We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
42
91
97
53
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
91
97
53
36
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 319 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

The 4* rating is a work of fiction, to be 4* requires certain standards to be met, there are only 3 people on duty at night - a chef, waiter, and receptionist, no manager, no night porter, no barman, the waiter who is the barman, waiter, maitre d', cocktail waiter ,and I assume room service waiter as well, is run ragged. I felt too guilty on the second night to ask for drinks and got my own from my van. The manager was never present. When I requested to see him at 10pm he was in his bed, in the morning (apparently) in town fetching 'something'. The staff were very nice and they were professional, even though they were clearly under extreme pressure. The shower head leaked, the pool area is literally a health hazard with large hole in the paving around the pool and loose tiles, breakfast is diabolical, considering the 4* rating and the prices of food in Portugal. This is a beautiful location and could be a jewel in the hills of Falperra, but is seemingly destined to be ruined by poor management. I will be writing to the Golden Tulip group regarding this place and the Hotel rating authority. There are better staffed cafes in the town centre and it is unreasonable and inexcusable to work staff like this and try to claim a 4*credential, without providing a full service, basically a clean truck stop. Please don't cut and paste the usual apologetic reply, it means nothing. I've already explained my reasons for not addressing this fully during my stay at the hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nkcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Whilst the hotel is situated outside of Braga, it benefits from being on a wooded hilltop, providing refreshing breezes from what can be quite stifling heat in the summer.

The swimming pools are large, clean and safe, without being too busy. There is even a large children's paddling pool for the smaller members of the family.

The hotel benefits from thick cooling walls, reducing the day time heat of mid summer, whilst I'm sure insulating in the winter (not confirmed as I was there in July!)

The hotel is very well located for trips to the city, the Sameiro Sanctuary, or to Guimaraes (an absolute gem of a city)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BP_TFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night ,,the one member of staff on check in helpful and friendly ,the room was comfortable ,clean and very modern,,,the hotel has a swimming pool and other facilities ,which I didn't get to use ,,the bar menu did not live up to expectations, ordered A typical portuguese bifana ,received 2 oz of meat in a baguette,,,the staff were unattainable most of the time except for the check in guy who was the only one interested in working,a coach load of people arrived later on during the evening so maybe all HANDS were on deck for them ,,,breakfast and check out went smoothly,,,annoyed some people by starting my bike up ,and letting it run to warm up ,,tried to explain that I couldn't hear them due to the noise,,,,it's a historical place ,nice location,would return , With bike,,

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank cathalmacdomhnaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We had the opportunity of staying at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Braga on September, 2017. This hotel is pleasantly located on a hill overlooking the city, approximately 15 minutes away from downtown. The beauty and serenity of the surrounding area, the starry nights, the friendly and efficient staff and good food, made our stay truly memorable. We would be delighted to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Golden Tulip Hotels
Thank yyc755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

The staff has been very helpful, any kind of need have been addressed with serious by them.
Nice swimming pool, wonderful view from the room.
The room is pretty big and the bathroom is with space.
TV is an LCD with reasonable size, and with cable.
Breakfast is the English type, with eggs, ham and mushrooms. Offering a bit of all that usually find on an European breakfast.
Private parking.
Nice surroundings for hiking or biking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews