We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Igreja do Carmo
from US$29.26
More Info
from US$18.80
More Info
from US$30.71
More Info
from US$23.34
More Info
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
479
466
72
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
479
466
72
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrowest house beautiful church rococo style mount carmel big church main altar statue of christ nominal fee blue and white tiles national monument jaw dropping free entry gold leaf ceramic tiles tile work interesting history sao bento train station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2019

The tiles on the outside of the church are quite beautiful, but also spend a few minutes going inside - the alter and sculptures are worth seeing.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgrejadoCarmoPorto, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Igreja do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2019

Dear David S,

Thank you for your visit to the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo and for your evaluation. Both are very important to us to improve our services. We're truly happy you enjoyed it to the point of a 4 star! We do hope you enjoyed our city and that you may be able to visit us again. We are working in new services for you.

Regards,
Isabel Bastos
(Coordinator of the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo)

Share your pictures and insights with us. Follow us and rate us in our social networks.

Facebook: @TourCarmoPorto
Instagram: ordemdocarmoporto
tripadvisor: Igreja do Carmo (Porto)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2019

Couldn't get in, Service - fair enough. Great restaurants in square opposite. Lovely story about the two churches and the 1 metre separation.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank lowryepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgrejadoCarmoPorto, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Igreja do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

Dear lowryepp,

I'm sorry you didn't get to visit the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo. We are open everyday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., and whenever there is a mass, rosary or a wedding, we are only able to provide you with the visit to the Hidden House (2 euros). Except for those times, you may visit all of our circuit, which comprises Hidden House, Church, Catacombs, Sacristy and noble rooms by 3 euros and 50 cents.
We do hope you get to visit us another time.

Regards,
Isabel Bastos
(Coordinator of the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo)

Share your pictures and insights with us. Follow us and rate us in our social networks.

Facebook: @TourCarmoPorto
Instagram: ordemdocarmoporto
tripadvisor: Igreja do Carmo (Porto)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2019

The Carmelita church and the Carmo church are basically side by side separated only by a very narrow house (which we didn't visit). The interior of the Carmelita church is a beautiful baroque and rococo style with gilded woodcarvings on the main altar and the lateral chapels. You’ll find the same details of gilded woodcarving on Carmo church. The exterior of the Carmo church (if I remember correctly) has beautiful azulejos showing some religious history. These exterior tiles are some of the most exquisite that we saw in Portugal (Sao Bento train station might be the best). Well worth the visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Montana_Rustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgrejadoCarmoPorto, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Igreja do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2019

Dear
Thank you for your visit to the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo and for your evaluation. We're truly happy you enjoyed it to the point of a 5 star! Both are very important to us to improve our services. We do hope you enjoyed our city and that you may be able to visit our touristic circuit.

Regards,
Isabel Bastos
(Coordinator of the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo)

Share your pictures and insights with us. Follow us and rate us in our social networks.

Facebook: @TourCarmoPorto
Instagram: ordemdocarmoporto
tripadvisor: Igreja do Carmo (Porto)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2019

Two churches separated by a narrow "Hidden House." You have to separate the nuns and the monks.

We did the whole tour. I found it mildly interesting. The catacomb was more noteworthy than the rest of the tour, but not the most memorable of the many catacombs I have seen. Not sure if it was worth the money or time spent (which granted was minimal), but if you are tight on time admiring the architecture from outside is sufficient.

Date of experience: September 2019
7  Thank 8-drank-was-merry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgrejadoCarmoPorto, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Igreja do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2019

Dear 8-drank-was-merry,

Thank you very much for your visit, for your comment and for taking the time to rate us. It's very important for us to receive your feedback so we know what we should improve.
Now, taking the time to dissipate some myths that roam around: please do take notice of our pamphlet, which explains there was no nuns nor monks here nor in the immediate vicinity. Our Order was, and still is, composed of laymen and laywomen; the lovely church next to us, Igreja dos Carmelitas, was composed of friars. There was no need to divide religious women and religious men as there was no people living here per se. The laymen and laywomen only met here; never lived here. The people who lived in the narrowest house were few, and always connected to our Order, of trustworthy and honorable manners.
There is no inner access in the house to both churches, as well, and there never was. Even *if*, and we have no record of it, something wrong would happen, it would be noticed and judged in religious terms.

Take the time to truly know us, and please don't judge us based in everything you hear nor read. Some are really awful lies.

Thank you once again for your visit. <3

Kindest regards,
Isabel Bastos
Coordinator of the Touristic Circuit of the Order of Carmo (Ordem do Carmo)

P.S. - If you have any questions, you may contact us via our social networks:
Facebook: @TourCarmoPorto
Instagram: ordemdocarmoporto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

Worth going for the novelty value of two churches with a very narrow house in between. We paid 3.50 euros to look round the house (not much to see understandably), the catacomb (which was very small) and the church (which was impressively grand inside).

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Wombling_Free_7548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IgrejadoCarmoPorto, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Igreja do Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

Dear Wombling_Free_7548

Thank you for your visit to the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo and for your evaluation.Don't hesitate to let us know what can we improve. It is very important to us to improve our services. We do hope you enjoyed our city and that you may be able to visit us again. We are working in new services for you.

Regards,
Isabel Bastos
(Coordinator of the Touristic Circuit of the Ordem do Carmo)

Share your pictures and insights with us. Follow us and rate us in our social networks.

Facebook: @TourCarmoPorto
Instagram: ordemdocarmoporto
tripadvisor: Igreja do Carmo (Porto)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews