We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, inexpensive, out of city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Quality modern hotel, nice spa and excellent breakfast. Rooms good size with balcony and clean and tidy. Everything you would expect from a modern 4/5 star hotel. But certainly less expensive than most city centre hotels we looked at.
So only downside is that it required a short walk ( or free transfer) from the hotel to the local metro station. Then a 20 min ride to the city centre.
We bought day tickets for the metro and made use of it,not just for the hotel and back, but also around the city.
So you just need to balance out cost of quality hotel versus requirement of travel time to city centre. We liked it.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel had balconies with local views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Arrived with a group for a 2 nights stay at the Axis.
Our keys were ready, and the lift took as to our room on the 5th floor.
The balcony was a real treat, since we like as much fresh air as possible,
The room was spacious and clean, so was the bathroom. The room was very well attended to. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night sleep, after we enjoyed the lovely buffet dinner. Breakfast was good too.
Front desk service and dining room service were very efficient.
Wifi reception at the room was good.
Two members of our group who needed medical assistance were properly assisted by the hotel personal until departure.
We enjoyed our stay at the Axis Porto.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, not much of a special city view but ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itzick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Porto is a very historic city..so much to see.? My son and myself were there primarily to watch our team play Porto in champions league..but had the added bonus of staying at a stunning city too..port is distilled there and has storage vaults down near the large river that runs through the place a..there are 2 tourist busses going in different sections of the city but well worth the fee..the hotel is lovely and.pristine in its cleanliness..i think really I would have to describe the hotel as high end business accomadation. Its a bit out the way from all the tourist destinations and situated in a urban residential area..taxis from here will set you back between 12/15euros..to the town centre..great value for money unlike some of the other football destinations we have been on like Sweden and Denmark a..hope this gives you just a little insight have a great time ..

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here with kids (21 & 19) and thoroughly enjoyed hotel. Large, comfortable rooms, breakfast had a good selection, including excellent fresh fruit. Used the pool/spa which was refreshing after a day walking around Porto.
It took us 30 mins from hotel into Porto centre using metro which was completely ok for us.
One reason for choosing hotel was availability of car parking by hotel. I parked without using hotel's car park, no problem.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ISMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

WONDERFUL HOTEL, EXCELLENT FRONT DESK TEAM AND EXCELLENT DINING ROOM STAFF!!!!!! This hotel is surprisingly well located, on the outskirts of Porto, easy access, equipped with balconies in every room and the beds are very very comfortable
The spa in this hotel is excellent and the metro is within a walking distance. a super market is near by as well as a public hospital.

Room Tip: Please be careful with the balconies railings, they are low!!, especially with children's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oded E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This hotel is definitely off the beaten path. It is situated about 20 minutes from the centre of town with not much around it. Close to a hospital and residential area. We opted to take the metro which took about 20 minutes to get to the centre. It is about a 10 minute walk. Our room was very modern, clean and well appointed. Front desk staff were extremely helpful with information and suggestions. Their breakfast buffet was great with plenty to choose from. If you don't mind the trip into town I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

This hotel is well appointed with spacious rooms, a fine restaurant and bar and lounge areas.

The food is of good quality and the range offered is wide. All fine if you like cold food because even that which was meant to be hot wasn't. Disappointing that they can't sort out a simple thing like hot cabinets.

The staff seemed under-trained. In the restaurant they consistently whipped our plates away as soon as the last mouthful was raised to our mouths. There was also a strange system in the bar - night after night the barman had to go to the restaurant to get a bottle of Mateus Rose, meaning a five minute wait, and on one occasion a lengthy queue. It seems short-sighted to have insufficient staff to deal with drink requests as we all know there is considerable money in drinks. The staff in the bar the first evening did not always ask for room numbers and seemed unconcerned about our large party ordering drinks.

I heard, but have no first-hand experience, that in the pool there was a charge for everything, towels, flip-flops etc. I don't expect that in a hotel of this claimed quality - it should be included.

The situation of this hotel is difficult. It is way out of the centre of Porto, about 20 minutes walk from the metro. This makes it okay for groups and business people who have transport, but would not be good for independent travellers without their own transport.

All in all, good value for money, but with a little extra effort this hotel could be amazing.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank magnolia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
4.1 km away
Vila Gale Porto
Vila Gale Porto
#43 of 111 in Porto
1,196 reviews
4.7 km away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 111 in Porto
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#18 of 111 in Porto
703 reviews
4.7 km away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
5.7 km away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#45 of 111 in Porto
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel

Address: Rua Maria Feliciana, 100, Porto 4465-283, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Porto
#9 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $95 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axis Porto Business And Spa Hotel
Axis Porto Business Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing