We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old Town Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tormlock
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Town Apartment ”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A good place to stay within walking distance to everywhere, near the sea and near nice cafe. The apartment also has it's own parking space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fadhley
Hampshire Uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect for all our needs”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this appartment of trip advisor website; this was our first trip to Funchal. We did not know Funchal at all so we did not know what to expect.
Location:
The apartment is on the east side of the city, and in a modest local residential area. This part of the city has an old bohemian and artistic style about it, it is also referred to as the old town (Zona Velha).The apartment is two minutes walk from the seafront where you have many nice little cafe/ bistro and other shop.
it is 5/8 minutes walk from the Saint Maria street where you find many amazing restaurants and bars spilling out on to the narrow cobbled streets. there is a wonderful feeling about the whole place.
It is also 10 minute walk to the famous food and flower market,10-15 minutes walk to the Cable cars and only 15-20 minutes walk to the city centre/buses stations.
The Apartment is on the 3rd floor, very quiet no traffic noise or loud music e.g just a residential local community..
We found this modest but very well equipped and comfortable apartment as per description and had more positive and pleasant surprises,e.g we found it very very clean inside and out, and very well equipped, Plenty of towels, very clean white cotton sheets, very comfortable beds; there was a bowl of fruit awaiting us and the owner Fernando had placed fresh milk, eggs in the fridge for us,The apartment also have a lot of little extras e.g tea, coffee, salt pepper cooking oil, olive oil even washing powder, which we did not expect.
The shower was good with plenty of hot water. the bath is good too but may need a better plug.
The owner Fernando is very kind and helpful, he really could not do enough for you. He picked us up and took us back from the airport at no extra charge. We really did not expect this. We had great time in this appartment, and we are looking forward to go back in the near future.
Thank you Fernando for looking after us so well.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location clean well equipped helpful Owner
Liked least: cannot think of any
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
My thanks to my guests for the kind words .
I really enjoyed having them as guests in my apartment.
They are extraordinary people , well trained , punctual, organized , very neat .
I hope to return many times, I 'll be here to receive them with open arms.
I always seek , receive my guests the best possible way in order to feel well .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harald B
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonTw
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: de vriendelijkheid van de eigenaar en de locatie
Liked least: het enige dat ik kan bedenken is de felheid van de lampen, geen sfeerverlichting. Maar dat had ook wel weer z'n voordelen.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing