We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
43
14
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
14
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

This beautiful facility was an old Monastery converted into a 4 star hotel.
It is a large "city resort" type of hotel that includes very large common spaces (all surrounding the old cloister), a restaurant, an indoor pool, a gym, a spa for massages and treatments, an outdoor pool.
We were assigned a very large room (206) in the central building with two large windows watching the back of the church. Fascinating, silent and comfortable.
The room was very spacious, with two large beds, a large bathroom (with normal doors) with a spacious shower.
I had a back and cervical massage treatment which was professional and relaxing.
The breakfast buffet was very rich with a small selection of cakes, lots of pastries, fruits, yogurt and also a good selection of continental breakfast food (eggs, mushrooms, bacon, toasts, cheese... ). It was also possible to have an omelette freshly prepared by the cook.
Staff was friendly and professional.
The standard price of the room is very convenient for this type of facility, and includes the buffet breakfast, free parking and coupons for discounts on the hotel offerings (bar, massage etc).
The hotel was fully booked at the time of our stay and as result it was not possible to find a sunbed in the outdoor pool on the sunny afternoon, since the pool was overcrowded.
As a small possible improvements I would recommend to review the check in procedures, somewhat slow, also the area look a bit odd (maybe it was designed like this to preserve the look of the facility).

The tenant that checks you in needs to accompany you to the room, and this increases the waiting time of new arriving customers at peak times. Anyway the staff was kind and professional.

Overall, an excellent hotel where you want to return!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sabxam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Braga, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience and for the complete description you have made of Vila Galé Collection Braga.
It makes us very happy to hear that you had such a perfect stay with us. We specially enjoyed the positive feedback about our staff since we always try our best to make sure our Guests are having a great stay
We hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Collection Braga or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "Always Close to You"
See you soon

Carlos Alves
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is brand new and also are the rooms and all amenities. The staff at the check-in was super friendly and also was the rest of the staff during the whole stay!
The rooms are pretty big also in standard class.
Also the location in the center of Braga in this historic building is very nice.
We only were wondering why the door of the toilet did not go all the way up to the ceiling? ( noise and smell!!! ;) )
And why there was breakfast à la carte instead of a breakfast buffet? The staff told us that this is not normal but anyway we did wonder about this! It was still good just the timeline of when the food and beverages were served were not perfect we had mostly all of our food when we finally got the orange juice and coffee.
Nevertheless the stay was super nice and we enjoyed it a lot!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Meerestiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Braga, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for the time taken to share your experience in Vila Galé Colelction Braga and also for highlighting the friendliness of our staff.
Regarding the à la carte service during Breakfast I can explain you that this is an option that we have when there is less occupancy in the hotel and in this case we can provide higher quality in food because all is done in the moment just for you, but now I Know that we have to improve the timeline between the food and the drinks service.
Hope that we can welcome you again on a near future,
See you soon,

Carlos Alves
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews