you would expect anywhere and they put on nice snacks in the afternoon. We were there for one week and ate out twice just so we could have a curry and an Italian for a change, I think if future guest adopt a similar approach there will be no disappointments. Take my word for it this a good hotel and well worth the money.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BBBBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you ever so much for such a nice review of our Hotel Mimosa! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to our lovely island of Madeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

After reading some reviews, we were wary of this hotel. However, it is not as bad as people make out!
Our room was ready as soon as we arrived and it was spotless. Only downside was no air con and noisy dogs!
Breakfast was great, with bacon eggs mushrooms beans etc, plus ham cheese lots of lovely fresh bread, cereal yoghurt and fruit. Plenty of fruit juices and coffee.
Lunch was OK, pasta, salads, fish and a meat dish and potato wedges or chips.
Dinner was taken in Europa restaurant which is located in the Estrelica (middle hotel ). There was always soup, salad, pasta, fish and meat. Choices were quite limited and could have been hotter, but the main issue was the heat in the restaurant. It was unbearable and did put us off going in. Also, there wasn't any child friendly foods so we ate out for dinner.
The outdoor pool was nice but the shallow end is 1.5m, which I thought was a bit too deep. The indoor pool was fab though as was the jacuzzi!
Entertainment was pretty low key, but I think that is the norm in Madeira. If you want karaoke and bustling British bars, you'd be better off in Benidorm.
The hotel is very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. There were a couple of grumpy ones but nothing that worried us!
Ice cream and toasties are available between 4pm and 6pm, but you need to ask for the ice cream, don't bother paying for those in the fridge, at €2, they're not really worth it.
Drinks were good, spirits although unbranded were strong and plentiful!
The Hill! Wow! It was steep, so be aware if you have mobility or breathing issues! ! Our 9 year old could sprint up it, but we trudged slowly far behind!
If going into Funchal, the bus is €1.95 per person, but a taxi is only a few cents more and reception will happily call one for you, plus they drop you at the door on the way back! Bonus - no Hill climb!
We only found one bureau de change, which is located next to the church in Funchal, so be aware if you plan on taking English money as the hotel won't change it.
All in all, we had a great time at Dorisol Mimosa and came home with great memories.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Mimosa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you ever so much for such a nice review of our Hotel Mimosa! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to our lovely island of Madeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews