We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Speachless...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
boat scheme
Aerial view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nuno P
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Speachless...”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

stunning, here you can recharge your physical and spiritual energy. The place of the pier is wonderful, the scenery is unbeatable and navigate by Douro is priceless ...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpio8
Peniche, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Days in Douro River”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Relaxing experience on board of a comfortable boat.

It exceeded our expectations!

We spent two days and nights.

Beautiful landscape, with small hidden bays almost private, perfect from a swim.

The weather was very good almost without wind which allowed us really nice pictures.

Great food and wine in the region, we recommend a visit to Preguiça Restaurant.

Even though we had some knowledge of the region, we had a different sight from the river.

Will be back soon with family and friends.

Travelling group: Com cônjuge/parceiro
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
It's a pleasure to have clients like you 2...
Cheers
Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula D
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This holiday exceeded our expectations. We knew little about the region and simply selected the destination due to the fantastic photos on the site and the fact that my husband is a keen sailor. We booked the chalet for a week and hired the boat for 5 days, however we only used it for 3,as lazing around in the hammocks by the river was just so lovely.

Jose and the lovely Michelle couldn't have been more welcoming and were fantastic hosts. The 'fish soup 'restaurant is a real little gem and we moored up after our meal one night to spend the night in the little bay, which was a great place to swim.

There are several places to visit for a day trip which Jose suggested, including Pinhao (35 mins by train) where we visited the Quinta do Bomfim for a port and wine tour and tasting, a real 'must do' but you need to book in advance.
A fantastic, relaxing holiday I would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for something off the beaten track and a bit different!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micah7201...
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, very different, undiscovered, relaxed excitement, superb host.”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

There is little to add to the previous reviews. We took the motorboat to the Spanish border and back - 3 days, 5 nights on the boat. Grandparents, adult son and 4 year-old grandson - a terrific trip for all. July is a hot month, and we spent time cooling off swimming in the little bays and hidden nooks of the charming river. We cooked and ate most of our meals on-board, but enjoyed the occasional restaurant very much. This holiday is unspoiled, there were very few boats on the river, except for the Cruise ship birth and coaches in Barca Dalva there are no tourists to disturb this pristine paradise, the countryside of vineyards and olive groves laid out in kinetic art landscapes and interspersed with the wilderness of untouched nature reserves, yet always accompanied by the abandoned railway, its many scenic bridges, lonely stations and watering stops. A grand and mystic river and valley.
There is nothing mystic about Jose and his team - warm, friendly, and above all caring to the last detail: the boat ship-shape and well equipped, the instructions complete and understandable, and always there for every need or question - the base is a home away from home, totally dependable, completely responsive.
But note - this is no luxury cruise - it is boating, and it is like camping, If those are your expectations, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: too short
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
It was a real pleasure...
Jose, Joao, Victor and Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rloja
Funchal, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip on the Douro”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It all starts with a great train journey. Porto to ferradosa (ca 3 hours). You are then picked up from the train stop and taken to the chalets, right on the river. Dinner, and next morning a briefing, on what you can do, as to how far you can go, and what there is to see and to do. The owner will help you, suggesting restaurant, and special nooks of the river. We did two days in a row, and would do it again. Tomorrow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The river
Liked least: November - it was a bit on the chilly side, but we had been warned about it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Meeting your family was a real pleasure...
Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hongkong
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
I enjoyed also...
It was FUN!!!
Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing