We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We liked it so much we're going back this year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We liked it so much we're going back this year!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the end of August 2011. There is not much to add to what other reviewers have written, except that we loved it at the resort and are returning this summer (something we have not done before after other holidays!)
This was our first experience of AI and, overall, we were very happy. There was an abundance of food and drink throughout the day and our 6 year old son always found something he could enjoy. The choices on offer in the restaurant were sometimes variable (some great, some ok) but we didn't ever go hungry!! We have decided that this year we will try a couple of the local restaurants too, as recommended by some of the other couples and families there when we stayed. As for the entertainment - it was cheesy and quite camp - but we loved it! It somehow added to the ambience. If you are expecting "top class" acts then this may not be the resort for you (but it does depend on your definition of top class...).
The pools are just lovely, we particularly liked the saltwater one. We never had any problem getting a sunbed but the usual situation of reserving them with towels was commonplace. Still, why be stressed about it when you've spent the money on getting away from the stresses and strains of life at home?
Finally, the beach....by far the most fantastic, clean and spectacular beach we have experienced in Europe. The ocean is a bit choppy but great for wave jumping and boogie boarding. It was sometimes quite windy but good for kite flying with our little boy and the sand was perfect for castle constructing!
We have gone on and on about this hotel to all of our friends and have looked back at last year's photos lovingly - can't wait to arrive there again in August!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 1mj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPS_JPA, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to apreciate your time in posting such a wounderful review regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa.
We were naturally satisfied that you and your family have enjoyed every moment spent here with us!
We took notes on your comments relating our entertaining programme,and we assure you that this year we have reinforced our entertainig team so that all guests can have fun and spend memorable moments in our company!
Again, thank you for your kind comments and recommending our hotel to your friends.
We look forward for August to welcome you back in our hotel!

Warm regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    561
    161
    31
    18
See reviews for
846
1,047
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here at the tail end of the summer school holidays and had hoped that would mean fewer kids and a bit more peace & quiet but sadly not. That however is just a timing issue and not a reflection on the hotel but it is something to bear in mind. The hotel itself was modern, clean and well laid out, with the staff being extremely helpful. The food was good overall with a reasonable choice and some nice daily specials. As might be expected with a buffet and all inclusive package, we ate far too much!! The beach is beautiful and just a short walk from the main pool area, with a nice little bar close by which is included in the all inclusive package. The evening entertainment by the staff was a bit hit and miss (a bit holiday camp) but credit to them for their efforts and if it's not your cup of tea there are UK channels on the TV in the room, which also has a DVD player. There is a free bus into the town and although there is little to see, it's worth visiting and walking back along the beach if you're up to it. My only real gripe is in respect of sun beds of all things. Unless you choose to go to the beach, you will inevitably want to spend your day lounging around the excellent central pool area. The problem is there seemed to be insufficient sun beds/parasols and all too often large numbers were pulled together and "reserved" by families first thing in the morning, despite the hotel stating that this is not allowed. This can mean casting around for odd beds away from the main area, which is not as nice. The hotel try to manage this to some extent by controlling the number of towels provided but sadly there will always be some people who selfishly refuse to play ball and as a result, some greater enforecment of this one sensible rule would be helpful. I guess if you are able to avoid the school holidays completely this may not be an issue as there will be fewer large family groups. Failing that you could resort to vigilante measures and remove the towels people use to "reserve" their beds before breakfast but who wants to go on holiday to such a lovely place and end up arguing with someone who just doesn't get it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AWA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPS_JPA, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took in writing a review relating your stay at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa.
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the location of our hotel and you had the chance to have a relaxing time.
Regarding the sun lounges situation that you have mentioned, we have taken notes as is a delicate matter, and assure you that we will reinforce our attention.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future again!

Warm regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I don't usually write reviews, but after a recent mediocre holiday to the Canaries, where we constantly compared everything to this hotel, I thought I should make a few comments.

This hotel is lovely. Clean, well maintained with a lovely large pool area surrounded by gardens. This place is calm and tranquil, just what we look for on a holiday and the beach is amazing for just a few hours away.

Food is good and what you would expect for AI. We didn't try the Mediterranean, but we went to the Italian on more than one ocassion and it is great that multiple trips are allowed, as usually you are restricted to one per visit.

This place has the most fantastic pool bar, which is open until late at night, so if you are not one to want the fuss of the entertainment (we're not), then this is a perfect place to sit, play card and have a nice drink before bed.

I also love the fact this you get a double bed in this hotel. Makes a fantastic change to sleeping in twin beds pushed together. Why can't more hotels do this.

Following our recent return from Gran Canaria, we have already decided that a return to the Pestana Porto Santo is a definite must for next years holiday and we are even thinking about taking the while family!

5 stars and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPS_JPA, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we apreciate your time in posting such a great review related with Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort&Spa.
We were delighted to read all your positive comments,and were satisfied in realizing that we were able to provide you a wonderful holiday in our hotel.
We promisse to continue our persisitent work in maintaining our quality in high standards.
A special thanks on your words to our fantastic beach as we also believe that deserves the given highlight!
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa on a future visit!

Best regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My wife & me went there for our honeymoon. The staff were amazing & couldn't do enough for us. The weather wasn't the best as we went so early in the year, but it didn't take anything away from an amazing week we had & will go back as soon as possible. Definant 5 stars all the way.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Saragreg723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPS_JPA, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor and by sharing it with all travellers regarding your stay in our Hotel.
Our special thanks for your comments on our team as we work daily in order to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable during all stay .
We look forward to welcome you again in the nearest future!
Warm regards,

João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We- a group of adults all family stayed at Pestana in October what an amazing experience. The Hotel is fantastic the staff are brilliant and the beach is to die for. Pestana is the ideal place to spend a holiday fi you are looking for relaxation and pure enjoyment. Everyone was so friendly, the holiday will remain a constant memory never to be forgotten. Can't wait to get back there soon so hope it doesn't become too popular and find it to be fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank MITCHPAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPS_JPA, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a wondeful review regarding your stay in our Hotel, and sharing your experience with other travellers.
We are all absolutely delighted to know that we managed to furfill your expectations and you enjoyed our facilities and the incredible beach of Porto Santo.
Porto Santo Island is really a unique destiny where you will always find very quiet and relaxing moments.
We look forward to welcome you again!
Warm regards,

João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Wonderfully relaxing holiday. Stayed Sept 2011. Wonderfully clean island and hotel.
Facilities and staff superb. Came back totally relaxed and would certainly re-visit.
The food is not 4 or 5 star. We were recommended to try the Panorama Restaurant up in the mountains - they picked us up and bought us back in a minibus and the food was fantastic.
The airport is very new and quite small with no duty-free. I hope it will be able to cope when word gets round about this magnificent jewel of an island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPS_JPA, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share with other travellers the experience you had at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa.
Thank you for all your positive comments,we are satisfied that the time you spend here was rewarded with the calm and tranquility that Porto Santo Island provides.
We surely hope to welcome you again in the near future in our hotel!

Warm regards,
João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We don't normally revisit places we have been before because there is so much out there to see.but I would make an exception for this complex.a thoroughly wonderful week in October 2011. Couldn't find faults. Sorry 1fault could the rep please put the books in alphabetical order next year. Only joking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kopite96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPS_JPA, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review and share it with other travellers.
Our daily goal is to achieve our guest’s expectations and we are very pleased to hear we were able to do so.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our Hotel on your next visit to Porto Santo,and we will surely transmit your sugestion to the rep.
Best regards,

João Paulo Araújo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.3 km away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.0 km away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.0 km away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 km away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Property: Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa is located on the fantastic Porto Santo beach , a sandy beach 9 km long, and it is surrounded by a tropical garden of 30,000 m2 and two enormous outdoor pools of a natural style, making it one of the best hotels in Porto Santo. This hotel in Porto Santo operates under an "All Inclusive" regime, making it the ideal location for anyone wishing to spend holidays in Porto Santo without any concerns at all. So, if holidays to you mean time with friends and family, enjoying the sun, the sea and the therapeutic sands of Porto Santo, taking a dive into the pool, exercising in the gymnasium, playing a game of tennis on the multi-purpose court, or simply relaxing in the spa, then the Pestana Porto Santo is the hotel for you. The rooms of the Pestana Porto Santo are decorated in tones of blue and ocean green and include a private balcony. Although it is a hotel with "All Inclusive", it has 3 restaurants that offer a selection of Italian and Madeira cuisine and three enchanting bars, which includes the "Sunset Bar", which has fantastic views over the sea. The concept of this resort in Porto Santo underscores the philosophy of preserving the environment, taking into account the needs of sustainability of the surroundings where it is located. Various solar panels have been installed and the hotel has its own desalinisation plant, which has earned the hotel "The Green Key" certificate for its environmental management. The beach of Ribeiro Salgado, which is a concession of Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, was presented with the Blue Flag by the FEE - Foundation for Environment Education, due to the quality of the water, the information and environmental education, the environmental management, and the safety, services and support infrastructures. The main village, Vila Baleira, is a mere 5 minutes by car from this 5 star hotel, as is the 18-hole golf course, which offers you the unique opportunity of playing on a course designed by the Spanish champion Severiano Ballesteros; all this, with the sea as your horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing