We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architecture and service of the highest grade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa do Conto - arts & residence
Ranked #21 of 173 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the Casa do Conto over Easter. A beautiful building that has been designed with great style and care. It was great to discover it was nearer to the metro station that we had thought which was great after a tiring day sightseeing and the thought of scaling another hill was too much. It is also on the direct metro line for the airport. The real gem was Tito, the hotel manager who took such personal attention and care of us. He recommended all the best places to go and to to eat (many within walking distance of the hotel) and he was never wrong. He even called around all the local restaurants to find out who would be open on Easter Sunday so we didn't go hungry on a bank holiday. We loved it and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Porto.

Room Tip: Have one of the 'suites' that have a little fridge and a coffee machine - always handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annahalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Casa do Conto is a beautiful building and it has been restored with love and care. The design is amazing and the rooms are stylish but comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable! We were disappointed with the balcony in our room as we imagined it would be an actual balcony that we could sit on and enjoy a glass of port.

In reality the balconies facing the street are JULLIETTE balconies, with no room to even stand on. We feel this should have been made clearer when booking the room. Also, very confused about the ‘Kitchenette in every room’ statement. This was a sink with a wardrobe above it. They also charge an astronomical 2 euros for a Nespresso pod. They should either not bother having a machine, or give complimentary pods – I think paying £90 for a room would justify this.

The location of the hotel is good, near a metro. However it is probably at least a 20 minute walk to the historical centre. The manager of the hotel works exceptionally hard, over worked in our opinion as he was very a very busy man!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismartinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed there for three nights. The view over the city and the backyard from the top room suite NG is wonderful. Breakfast was delicious. A nice lady makes fresh pancakes for you and as she realised, that I had my birthday, she went in the kitchen and made a birthdaycake for me. The staff at the house helped us with tips for good restaurant, tasty food and places you have to be. Imposing architecture, interesting magazines and books about the history of the house availabe.
Suite NG is a perfect choice. Big window - enjoy the view over the city direclty out of your bed.The two chairs on the balcony
are your pirvat relaxing zone. The garden with the avocadotree is another place to relax after shopping or before nightlife. We would like to go back as soon as possible.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank chfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Casa do Conto is not just an architectural showcase, but also a very pleasant base from which to savor the charm of Oporto. Tito, the hotel manager, brings in a personal touch, setting this hotel apart from many design boutique hotels where indifference is alas the norm. Don't skip the breakfast, its is simple and delicious!

Room Tip: Pick the top suite at the back, it has a great terrace overlooking Porto
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
Thank Raulalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is truly a special place, and a wonderful travel experience on every level. Tito, the manager, is extremely hard working and helpful, and went out of his way to help us with restaurant and even rental car reservations. The hotel has only been open for 6 months, and was redesigned after a tragic fire gutted the lovingly restored old building. But if every cloud has a silver lining, some kind of magic happened here. There is so much spirit embodied in this place, from the poems in the poured concrete ceilings, to the leather strands on the central staircase tied into place by friends and family. The rooms are clean and modern, but not cold. The house is filled with gorgeous mid-century modern antiques. The lighting is soft and welcoming (a rarity in Portugal, in my limited experience.) The rooms are large and have lovely high ceilings, and very welcome robes for lounging about in. We stayed here for 5 nights and were very sad to leave. Breakfast is quite nice, with fresh squeezed juice, and they will boil eggs for you upon request. The location is outside of the historic center, but in easy walking distance from Casa Da Musica, and easy walking distance from the metro.

Room Tip: We had a peek at all of the rooms, and they are all terrific. The kitchenette in some rooms is simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jooleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Casa do Conto is tres chic! Six minimalist rooms centrally located in Porto, this is a great hotel for someone who loves design. Alexandra (owner/designer) was lovely, and we shared many laughs with Tito. It's a very special and cool place to stay... I almost hesitated before writing this review because it feels like the best kept secret that I wanted to keep to myself. Shhh......

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This wonderful place is so much more than a hotel! We stayed there almost a week and left feeling that we had gained lifelong friends in Tito and Alexandra. The entire staff could not have been more hospitable and we felt completely part of their family. The hotel itself is incredibly unique and it truly feels "alive."

In my work, I travel the world and have never felt more welcome away from home from the moment I arrived until my departure.

I would highly recommend this home away from home to any travelor.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 km away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#5 of 111 in Porto
364 reviews
1.8 km away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
1.5 km away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
1872 River House
1872 River House
#5 of 173 in Porto
220 reviews
2 km away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#14 of 173 in Porto
300 reviews
1.6 km away
Cale Guest House
Cale Guest House
#11 of 173 in Porto
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Conto - arts & residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Conto - arts & residence

Address: Rua da Boavista 703, Porto 4050-110, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: C$151 - C$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Conto - arts & residence 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa do Conto proposes a new hotelier concept – arts & residence- offering a customized lodging service, focused on guests, that wish to combine their rest with the discovering of the OPorto cultural offer; that wish to create, to exhibit or to debate the city they visit. For that reason the house will also have a regular events program in collaboration with different creators, curators, groups and cultural institutions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa do Conto - arts & residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing