We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Enjoyable stay at Hotel Bracara Augusta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bracara Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bracara Augusta
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Braga
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable stay at Hotel Bracara Augusta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Booked for one night, enjoyed it so much we booked a second night. Staff extremely helpful. Very comfortable room on top floor. Old style building in the heart of the city just two steps onto the main street and the bonus of an excellent restaurant. Overall we found the people of Braga very friendly and more than helpful and its a relaxing beautiful unspoilt city well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    107
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
38
138
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed in Bracara Augusta on São João's eve, the most crazy night there is in Braga and in Oporto. It's a popular festival that brings thousands of people to the streets. It's amazing.
The hotel's experience was very nice. We booked for a night. Service was nice and efficient.
The room was clean, the furniture and bathroom nice, there was water and fruit in the bedroom and bath robes for us to use.
Breakfast was decent: bread, pastries, cereals, fruit, milk, cofee, juices...the usual. However, maybe because it was the morning after the night of São João, service was a bit slow and there was little "refilling" of food and drinks.
We booked the dinner of São João night at the hotel's restaurant. It was very nice. I will make a review of that at Restaurant Centurium.
To end my review I must say Bracara Augusta is a excellent choice if you want to stay in Braga's center. It's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed here for just 1 night. Braga itself is lovely, very green and easy to walk around with nice cafes and restaurants. This hotel is a bit of a walk from the station but easy to find and a lovely hotel. Staff friendly and the room nice. Breakfast was a highlight and we were able to sit outside on the sunny terrace. Being a Sunday night that we stayed we weren't able to eat in the restaurant except for breakfast but it looked good. The hotel was great value for money and the staff were helpful providing train timetables and letting us charge our phone all day.
One improvement that could be made was the size of the TV in the bedroom as it is tiny and it's high up on the wall so very hard to watch.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowwhite29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our two sons and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this historic hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is located close to shops, cafes and restaurants. A great choice particularly if you are only staying for a short time in Braga and want to get a feel for the town.

The only difficulties we had was a. finding it and b. parking. We ended up driving around the block 2 or 3 times before we pinpointed its location and then worked out how to access it. Whilst the hotel is visible from the road, it is not directly accessible from the road as it is on a side street that is a pedestrian mall. You need to park on the main road in front of the hotel where there have a few allocated parking spaces. Once you have that worked out though, it is all good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berowramum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Midway down the Avienda Centrale, the Bracara Augusta has bangs of historical charm and a warm Portuguese Ben-Vindo for visitors. Reception check in was friendly and efficient. The hotel is small but rooms are spacious and offer decent value for money. The furniture is a bit tired but the bathroom fixtures are modern, and the place is spotless. The adjoining restaurant was open late, had excellent food and was reasonably prices. Many locals eat there. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and super staff to hand. Warm and comfortable in the winter. A great location f(10mins on foot from the rail or coach stations) for exploring the cathedral and other places of interest in this gem of the North.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubydafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

The room allocated to me did not have a view of the garden as shown and/or promised on their website. There was music playing every night that could be heard from outside, and roosters crowing every early morning.

The reception area is placed very close to the main entrance and the entrance to the restaurant, where staff "checks" where you go and when and with whom. The lift is also placed near the reception area. When I wanted to go up in the lift the receptionist would run after me or other staff would check inside as the door was closing. I found this to be very intimidating.

When checking out, I was interrogated with several questions by the receptionist as to why I am leaving, while other staff members observed.

When I phoned the hotel later that evening regarding a set of keys I may have accidentally left behind, the receptionist said it was impossible to check the room. She promised to phone back the next morning after noting the contact telephone number as well as the room number. Needless to say, nobody bothered to phone back.

Otherwise staff was polite; no other problems with the room, except the television could be better placed for those who would actually like to watch TV. Wifi was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Braga. The Bracara Augusta was really a good hotel to stay in. We had a 2-room suite which was great. Very roomy and comfortable.
Breakfast was included and very nice. Centrally located. Parking was not very good but the staff helped. This area in Portugal is fantastic with the coast and the National Park within driving distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braga hotels
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Villa Garden Braga
#8 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nogueiró
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#7 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Hotel Dona Sofia
#6 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Ibis Braga
#4 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bracara Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bracara Augusta

Property: Hotel Bracara Augusta
Address: Avenida Central no 134, Braga 4710-229, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Braga
#2 Business Hotel in Braga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bracara Augusta 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the town, we offers charming accommodation in the centre of Braga (Portugal). It is housed in an elegant historic building, and offers a perfect base to discover Braga and its countless treasures, including its Cathedral, its churches and museums. The accommodation is located in a pedestrian street, and other amenities include a bar, wireless Internet access, and an friendly staff at the reception that will be glad to help you make the most of your holiday in Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bracara Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Bracara Augusta Braga
Albergaria Bracara Augusta Hotel Braga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing