We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Nearby Hotels
US$450
US$378
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$502
US$352
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Star inn Porto(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$300
US$288
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
367
236
49
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
236
49
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roommain buildingsmall chapelrooms builtreal castlehotel catcastle hotelbreakfast roomperiod furnitureno elevatorblue tilesthe rivermarques metro stationdesk clerkminute walkmodern bathroominteresting hotel
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here in Porto for one night on May 31. We had excellent driving directions and found the hotel easily. It was a nice warm day in Porto and the grounds of this castle were shaded and charming. It was more of a historical house or mansion, than a castle. The hotel is set off the street just a bit and up a little hill. There was plenty of parking for guests. We were charmed by the room and its character. Our room was located in the main house. The bathroom was covered in beautiful azulejos and it was large and bright, if a bit dingy. There was a TV but the bed was a bit uncomfortable and there was no AC. By the time we went to bed, it had become so hot and muggy in our room. There was a large window we opened, but no screen, and the flies are abundant in Portugal!! I overheard someone else complaining of this same thing to the front desk. So it was hard to fall asleep in this room, if we had been staying there more than one night, I would have asked if there was a newer room (in the annex) that had AC. Great location and beautiful, but I just couldn't handle the heat or flies.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amstaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed here for two nights in one of the garden rooms. The hotel and our garden room in particular was a nice value. The room was clean and spacious. The free parking was nice and they also put on a very good inclusive breakfast in the upstairs of the castle. Our only issue with room was the entry doors to the room and bathroom were low - if you are more than 6 feet tall, watch out for head bumps!

While we liked the hotel and would recommend it, we do not recommend staying in Porto. We were really disappointed. Not only is the area around the hotel rundown but the entire Center City of Porto is very touristy and seedy and the sites are marginal. We skipped visiting Porto on Day 2 and spent the day instead exploring the Duoro Valley and it was great. You need a car but the views, quaint villages and wine tastings were top notch. We had a great gourmet lunch at Solar da Rede, which is an 18th Century Manor House Hotel between Peso da Regua and Mesao Frio. If we had to do it all over again, we would have skipped visiting Porto all together and stayed at Solar da Rede or another hotel in the Duoro Valley.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rojuko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights as it was recommended in the Lonely Planet as a quirky place to stay. The location wasn't great, Porto is a very hilly city and this place was quite a walk up Rua Santa Catarina into a rather run down area.

We worked out you could take the metro to the next station up and walk back down to the hotel (5 mins) but it was quite a way away from the river front. We walked back to the hotel one night from the river and it took about 50 mins. (we are both young and fit)

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main castle. It was quite small but the bed was v comfy and the bathroom with traditional tiles great. Powerful shower and good standard of cleaning.

The breakfast room was a treat. Breakfast buffet good, nice selection and well maintained by efficient staff.

On the down side, we didn't find the hotel reception staff particualrly friendly, and there wasn't any info provided about what to do/see etc in Porto. They were also doing building works in the garden so didn't feel we could just sit and relax there in the day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muftysludge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I was really excited about our two-night stay here, but as we approached the hotel through a fairly run-down and sketchy neighborhood, I was a little skeptical about it. However as soon as you park your car and go up through the gates, you're in a different world -- there is a castle! With its own chapel! Both of which are covered in blue tiles, with a beautiful garden and huge grounds surrounding it.

The inside of the castle is old but fun, decorated in period antiques. We asked for a garden room though, since they were cheaper and people on TA had said they were more modern. I'm not sure which ones they had, but our room was pretty disappointing, very dated, dark, and cramped, with two twin beds instead of the one double bed I'd specifically requested. (The Pope was in town, so they were full.) The bathroom was tiny and the shower very strange.

The hotel is also relatively far from the center of town, so we had to drive to dinner when we didn't feel like walking for 15 minutes to get anywhere.

Nonetheless, the outside was so much fun that it made it all worth it. They also put on a great breakfast in the upstairs of the castle, so we got to see a little bit of that part of the hotel too. Glad we stayed here, but would think twice about going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zedque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This place was noted in Fodor's and Michellin so I thought it was a safe bet. Wrong! It was in a very run down area and walking outside the gate was downright scary. The bathroom was so dark, dated and poorly arranged, it made for difficult grooming. Couldn't wait to check out after one night! I felt like I was in an old B grade horror movie.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsrTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews