We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,258)
Filter reviews
2,258 results
Traveller rating
1,633
434
118
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,633
434
118
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old palace douro river infinity pool flour mill beautiful palace factory building shuttle bus shuttle service main building public rooms walk along the river guest rooms a short taxi ride porto centre amazing hotel breakfast was excellent visiting porto
Filter
Updating list...
758 - 763 of 2,258 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2015

We booked this hotel as we wanted to experience the Pousada hotel style for one leg of our trip. The main part of the hotel is set in the rather more grander building and the rooms are in an attached renovated property. We were there for two nights and were out most of the day but would have loved to be able to spend some time just relaxing here in the great environment with its extremely friendly staff.
The rooms were comfortable and clean as were the bathrooms. Both rooms and bathrooms were decent sized.
The restaurant attached was wonderful and we loved both the breakfast with it large variety as well as the dinner option here.
Staff was wonderful and extremely friendly and went out of their way to accommodate.
Overall - I would highly recommend!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2015

Dear Chicago_traveller123,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback at Pousada do Porto. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward for your next visit.

Warm regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2015

I had read some reviews complaining about the hotel´s location but let me be straight: if you book a hotel and do not even check its location on Google Maps your review is not reliable.

Yes. Pousada do Porto is not located in the heart of the city but they offer a free shuttle that delivers you right in front of Palácio da Bolsa and back to the hotel at the end of the day.

Outstading service with special thanks to the guys from the front desk (Gustavo, Luiz...). The staff is always ready to make a restaurant reservation or to give you the best advices whether for a romantic dinner or the operation hours of an attraction.

Our room was very sober but spacious and comfortable. The pool area is nothing but amazing with an infinite view towards the river. There´s also a very large heated pool which was our case as the temperatures in December are very low.

Would definitely come back especially in the summer!

Room tip: Rooms located on higher floors are your best bet.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VComper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

Dear VComper,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Pousada do Porto. We are grateful and pleased that you enjoyed your time here. It is always our highest pleasure to help you in every way possible.

We are hoping to see you any time soon, hopefully in the summer, so you can enjoy our swimming pool.

Warmest regards,

Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is fine, but no review mentioned it's no where near Porto and is in a dingy part of town with no nearby restaurants or attractions.

On the hotel, the staff were attentive and excellent. The room was acceptable considering it is a 5 star hotel.

The food was ok.

For three days we spent 660 euro including breakfast and two evening meals.

But back to the location. Yes it's on the river but 3.5 km to Porto centre. And as it's difficult to park you have to rely on taxi.

We wish we had stayed right in Porto where we could have enjoyed the evenings more.

As it was freezing cold we didn't feel like being in town late at night so had to eat in the hotel.

So I would recommend the hotel but not its location.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Martynsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

Dear Martynsmith,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Pousada do Porto. Your comments are essential for us to improve and we already forwarded your comments to our management.

Our unique location by the river offers a privileged view and unusual serenity, but we understand that our gorgeous surroundings is a little bit further from the city center. With that in mind, we offer a complimentary shuttle service to the heart of Porto, in attempt to shorten the distance.

Once again, we sincerely thank you for your feedback.

We are hoping to see you any time soon!

Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2015

we wished we had booked somewhere closer to Porto town centre. In January, it was too cold to walk the 40 mins into town for dinner and we didn't want to get taxis everywhere.
Breakfasts were great and so was the service. The hotel does provide a limited shuttle service.

Date of stay: January 2015
1  Thank 186338Hmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2015

Dear 186338Hmm,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Pousada do Porto. The location of our hotel is in the surroundings of the town center, which gives to the Pousada a unique and unusual serenity.

Therefore we have tried to shorten the distance by offering a shuttle service.
Your feedback was sent to the Administration to consider the need of extending the schedule; we thank you for letting us know your thoughts and helping us to improve.

We are hoping to see you any time soon!

Warmest regards,

Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2015

The only thing this hotel suffers from is the approach on arrival, but don't be put off by that. I stayed at this hotel while visiting Porto with a group of friends, it was a highlight of our time in this enchanting riverside city. The service we enjoyed and the support I received as group leader was first class. Beautifully situated on the Douro River this hotel has everything you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel. As others have commented the staff are courteous and efficient and deserve to be congratulated along with the management for presenting a first class product.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2015

Dear Geoff G.
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our hotel!
We wish you a great day and until next time!
Warm regards
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews