We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary hotel with funny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary hotel with funny rooms”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

If you are looking for something out of the ordinary, this hotel is the right pick for you! It is a castle like building with different terraces surrounding it.
A 10 min walk to the city center, this hotel offers cozy rooms with old furniture.
There are two parts of the hotel, one main building and a building what might have been the servants quarter. These rooms are quite small, so try to snatch one in the main building.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    202
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
362
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here in Porto for one night on May 31. We had excellent driving directions and found the hotel easily. It was a nice warm day in Porto and the grounds of this castle were shaded and charming. It was more of a historical house or mansion, than a castle. The hotel is set off the street just a bit and up a little hill. There was plenty of parking for guests. We were charmed by the room and its character. Our room was located in the main house. The bathroom was covered in beautiful azulejos and it was large and bright, if a bit dingy. There was a TV but the bed was a bit uncomfortable and there was no AC. By the time we went to bed, it had become so hot and muggy in our room. There was a large window we opened, but no screen, and the flies are abundant in Portugal!! I overheard someone else complaining of this same thing to the front desk. So it was hard to fall asleep in this room, if we had been staying there more than one night, I would have asked if there was a newer room (in the annex) that had AC. Great location and beautiful, but I just couldn't handle the heat or flies.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amstaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed here for two nights in one of the garden rooms. The hotel and our garden room in particular was a nice value. The room was clean and spacious. The free parking was nice and they also put on a very good inclusive breakfast in the upstairs of the castle. Our only issue with room was the entry doors to the room and bathroom were low - if you are more than 6 feet tall, watch out for head bumps!

While we liked the hotel and would recommend it, we do not recommend staying in Porto. We were really disappointed. Not only is the area around the hotel rundown but the entire Center City of Porto is very touristy and seedy and the sites are marginal. We skipped visiting Porto on Day 2 and spent the day instead exploring the Duoro Valley and it was great. You need a car but the views, quaint villages and wine tastings were top notch. We had a great gourmet lunch at Solar da Rede, which is an 18th Century Manor House Hotel between Peso da Regua and Mesao Frio. If we had to do it all over again, we would have skipped visiting Porto all together and stayed at Solar da Rede or another hotel in the Duoro Valley.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rojuko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights as it was recommended in the Lonely Planet as a quirky place to stay. The location wasn't great, Porto is a very hilly city and this place was quite a walk up Rua Santa Catarina into a rather run down area.

We worked out you could take the metro to the next station up and walk back down to the hotel (5 mins) but it was quite a way away from the river front. We walked back to the hotel one night from the river and it took about 50 mins. (we are both young and fit)

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main castle. It was quite small but the bed was v comfy and the bathroom with traditional tiles great. Powerful shower and good standard of cleaning.

The breakfast room was a treat. Breakfast buffet good, nice selection and well maintained by efficient staff.

On the down side, we didn't find the hotel reception staff particualrly friendly, and there wasn't any info provided about what to do/see etc in Porto. They were also doing building works in the garden so didn't feel we could just sit and relax there in the day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muftysludge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I was really excited about our two-night stay here, but as we approached the hotel through a fairly run-down and sketchy neighborhood, I was a little skeptical about it. However as soon as you park your car and go up through the gates, you're in a different world -- there is a castle! With its own chapel! Both of which are covered in blue tiles, with a beautiful garden and huge grounds surrounding it.

The inside of the castle is old but fun, decorated in period antiques. We asked for a garden room though, since they were cheaper and people on TA had said they were more modern. I'm not sure which ones they had, but our room was pretty disappointing, very dated, dark, and cramped, with two twin beds instead of the one double bed I'd specifically requested. (The Pope was in town, so they were full.) The bathroom was tiny and the shower very strange.

The hotel is also relatively far from the center of town, so we had to drive to dinner when we didn't feel like walking for 15 minutes to get anywhere.

Nonetheless, the outside was so much fun that it made it all worth it. They also put on a great breakfast in the upstairs of the castle, so we got to see a little bit of that part of the hotel too. Glad we stayed here, but would think twice about going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This place was noted in Fodor's and Michellin so I thought it was a safe bet. Wrong! It was in a very run down area and walking outside the gate was downright scary. The bathroom was so dark, dated and poorly arranged, it made for difficult grooming. Couldn't wait to check out after one night! I felt like I was in an old B grade horror movie.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This hotel is perfectly postioned in the middle of Porto on the main shopping street, Rua Santa Catarina. Although, once you step through the gates and enter the hotel grounds you could be in another place as it has amazing lush green gardens and the ornate main hotel building and its beautiful tiles typical of this area, which make this the perfect place to stay. We felt immediately relaxed. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which meant we didnt have to go into the main hotel. The rooms were cool and of a good size with a TV and air con. They were very clean and nicely decorated and I had a nice big bathroom. I had a REALLY good nites sleep as was so quiet! Breakfast was continental but a good variety of local pastries or cheese and meat or you could have a hot breakfast for a few more euros. When you fist come for breakfast you will marvel in the opulence of the breakfast room and adjoining living room. We found all staff very helpful and friendly. We walked into town most nights and then took a taxi back for approx. 5-6 euros. I would highly recommend this hotel. I would recommend you try crofts port lodge over the river as they have an outside area you can enjoy the sunshine. Taylors do a great meal in the evening. We had amazing meal at Abadia (try and get the attention of the manager and get him to write your name down otherwise you end up waiting for ages for a table) this was a VERY popular retaurant on sat night! We also enjoyed dinner at Don Tonho, sat outside over looking the river. Also take a drive to Vila de Conde up the coast, great beach! NB when driving to this hotel it took us hours as one way streets were not marked on our map! You need to access Santa Catarina from the bottom.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa-Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.4 km away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
1.1 km away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#29 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.1 km away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.6 km away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
2.0 km away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Property: Castelo de Santa Catarina
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelo de Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing