We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view and quiet place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice view and quiet place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Take a" vue sur mer" room and enjoy it ! Enjoy the swimming pool on the top. It is a very little walk from the center, the service is kind, coffee not to good but you can take the breakfast on the terrace. Good value but you have to like old fashion style

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the sea, the other are quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    96
    55
    18
    9
See reviews for
33
118
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

As most reviewers commented on the character of this location and the price seemed very reasonable decided to spend a week here. Was advised that if I didn't like the room I'd been allocated then for another 7 euros a night I could have another room overlooking the harbour. When shown my room understood the reasoning.The room smelt musty, had obviously not been aired, and I believe the expectation was that I would pay the extra. However I took the room which was more than adequate in size with a comfortable bed. Could not fault the cleanliness, however the mustiness remained to a degree for the rest of my stay. No hot/cold drink facility in room, and neither aircon or ceiling fan. I have encountered some fairly basic breakfasts before, but never as basic as in this hotel. In my opinion definitely should not be a three star rating. As others have noted, it is a very steep climb for part of the way up to this hotel, would say not for the very elderly or anyone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

The hotel is horrifying. The rooms are very unclean, I slept on my towel. The bathroom was the living room of two cockroaches (the madeira ones are about 5cm!!!).. never go there!

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank sgoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
close_to_sea, Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
We are very sorry that you had such a bad experience when staying in our Hotel.
We would like to inform that the hotel was subject to renovation works during the last quarter of 2010. The hotel number of rooms has diminished from 45 to 28, and only the best rooms are now available.
We really believe that Hotel Monte Carlo can now offer a nice and rich experience to all its guests, and we would like to challenge you to visit us if you ever come to Madeira Island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

The "Monte Carlo" is excellent value for money, we booked a dead-cheap room with EasyJet and we expected the worst. How positively surprised we were when we saw the hotel! Although it has clearly seen better times (we believe it must have been the top-place of Funchal in the 1920s) it is a lovely place full of character, very close to Funchal's town centre. The place is super clean and staff are generally very helpful. They have parking space which is limited but they have a funny but effective system to make full use of it - see yourself ;-) We can certainly recommend the place!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falco1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

This late 19th century hotel with a modern extension and pool, really does fit the description 'faded grandeur'. It has character and unlike the main drag of hotels in western Funchal is perched up the hill (good exercise!) and the view from our room (14 - in the old buiding) gave us a 180' view across Funchal. It was a large airy room with high ceilings and a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts have been critisised in other reviews but it was a typical continental breakfast found all over Europe! The bar is a great place to linger over a drink on return from an evening meal and sample one of the speciality drinks made by Ricardo or Marco and chat to other guests on the terrrace looking at the twinkling lights of Funchal.
We used our hire car to explore the island comprehensively and had to admire the brilliant efforts to clear up the dreadful deveastation caused by the floods in February. There is plenty of evidence of that day once you leave the town but nearly all roads were open, though care was needed in some places.
Simple directions on getting there from the airport. Leave the expressway at Junction 11 - follow the road downhill, past the roundabout and continue downhill (the road is now a dual carriageway with the river between) past 2 petrol stations built on bridges over the riverand turn right at the Opel Car showroom traffic lights. Follow the road round to the right and up hill. There is a sharp left turn and then right and then you have to take the next right as ahead is a No Entry - 150m ahead is the hotel.
Ricardo in particular was a brilliant source of information, especially on how to get to places - signposts are not very helpful on the island (especially to get to Monte at present) and he was so helpful when one of us was unwell. He is also a great raconteur!
If you dislike the modern multi roomed hotels that exist all over the world with little difference between them, and enjoy exploring to find a restaurant for lunch or evening meal then the monte Carlo is for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

We booked B & B for a week with seaview. On arrival an English staff member ushered us into a grim damp room in the annexe which opened onto a small yard. A Tiny bathroom,toilet inches away from bath with very unpleasant bathmat. We were told that their computer did not record us as having breakfast and we would have to pay another 14 euros day. After pointing out that there was no plug to fit sink and both sides of the bed were dirty and cobwebby, we were offered another room by which time I had gone to bed in despair. Bedsheets were clean but smelt of the damp. Next day new room had seaview, TV, no damp, decent bathroom and no dirt. Full marks to very helpful madeiran staff. Took three days before Travel Agent phoned hotel and they agreed it was an error we were entitled to breakfast. Stressful.
Breakfast is usually something to look forward to.Cornflakes were stale...Juice watered down. Forget it.
Our previous stay in this lovely town was 2009 in a super hotel further out near Lido. We are not a difficult to please couple but this is not a 3* standard hotel.
Funchal is a lovely town, Madeira is a lovely island and the people are friendly but our unfortunate experience overshadowed the whole week.
Our thoughts are with all the struggling local people in their efforts to clear up after the catastrophe of recent events.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

If you prefer an old hotel in urgent need of modernisation; if you like the challenge of requesting a television and phone that work and a bidet that won't leak all over the bathroom floor; if you enjoy a spot of DIY and are able to move the wall mirror and balance it on a chair next to an electrical socket so that you can see as you dry your hair; if you don't mind having to request more loo paper when you are down to your last five tear-off bits and an extension lead so that you can watch the TV at the same time as you boil your travel kettle, then the Monte Carlo is for you!!!

You can look forward to a choice of cool boiled or hard scrambled eggs each day and counteract the effect of the excess cholesterol in your body by racing up and down the steep hill into town. You can show your strength of character by putting up with a window that doesn't close and having the peace and quiet disturbed by a barking dog all night. You can also test out those reading glasses you bought in Pound Land as you peer at your book in the dim light of a 25 watt light bulb.

Remember to whisper in the almost empty dining room or the two or three other guests will hear every word you say. Keep your dressing gown on as the wind will whistle round your knees if you decide to sit by the windows and enjoy the panoramic view.

Keep your sense of humour and enjoy chatting to the friendly staff, and I guarantee that the Monte Carlo will provide you with unique holiday memories.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaMurcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.8 km away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Residencial Pina
Residencial Pina
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.1 km away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#60 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: Calcada Saude 10 | PO Box 4507, Funchal, Madeira 9000-221, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within a previous Palace of Funchal’s charming and historic town centre, the Monte Carlo Hotel promises affordable accommodation and relaxing panoramic views of the bay of Funchal, and the Ocean. It’s located next to some main heritage and cultural points of Funchal, and Monte Carlo offers a relaxing stay, after exploring the magnificent island of Madeira. It takes only 5 walking minutes to reach the center and Marina, and there is a mini bus coming up to the Hotel Street every 30 minutes. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast, a living and games room with TV, a bar with Snack meals, as well as Wines and cocktails. At Monte Carlo you can enjoy a charming and friendly stay, in a unique place in Madeira. There is an exclusive esplanade, and on the top an outdoor swimming pool open all year, with a great view to see fireworks festivities in winter. The rooms are restful, cozy, equipped with a complete bathroom, telephone and TV. Some cultural events take place in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Funchal
Hotel Monte Carlo Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing