We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,576 results
Traveller rating
502
750
248
51
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
750
248
51
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews windsor bar public rooms the ground floor bar prices are majestic cafe pedestrian street classic hotel bolhao metro station rua de santa catarina central location main shopping mini bar standard room lovely hotel the river roof terrace rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 1,576 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Great location. The main floor of the hotel is ornate and the service is that of a first class hotel. However, the rooms are far from first class. The bed is good but the rest of the room is barely furnished. It's a good place to stay if you don't plan on spending much time in your room except for sleeping.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

This hotel fits the name, Grande Hotel. Central location is true, not on fringes or slopes, or sub-prime locations of newer hotels. From the moment we arrived, we enjoyed the classic early 20th century period design & furnishing, and especially in the evenings, their Windsor Bar and formal dining room (dinner was pleasant for the uniformed waiters' service, good food & wine list, charming ambiance - especially on a cold wet evening).
Only 2 suites, but we booked one to have enough space -- can't stand average European rooms of 10 to 16 sq m, especially on a long trip requiring 2 large bags and 2 carry-ons. Our Manuel Oliveira movie-themed suite (no room number, a nice touch) had a dining table, living room, nice bed, a dressing area, and a large marble bathroom with extra-large tub.
Service was classy and professional, befitting such a hotel.
All this for a very reasonable rate, easily equal or less than what many new, style-driven hotels with tiny rooms were charging. Note that Porto hotels are busier on weekends and rates spike up.
We arrived by train then cab, but departed by Uber to the airport (better value than cab).
Extra note: Porto airport is fantastic!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank AlphaXplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2017

Great location, excellent breakfast and dinner. Luxurious dinning room, bar and resting and reading area. Very kind and helpful staff.
Room was a bit noisy due to heating system and unfortunately we got a connecting room and we could hear everything from the next room.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
1  Thank GabriellaN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017

The best about this hotel? Location and the history. The common parts of hotel, restaurant, receptionist...you can feel like in other century. We arrived early morning and receptionist was very nice and gave us the key, We got upgraded room, with small living room and with balcony. It was very vibrant during day, but evening it was quiet and we got good sleep. The bathrooms would need some refurbish but it is okay for 3 stars hotel. Breakfast variety was sufficient, served in beautiful room. this place has potential and is perfect for people who want to be in the middle of everything (metro very close, as well as Bento station and main bus station..

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in March at a very reasonable price. The hotel is on a busy shopping street and could be easily missed if you are arriving on foot. On entering the hotel you can appreciate its grandeur and all the ground floor is beautiful and well maintained. The Windsor bar is lovely for an evening drink. The breakfast buffet was excellent, many types of bread rolls, pastries, scones, fruit, cereal and yogurts available along with a choice of three hot dishes, usually scrambled eggs, bacon and baked beans, something for everyone and all self service.
On leaving the grandeur of the downstairs however it all changes... Brown, who would choose brown? Carpets and walls.. Not the best look. Absolutely nothing wrong with the rooms we stayed in, perfectly sized, free safe and a mini bar if you with to use it. My only complaint for the accommodation was the dreadful shower, you had to stand right underneath it clutching the wall to use it, most uncomfortable and should be updated.
They have a terrace up on the third floor which is a must if you are a smoker, because the minute you get a cigarette out on the street you get pestered by people. On the roof its just the seagulls..
Staff were generally very friendly. We did manage to upset one in the Restaurant not on purpose. we had requested times for evening meals and were told 7.30 to 10pm. we entered the restaurant at just after 9pm and the staff did not look happy. We were the only customers and ordered a main course, when it arrived we were asked what we wanted for dessert as the kitchen closes at 10. Umm not great customer service as they wanted to get home. The room service is available until 10pm so what do they do if an order comes in at 21.55? Anyhow food was very good and another nice bottle of wine was consumed and all at a very good price for a hotel restaurant. My only advice would be to go earlier!
So all in, a good stay, good location and pretty good food so I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HelenS2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews