We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carris Porto Ribeira
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Star Inn Porto(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$429
US$405
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moov Hotel Porto Centro(Porto)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
360
446
148
59
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
446
148
59
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat locationjunior suiteold buildingtaxi standmodern hotelluis bridgebasic roomhotel restaurantshower gellobby areabars and restaurantsbathroom floorshort walkstreet sideport cavesstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Stayed two nights in this hotel. Great location, close to the Ribiera. The staff were helpful, lots of great advice about local restaurants and sights. The room was lovely and (when we had a bit of a problem with the AC) they moved us to another room without a moment's hesitation. Nice bar on the first floor, great places to sit and people watch.

The breakfast was very good, and located in a wonderful room with old stone romanesque arches. There were two other restaurants in the hotel, but we never got a chance to try them.

The best thing about this hotel, though, is the building. It's a connected hotel with some floors below the street level (because the hotel is at the top of a hill) and others above. The halls are connected by pedestrian bridges and it's just a great place. It takes a bit to figure out, but the site is lovely and you really feel the history of the place when you stay here. I cannot recommend this enough.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016

We needed a place in Porto (which is a great city!) for only one night - so location near the Douro River and the Ribeira District was important to us. The Carris Porto Ribeira was perfect from a location point of view. We booked a river view room, which we would recommend as the Douro River is such an integral part of this city. The public areas of the hotel were very nice, and the staff at the reception desk were extremely helpful with great suggestions on what to see/do; they, also, provided an excellent restaurant recommendation. We booked the least expensive river view room and it was extremely small - I mean, really small. When staying at 3*/4* hotels in Europe, and booking the least expensive room category we are prepared to get a small room - but the room at this hotel was really small. Not a big deal for a one night stay, but given the price paid, I would say the value proposition was not as high as we had expected - especially since Portugal is a very reasonably priced destination. Room was clean with comfortable bed; bathroom was small, but clean.

A solid average hotel when considering all of the factors.

Room Tip: Book a room with a Douro River View
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boeing747-8I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Even tho it was hell to park the car and take our cases inside the hotel the hotel interior soon made us forget our discomfort. It is a very new hotel with a century old exterior. An old merchant house. This hotel was wonderful. The rooms were great and the breakfast was varied and aplenty. The hotel is right next to the river and in the hub of all that Port has to offer. The hotel had lots of nooks to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Just returned from a short break at this hotel. Very pleased and it exceeded our expectations. 200 year old building has been tastefully & sympathetically refurbished to create a contemporary feel inside. Literally ALL the staff were excellent. Very polite, friendly and helpful. Good location a stones throw from the waterfront, yet tucked away from any noise. Our room (221) was spacious, very clean, quiet and well maintained. Didn't have a great view, just facing the adjacent building, but not a big problem. Air con was very good and relatively quiet. The only thing we missed was some form of outside seating area. Restaurant was excellent if a little on the small side but this did not create any problems.
Great location for exploring Porto which incidentally is a fabulous city to visit.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable trip here!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

The stand out for this hotel is its location on the edge of Plaça Riberia, just a 3 minute walk to the river with lots of restaurants and great views. It is also close to a number of star attractions, including an easy walk across the bridge to the Port wine caves. The hotel is close to transport (tram, bus) and there are always taxis just across the road. There are also a couple of little mini markets close by where you can purchase fresh fruit, yoghurt and water for very low cost. I stayed here for 6 nights and always found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and well appointed although a bit narrow for the bed size. The bar area is a nice spot for a drink or snack after a day walking and also to watch the Euro Cup on TV.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews