We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent Douro River, Portugals best kept...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Vineyards steps
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
duncanne6...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent Douro River, Portugals best kept secret!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Picked up our Macgregor 26 at Ferradosa and after some expert tuition on the boats systems from Jose the owner of Dourovu Holiday Rentals- and with his parting gift of 2 bottles of Port stowed safetly below - we were on our way to our first overnight stop on the river at Ribeira de Murca. Don,t miss the fish lunch at the restaurant which overlooks the pontoons! Next stop was Cais da Foz do Sabor and then onto the mighty Barragem do Pochino. Must admit i was a tad nervous about entering the lock but no need to worry as Jose telephones ahead to the lockeeper and everything is ready when you arrive to be whisked up to the next level and then it,s on to sunny Spain- well almost- as it,s just a short interesting walk over the disused railway bridge from the moorings at Barca da Alva which mark the furthest navigable point on the river. All too soon it was time to return but we can,t wait to do it again! We have wonderful memories of our sailing holiday on the Douro, the sailing,swimming,restaurants,walks and the wonderful scenary which delights at every bend in the river. Don,t miss it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The scenary and the sailing
Liked least: whats not to like?
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2012
Hi Duncan
It was a real pleasure to show you Douro
Thank you for your comment
Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenelaTig...
Penela
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“fabulous, relaxing holiday in spectacular scenery”
Reviewed January 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We've just spent a wonderful week sailing a chartered yacht on the River Douro. The yacht is a 26' MacGregor, easy to handle but still big enough to have a roomy V berth, which allowed us to sleep comfortably - and my husband's 6'3! The galley's not huge but, as we ate out a lot at the lovely little family restaurants in the villages we moored at, that was fine. I especially recommend trying the Bago D'ouro restaurant, lovely food, reasonable prices and friendly people.

You pick the boat up at Ferradosa on the river near Sao Joao de Pesqueiras and sail or motor east, up the river towards Spain.The scenery is just breath-taking all the way up the river. The furthest point is Barca D'Alba, a sweet little place on the border, from where you can actually walk along the old steam railway line into Spain, which is a bit hairy but loads of fun.

You do need to have some sailing qualifications in order to charter the yacht, obviously, but the sailing isn't very arduous - good for boat handling practice, though and going through the massive lock is fun..

We had a great time, the weather was fab, the food was great, the people were nice, the wine was marvellous. Lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location - the douro scenery is just spectacular, along with the wonderful wines and food
Liked least: the loo but then it's a 26 ft boat and boat loos are dreadful - it was no worse than any other!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2012
Thank you so much... For your nice comments, advises and support.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurens K
Sprang-Capelle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Sun, swim, eat, repeat! :) :) :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paanakker
Marbella, Spain
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing