We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Wonderful and romantic: the setting, the building, the style, the people. Very attentive, friendly service. Welcoming reception. Perfect free parking close to building. Modern comfortable room in building adjacent to Palacio. We stayed only for one night, but would love to come back for more. Special breakfast tray for us at 5.30 am! in the beautiful baroque mirror-room, made us feel truly pampered. One tiny minus: afternoon tea was served w lukewarm water, and scones were hard. Dinner was excellent. Gym looked good. No time for pool or spa, must be great in summer with outside pool.

Room Tip: worthwhile to take riverfacing room, superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snövit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Oporto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    310
    68
    31
    13
See reviews for
290
847
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We spent Christmas Eve (our anniversary) and Christmas Day at this hotel. What an experience! Check-in was quick and we were given a quick tour of the palace before taken to our room. This is definitely a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. However, I could not say the same for the Christmas Eve dinner (set menu) or Christmas Day buffet. It is a 40 minute walk to the Ribeira area or a 5 Euro taxi ride. I would definitely recommend this establishment to others just for the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Douro River
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights on our honeymoon and felt like royalty. What a grand setting and a small taste of what it must of been like in its hay day. Beautiful dining rooms with big windows overlooking the river Douro. The bedrooms where modern, well appointed and spacious with amazing views of the river and gardens. As it was November we didn't use the outside pool but instead found retreat at the very relaxed subdued spa facility down stairs with its indoor pool, sauna and steam room all of which open onto the beautiful gardens. We were greeted with a warm fire burning and a glass of port at a unconventional check in desk and the friendly staff took us to our room after a short tour of the Palace. Highly recommend this for a romantic location as a way to impress a loved one, a Chill out break or as a base to explore Porto without being in the centre. It is a pleasant half hour walk along the river to the centre and a cheap return by taxi! Conveniently the Yellow tour bus stops outside so you can start your sightseeing from there. Hope to make it back again if we are lucky!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Small note as the accommodation is in adjoining building to Palace the lifts c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roisin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Palacio do Freixo is a big bucket of Wows by a number of factors. Let’s start with entering. You’ll be greeted by the friendliest and most professional employees (our greeter was named Joao) as they hand you a glass of port. Next you’ll be shown through the “castle” part of the hotel: where the reception, meeting rooms and restaurant are situated. The views are spectacular and just outside the back is a beautifully manicured grass lawn, infinity pool, wooden chase lounges, a bar and a dock leading you out and over the river. Sunset was divine!

Next to the “castle” is a salmon-colored building that used to be a cereal factory that now houses the hotel rooms. Two in our group had the king suite which was absolutely beautiful and roomy while we had a standard room. The beds were firm and comfortable and the room itself was very modern and spacious with plenty of room to unpack and feel at home. Our view was breathtaking, just the perfect way to wake up on a warm fall Porto morning. About the location: there's nothing much to do around where it is as it's along the river but not near the bustling riverfront. A 5 Euro cab fare takes you to town or bustling riverfront where you can explore from there.

The buffet breakfast was beyond impressive. Conjure it up in your head and it’s probably served: mimosas, fruit juices, eggs, meats, salads, cheeses, breads, pastries, muffins, cereals, yogurts, etc. All very fresh and good quality. It was one of my favorite perks of the experience here. If you’re going to splurge somewhere in Portugal, consider splurging in Porto at this hotel (or perhaps find a deal for it online). You won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: It's a quiet location just a cab fare away from town + the bustling riverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildcat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We spent a lovely five days at this splendid hotel. The main hotel building is outstanding - elegant, beautiful and a blast of the past. The service was very good/excellent with all the staff friendly and helpful. The bedrooms in a separate building are well appointed. We loved our third floor river room.The pools are very clean and welcoming. We had asked for a quiet room.... only to find that the first night was disturbed by an all night party - put on by the hotel to celebrate its second birthday. Not a good start from our point of view as we were in need of rest and relaxation. But the following nights were quiet. As the hotel is on the outskirts of Porto clients would be advised to hire a car or be prepared for taxi transfers. A memorable stay.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Romance, history, elegance at an amazing price! The end of a three day Pousada tour ended in the newly opened Palacio do Frexio in Porto. This beautiful hotel will transport you to another time, allow you to relax in luxury and is a great base for exploring the port houses in Gaia. Highly recommended as are all the Pousadas in Portugal!

Room Tip: any room facing the river is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Before our trip to Lisboa we passed by 2 nights in Porto. Porto is a great city for a weekend trip. Comparing to Lisbon, we prefered the Lisbon area, since you are quite fast through all sightseeing points in Porto, but we liked the river area and all the very nice portwine cellars.
I would recommend to rent a car in Porto and to go outside of the city to see the surrounding and the wine areas. thats quite amazing. We stayed in the Palacio do Freixo, its a very impressive palace. We were really amazed from the architecture outside and inside. Our room was very nice, from our feeling a bit overpriced, but all in all it was an excellent stay. The room was clean, well furnished, we missed a bit the individual touch of the room. But the main area and the bar of the Hotel are really charming. In the night the illumination is very romantic, you have a nice view to Porto and the river. We recommend to stay in the upper floor, from there you have the best view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniboy01_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.1 km away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.7 km away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
3.2 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
5.9 km away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
3.2 km away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing