We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bland food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“bland food”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

recently stayed at the savoy gardens on half board basis. food is really bland with little choice.
went out to eat in the end.had cake one night that was still almost frozen .
rooms at rear all overlook venting fans which run 24hours and are very noisy forcing us to keep windows closed.

Room Tip: pay for sea view as rooms at the rear look over the venting fans which mean you have to keep windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janandmartinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    628
    169
    45
    13
See reviews for
63
1,573
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed for a week in April and had a wonderful time. could not fault this hotel. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a good value for money accomodation.

Room Tip: room 301 excellent. good view and very spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed for a week and would have happily stayed for 2. The staff were friendly, the hotel spotless and the food was of a good quality with plenty of choice. (we were on 1/2 board)

Room Tip: we had a room at the back and the views were stunning. Looking up at the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked this 2 week holiday for our honeymoon via First Choice. When we arrived we expected to have a room upgrade and champagne and fruit ( as advertised in the brochure) This didnt happen and quite frankly we found the reception staff very unhelpful. The Thomson rep said that there was no record of our booking being a honeymoon.Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of the mountains and loads of derelict houses. We were told that we could have a sea view room at 20 euros per night extra but there were no rooms available for free upgrade. Despite the bad start, we enjoyed the holiday. The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill so most days we walked to Funchal- about 20 min walk and taxi back. The trips are better and cheaper booked through Funtours situated in a booth halfway down the main road to the harbour. The West tour and the catamaran to see dolphins are highly recommended. The decor and facilities are very stylish throughout the whole hotel with a fantastic beauty therapist in the lower ground floor. Lovely roof terrace with jacuzzi and clean, if a little cold swimming pool. The food was great and loads of choice but got very boring after 10 days or so! Entertainment was poor- the duo were amateurish and had no talent. The resident singer, Gail was excellent.
I think that a week rather than a fortnight in Madeira would have been ample. Funchal has some lovely museums and places to visit and we were lucky enough to be there for the flower festival which was fantastic. This hotel is couples only and I would say that 90% of guests were over 55, which does include us- we felt like youngsters!! so if you are looking for some evening entertainment, forget Madeira- it's known as the island of newly wed and nearly dead, which I'd say is a fair assessment!

Room Tip: pay for a sea view on a higher floor. Take teabags and coffee with you and drink in the bars down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alison g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel is lovely and has been beautifully decorated and very nice artwork everywhere. very clean and the facilities are quite good. the pool was supposed to be heated but wasnt which was a disappointment to me as I love to swim, I went in once but it was too cold. the only complaint really is the food, the cooked breakfasts in the morning were very good, but if you just wanted toast or bread and marmalade then not so good, I tried all the bread on offer but none were nice. the evening meals were very bland and really rather strange at times, for instance - we had a very nice chicken curry one evening but, no rice! it had to be either chips or boiled potatoes. The evening entertainment was the same every evening but, at least the singers could actually sing. overall a nice hotel, but be warned a very steep hill up to the door.

Room Tip: choose a seaview room if you want a nice view, also the rooms at the back tend to be noisier because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Savoy Gardens as our last foreign holiday before our first baby's born. The other reviews are quite correct, the average age of the guests is about 60+. However that did not affect our holiday in the slightest. In fact, we loved the place and the people.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy and well decorated. Our room had all that we could wish for including a fridge, safe, hangers, little balcony and a radio in the bathroom! The room was cleaned and tidied every day by a lovely cleaner.

The restaurant was fabulous!. Lovely views of the pool and amazing food. Breakfast is buffet style with lots of cooked breakfast, ham and cheese, yoghurt, fruit and baked goodies, plus tea, coffee and juices. Dinner each night was again buffet but it had a new theme each night. The Portugese and Madeira night was especially tasty and if you're thinking of eating anywhere else on any night, it's worth asking reception when these nights will be put on as you dont want to miss the tasty food. All the other nights were very tasty too with a salad buffet, a chef station creating something fab and fresh and a dessert table that would make your eyes water! There's a small separate dining room if you want to order from the la carte menu, which costs extra. We did one night and had the place to ourselves. The food was nice and the service was good. Im still in 2 minds as to whether it was better then the buffet food or not.

Everything can be charged to your room so there's no need to carry cash around which is always a bonus. The pool and surrounds were lovely but it was a tad cold for a lot of people. To keep warm in it, you had to be swimming properly, not just paddling. This was the only disappointment for me. Also, there is no gym, for those who want one when they go away.

There's a bar downstairs which has live entertainment every night (this wasnt for us, very cheesey singing but the quizzes were good fun and they served delicious cocktails, or so my husband told me!) The spa seemed to offer a lot but we didnt indulge. The tv room is great for playing cards, watching the football, grabbing a book to read from the library or using the free internet.

The bar outside by the pool is nice and served tasty food from 10 til 6 each day. And then there's a games room with table tennis, pool, darts and a games terrace with boules, putting, shuffleboard etc.

On the 8th floor, there's a rooftop terrace with an honesty bar which has drinks and snacks, and sun loungers and a jacuzzi. The view is fabulous!

So plenty to keep you going. We went with Thomson/ First Choice and there was always something going on, either a free event or an excursion.

The hotel's in a great location nearby to some shops and restaurants and right opposite a bus stop. It is an uphill walk on the way back though so beware.

The walk into Funchal is lovely and pleasant and only takes about half an hour to 45 minutes depending on how quickly you walk.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet holiday with no familes or kids running round and who want to eat a lot of food! We came back feeling very nicely rested.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel have a great view and are bigger. But they do face the road whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flojo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We went on a Thomson holiday expecting great things from this hotel.
We had a sea view room which was very nice, lots of space,a lovely big bathroom and a nice balcony.
The hotel staff were very good and friendly.
What let the hotel down was the lack of proper lounge facilities and the dining room as well as the general location.
The Cica Bar was small and had very uncomfortable seats.
The dining room service was buffet style with food that looked and tasted very bland.The thing that amazed us was that in this island famed for its flowers the flowers in the dining room were PLASTIC.
We found the hotel location not suitable as it was at the top of a steep approach and at our ages we dont do hills

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room on as high a floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
0.7 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.7 km away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing