We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
139
37
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
37
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 185 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2015

When I was on holidays with my girlfriend, we ended up in Braga. Unable to find a chouchsurfer to host us, the POP hostel was our crashsite of choice. We haven't regretted going there for a second. The people running the place are really friendly and helpful, and familiar with the surroundings. They don't feel they work in the hostel, they run it because they like hosting people and talking about all kinds of things, basically having a good time. The rooms, showers and common areas are nice, and reasonably priced. Homemade breakfast was included as well! All in all a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siete_Andela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2015

The people make the place what it is - warm regards to Helena and her helpers :) To keep it short i can say that I would like to recommend the POP hostel with all my heart.
Spent 2 nights there earlier this month - the TAdvis option won't let me choose August 2015 for some reason. Mind you guys, it's a hostel not a hotel so adjust your expectations. Still, the place is immaculately clean, airy, bright and has a wonderful view from the dining room balcony. Good balance between price and value, in the middle of the town within a couple of minutes walk from feeding places and watering holes. Make sure to ask them for a day trip option to Geres National Park - if you haven't planned a trip yourself, the hostel will get you in touch with probably one of the best day tour companies in the area. Having said that - all the best to you guys and hope to stay at your place again in future. Rafal & Aleksander

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sendraboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2015

Helena and Margareth have a great hostel running right in the centre of Braga. It is ideal for backpackers and solo travellers and it has the homey atmosphere ideal for meeting other people. The breakfast was delicious and lots of the food was home-made prepared by the owners. The owners take the time and often hang out with the guests and are great to talk to. Facilities were pretty decent too.

Room Tip: Go to restuarant just opposite the hostel - Velhos Tempos Taberna. It offers amazing food and the service was remarkable!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015

First hostel created in the town and I don’t believe there’s a better one in Braga.
It’s also helpful that it’s the closest hostel to the bus station.
Shouldn’t get lost finding it but I did:-(
Best direction is one minute from the front door to the Igrega (Church) do Carmo.

It’s also very helpful (to me a Scotsman with poor Portuguese) that Helena (Your host) speaks excellent English and consequently provides very detailed descriptions including the best way to get to The Peneda-Gerês National Park.

Homemade yoghurt and jams for breakfast make it another reason to just do it. Go there.

As to, “Braga is one of the flattest cities in Portugal, with a huge walking city center and we have beautiful bikes if you want to go for a ride around it.” Except for the climb up to Bom Jesus which is a must visit

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

Loved to stay there even it was a short time. Perfect location to feel at home for a good price. Funny and individual decoration, nice balcony and comfortable living room. just in the city centre. Helena informed us very well what we should visit

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Donata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews