We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms in ex-industrial plant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Pousada is divided into two sections. The main house which looks like old castle and the hotel, which was refurbuished next to it, on the base of old industrial plant. The "castle" house has many empty rooms, no furnitures. Very nice outside garden facing the river..
The hotel rooms are very fency, nicely decorated and furnished with kind of old furniture.
The place location is in old industrial area, about 40 minutes walk to porto. If you have a car, it takes 5 minutes.
The rooms to the river side has some view of the river, but cost extra.
The breakfast buffet is good with many choices.
If you come to porto for one day it is better to have hotel at porto center. This hotel is over priced.

Room Tip: Take high floor not facing the industrial side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact that you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give your feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations!
We now look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

On our last night in Portugal my husband and I stayed at this Pousada and loved it. It was a real indulgence. We had a room overlooking the Douro River. The window opened. The room was luxurious and the bathroom a good size. We took a taxi to go to a restaurant that night and it was not expensive to do this. The breakfast at the hotel was the best we have had anywhere. We had a rental car and it was free to park at the hotel. It was a little tricky finding the hotel because of the odd entrance but it was worth it. We also got lost a few times finding our room as it was in a separate building to the actual palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact that you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give your feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations!
We now look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Positives:
Beautiful main building, a fully renovated mansion. Hotel in separate building, with large modern, well appointed rooms. Very nice gym, steamroon and indoor and outdoor pools- not heated.Great river view.

Very nice breakfast included. .

Negatives:

You need a car or $8 cab ride each time you want to go into town. Neighborhood is seedy and ? for walking. Staff advised against city bus.

Expensive restaurant but not serving exceptional food.

Run by very nice outgoing amatures. Both days the desk staff cheerily gave us misinformation that seriously impacted our vacation. Dining room staff is also inexperienced.. An upscale hotel like this needs more mature supervision.

It is a shame, but we would not return

Room Tip: ask for riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We chose this hotel in our knowledge of the high standard offered by the Pousada and our desire to be on the outskirts of the town of Porto. The town centre was about a 45 minute stroll along by the river bank or a €5/6 taxi ride. We did both.
The entrance from the road was not very impressive but as we drove up to the main building you could appreciate why it is regarded as one of their 'flagship' hotels.
We received a warm welcome at reception - a low level desk so the registration procedures could be done sitting down. The reception staff appeared to have a good understanding of a number of languages. We were then shown to our room in the adjacent building, and our luggage followed quickly after.
We had a standard room, which was quite large, comfortable, with good facilities. The décor was not entirely to our liking but that of course is a matter of choice.
The public areas were in the main building, and the lounge and bar very comfortable. The restaurant was surprisingly quite intimate for such a large hotel We had an enjoyable dinner there and the breakfasts were extensive.
There is a coffee bar outside near the pool over looking the river.
Whilst there we had problems with our hire car and reception was helpful in helping us to sort the matter out. On leaving it was.raining hard so they brought our car to the door for us.
All in all a very enjoyable stay. Just one small complaint, which applies to all the Pousada . When you are paying a premium rate for the room why do they also insist on making a charge for the bottle of water in the room?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We chose this place based on the glowing reviews on trip advisor, but make sure you read the fine print....
YES it is a beautifully renovated palace, located on the banks of the river, BUT:
- it is actually quite isolated, a few kilometres out of town: a 45 minute walk along the river to the centre of Porto or 5-6 Euro taxi fare one way; it is not advisable to walk after dark. Another option we discovered ourselves was the BLUE "hop on/hop off" bus route which picks up just outside the hotel driveway, and goes all around Porto (around 10 Euro/day for a ticket, but definitely worth it)
- the rooms are not in the palace itself, but in a renovated cereal factory next door
- the pricey room rate does NOT include WIFI (extra charge of around 5 Euro a day)
- the pricey room rate does NOT include tea/coffee making facilities (need to walk outside the building, exposed to the elements, to the main lobby to purchase hot drinks from the restaurant
- lacked attention to detail of a hotel of this price range: did not restock bathroom products and toilet paper

The rooms are quite spacious, comfortable beds and pillows, well soundproofed, and allowed a peaceful night's rest. The breakfast was plentiful but standard chain hotel fare. The staff were helpful and welcoming and the reception is staffed 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: River view is nice but higher room rate; get the BLUE BUS (hop on/ hop off) to get into town and aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

One of Portugal's state-owned Pousadas, this hotel is located on the left bank of the Douro about 3km or so to the east of Porto's city centre and with beautiful views across the river. It is a renovated house of a wealthy merchant and the hotel's luxurious rooms are all found in the adjacent converted factory/warehouse building. The surrounding area has an industrial feel to it but inside the hotel you soon forget about this. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and opulently equipped as you would expect for a five star hotel. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and found the service to be absolutely impeccable. Pousadas are not cheap but you certainly get value for your money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Visiting Porto (Oporto) City is an opportunity to live in 2 centuries in the past. The unique landscape of the Douro river between the cities is a modern and preserved view of the XVII century gravures. Enjoy the promenade, the sunset, the restaurants and the fantastic architecture building of the Freixo Palace.
Superb service, restaurant and decoration.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.1 km away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
3.2 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.7 km away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,089 reviews
3.2 km away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $224 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most unique and vibrant city of Portugal, discover the palace of the eighteenth century that, for a few days, will be your haven. Pestana Palácio do Freixo belongs to the Leading Hotels of the World and offers a unique and absolutely memorable experience, wrapped in classic luxury and filled with contemporary comfort. Located on the river that gives life to the best wine in the world, Pestana Palácio do Freixo rises serene, between French-style gardens and granite stonework, in a contrasting and balanced dialogue that welcomes you with care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing