We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

This is a late review...my husband and I stayed in this Pousada for two nights on our honeymoon tour of Portugal in November 2013. The ambience and friendly service in this 'castle' was excellent!
We were able to taxi to and from the city centre with little trouble, and we suggest you do so.
The lounge and breakfast were also great! Cannot wait to visit again

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Dear Kirsten L,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Pousada do Porto. We are thrilled that you decided to celebrate such special occasion with us and that you enjoyed your time here.

We are hoping to see you any time soon!

Warmest regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2015

We booked this hotel as we wanted to experience the Pousada hotel style for one leg of our trip. The main part of the hotel is set in the rather more grander building and the rooms are in an attached renovated property. We were there for two nights and were out most of the day but would have loved to be able to spend some time just relaxing here in the great environment with its extremely friendly staff.
The rooms were comfortable and clean as were the bathrooms. Both rooms and bathrooms were decent sized.
The restaurant attached was wonderful and we loved both the breakfast with it large variety as well as the dinner option here.
Staff was wonderful and extremely friendly and went out of their way to accommodate.
Overall - I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Dear Chicago_traveller123,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback at Pousada do Porto. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward for your next visit.

Warm regards,
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

I had read some reviews complaining about the hotel´s location but let me be straight: if you book a hotel and do not even check its location on Google Maps your review is not reliable.

Yes. Pousada do Porto is not located in the heart of the city but they offer a free shuttle that delivers you right in front of Palácio da Bolsa and back to the hotel at the end of the day.

Outstading service with special thanks to the guys from the front desk (Gustavo, Luiz...). The staff is always ready to make a restaurant reservation or to give you the best advices whether for a romantic dinner or the operation hours of an attraction.

Our room was very sober but spacious and comfortable. The pool area is nothing but amazing with an infinite view towards the river. There´s also a very large heated pool which was our case as the temperatures in December are very low.

Would definitely come back especially in the summer!

Room Tip: Rooms located on higher floors are your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VComper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear VComper,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Pousada do Porto. We are grateful and pleased that you enjoyed your time here. It is always our highest pleasure to help you in every way possible.

We are hoping to see you any time soon, hopefully in the summer, so you can enjoy our swimming pool.

Warmest regards,

Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

The hotel is fine, but no review mentioned it's no where near Porto and is in a dingy part of town with no nearby restaurants or attractions.

On the hotel, the staff were attentive and excellent. The room was acceptable considering it is a 5 star hotel.

The food was ok.

For three days we spent 660 euro including breakfast and two evening meals.

But back to the location. Yes it's on the river but 3.5 km to Porto centre. And as it's difficult to park you have to rely on taxi.

We wish we had stayed right in Porto where we could have enjoyed the evenings more.

As it was freezing cold we didn't feel like being in town late at night so had to eat in the hotel.

So I would recommend the hotel but not its location.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Martynsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear Martynsmith,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Pousada do Porto. Your comments are essential for us to improve and we already forwarded your comments to our management.

Our unique location by the river offers a privileged view and unusual serenity, but we understand that our gorgeous surroundings is a little bit further from the city center. With that in mind, we offer a complimentary shuttle service to the heart of Porto, in attempt to shorten the distance.

Once again, we sincerely thank you for your feedback.

We are hoping to see you any time soon!

Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

we wished we had booked somewhere closer to Porto town centre. In January, it was too cold to walk the 40 mins into town for dinner and we didn't want to get taxis everywhere.
Breakfasts were great and so was the service. The hotel does provide a limited shuttle service.

Stayed: January 2015
1  Thank 186338Hmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

Dear 186338Hmm,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Pousada do Porto. The location of our hotel is in the surroundings of the town center, which gives to the Pousada a unique and unusual serenity.

Therefore we have tried to shorten the distance by offering a shuttle service.
Your feedback was sent to the Administration to consider the need of extending the schedule; we thank you for letting us know your thoughts and helping us to improve.

We are hoping to see you any time soon!

Warmest regards,

Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

The only thing this hotel suffers from is the approach on arrival, but don't be put off by that. I stayed at this hotel while visiting Porto with a group of friends, it was a highlight of our time in this enchanting riverside city. The service we enjoyed and the support I received as group leader was first class. Beautifully situated on the Douro River this hotel has everything you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel. As others have commented the staff are courteous and efficient and deserve to be congratulated along with the management for presenting a first class product.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Geoff G.
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our hotel!
We wish you a great day and until next time!
Warm regards
Paula Coutinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Wow, ....., on the beautiful Darou,
Amazing just the enterence was like going into a castle .
A bit hard to find and a long way from the town center but there is a shuttel bus .
All staff were friendly .
Breakfast was exelent.
our room was luxurious, comfy bed , lovely bathroom ,all spotless !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sallie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.1 km away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
3.2 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,345 reviews
2.7 km away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 111 in Porto
1,161 reviews
3.2 km away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#5 of 111 in Porto
364 reviews
5.9 km away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: C$204 - C$456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most unique and vibrant city of Portugal, discover the palace of the eighteenth century that, for a few days, will be your haven. Pestana Palácio do Freixo belongs to the Leading Hotels of the World and offers a unique and absolutely memorable experience, wrapped in classic luxury and filled with contemporary comfort. Located on the river that gives life to the best wine in the world, Pestana Palácio do Freixo rises serene, between French-style gardens and granite stonework, in a contrasting and balanced dialogue that welcomes you with care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing