We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveller rating
316
632
251
73
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
632
251
73
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station big hotel tour groups staying buffet breakfast was very good city centre recommend this hotel to anyone the river stayed at this hotel for nights top floor tour buses comfortable hotel junior suite short stay port tasting lovely city by foot euros
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

Conveniently placed and fairly easy to find with a car. The hotel is about 15 minutes drive from Porto Airport. Plenty of parking on site for a small nominal fee. I decided to try the a la carte menu as I didn't fancy anything from the buffet. They definitely offer value for money with great service.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank 794vincentw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you in advance for Y/ most pleasant review.
We are very please to know that we have made Y/ stay in our hotel most pleasant and look forward to see you again soon in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Kind regards

Joaquim Fernandes
(Hotel Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2016

The hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful. However, the hotel is a good 10 minutes walk to the edge of the town centre though if you use Hop on/off buses one does come to the Hotel at 10.00 am.

Whilst all the staff were good I would particularly like to thank Marina & Anna for their assistance.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor overlooking the Douro river and great views in the morning
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathon1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Porto and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Kind regards

Joaquim Fernandes
(Hotel Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

The hotel is of modern design and over twenty storeys tall, it is surrounded by modern low rise buildings, near a bus stop and about 25 minutes walk to town. Whilst the area is not the best, we never felt threatened or uncomfortable walking around even at night. It is like much many parts of Porto, neglected, run down and never far from the scourge of graffiti, even down by the river.

The foyer of the hotel is large, modern and gives a pleasant impression of space. Check was not the concern we expected, in fact it was such a change to be welcomed by smiling, helpful efficient Reception staff. We never had to wait whenever we went to Reception and there always seemed to be enough staff to cope with a large volume of guests.

Our room was on the 17th floor, which I believe is an executive floor. The room itself was standard size which means for me I regard as a bit small. It was however well presented and spotlessly clean. A feature of this hotel was that everywhere we saw was immaculately clean every day and the cleaning staff were pleasant and welcoming.

The bathroom was large for the room size and contained a shower over the bath, there was a strong supply of hot water and the shower head was at a sensible height without having to bend double to shower.

The TV, whilst picture quality we not fantastic did have a huge range of channels including many in English. Sky News was great for keeping up to date on UK news. The Wifi connection was good averaging over 10mbps which was more than adequate for Facetime of Skype.

As mentioned earlier the Reception staff were a credit to the hotel and whoever is responsible for staff training in this area has done a great job. Towards the end of the stay we had a medical emergency and within minutes Reception had found and called an English speaking doctor.

Having breakfast at the hotel was a pleasure, the staff were very efficient, each knew their job and bustled around with a smile on their faces. They talked to all the guests even if it was just to wish them a 'good morning...enjoy your breakfast,' this is something other hotels could learn from.

The dining room itself was huge with space to sit at a table without other guests brushing past, the food selection was extensive with everything you could possibly imagine to eat or drink. Food was quickly replenished.

The gym on the top floor was well equipped with a large range of modern equipment, the pool looked very clean and was a good size.

Whilst the hotel cannot change its location there are many very good things about the Vila Gale, there are little touches around all to inform guests of what is going on in the hotel, for example in the lift each day appeared a poster saying what sport was being shown.

Having written about the many positives of the hotel, I would like to offer an opinion on areas which could be improved.

Firstly the lifts, six lifts but not all go to every floor, this means a bit of a wait at times, particularly if a group are checking out, as guests and luggage stopping at most floors on their way down, which leads to frustration over waiting for the lift.

Secondly signage, the signs to the stairs on each floor are not always clear, having waited over five minutes on the floor where the pool was, my wife and I decided to take the stairs down to our floor...except we could not find them. Looking on other floors it was similar, my suggestion would be to make the signs to the stairs more noticeable and probably more of them.

Lastly, the pool table in the first floor bar, during our stay there we saw no one use the pool table at all. As someone who enjoys a game of pool I enquired to be told the pool table was 7.5 euros for an hour. Much as though I enjoy pool I was not about to pay that for an hour's entertainment. My suggestion would be either take the pool table out or reduce the price significantly so it becomes a revenue stream not something which sits unused.

All in all we enjoyed are stay at the Vila Gale and would not hesitate to return, the staff are what make this hotel and genuinely want to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Englishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for Y/ kind review.
It is our goal to fulfil all of our guests' expectations regarding their stay at Hotel Vila Galé Porto and make it as enjoyable as possible. We are very please to know we have achieved our goal.
In the name of the Hotel management and staff, we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil.

Kind regards

Joaquim Fernandes
(Hotel Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

We've stayed in Villa Gale before and I can honestly say that from all of them the Porto one could do with a major refurbishment. Bathrooms are old as well as some of the furniture in the bedrooms need to be replaced. Air conditioning units are the old style and make a lot of noise. Breakfast was good, lots of food and no complaints there. Didn't try the restaurant or the bar, didn't really appeal to us. Reception staff and waiters in the breakfast area were okay... They don't talk much anyways but we're pleasant at times. One thing I have noticed is that there is no control in certain areas. For 3 consecutive days we've walked in the restaurant for breakfast and no one asked us if we were staying at the hotel. Also in the indoor pool there was no one at the reception. Again, anyone could have walked in there for a swim. Towels were available but old and ripped. One time the maid forgot to change our towels - we complained and they brought us new ones. Mini bar is very poor - better not to have one at all. The only hotel that we have been to and had to rent the safe for 2,50€ each day! The hotel decor needs to go... It is ugly and doesn't make any sense. Old furniture and the lobby is not welcoming. Internet service everywhere - very good!
Location wise, for us it's OK as we like to walk. 20 minutes walking from the center of Porto. Train station near by if needed. Taxi available and quick - 6euros to center of the city. Lots of local restaurants available in 15 minute walk. In general, not bad value for money but the hotel is quickly deteriorating and getting very dated. Bathrooms were clean but old, very old and not that great. Shower head would old still and the grouting is nasty and yellow. Didn't watch TV so not sure if OK or not. Mattress was great as well as the pillows. Not sure if we would come back just because of the comfort in general.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sugcesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

The feedback from our customers are very important for continuous improvement of our services and products.
Looking forward to seeing you in a near future in our Hotel or at any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal and Brasil, we present you with our best regards.

Kind regards

Joaquim Fernandes
(Hotel Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

Stayed in July 2016 for 1 night for business, in a standard room. Haven’t been at this hotel for a couple of years but it is always pleasant to be back. It is a big lively hotel, with lots to do if you are travelling alone (or not).

Hotel isn't new but still very comfortable and up to date. Standard room is very comfortable. For 1 person it is perfect. LCD TV, reasonable wardrobe, 2 singles together making large bed and a modern clean bathroom with hair dryer, shampoos and soaps. All rooms have a view to the city. Ask for high room for better view.

Hotel is well located in Porto…slightly in the outskirts of the more lively and touristic areas… It is located about a 15 min walking distance from Coliseu do Porto area where you will find nice places to dine, shops and lots to do and visit.
There is an inside pool on top floor with a view to the city although plenty of steam will make the windows foggy.

Large eating room for breakfast with international types of food.

Only downside are the elevators that take a long time to reach your floor. Must count with this if you are in a rush but can always use the stairs. When I was there since 1 of the 2 existing elevators was damaged and since I was on a high floor, it took me 10 min to get down to the lobby.

Room Tip: High floor for better views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Our guests’ comments and suggestions are an important tool for our constant pursuit of service improvement.

Thank you for selecting one of the Vila Galé hotels for your stay and we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.
We look forward to your much appreciated collaboration!

Kind regards,

Joaquim Fernandes
(Hotel Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews