We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“da bolsa”
Review of Hotel da Bolsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Bolsa
Ranked #25 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“da bolsa”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, second visit. Well positioned between the river and the town, in the heart of the historic, run down old quarter. Its a world heritage site, but unless many billions are spent on it, it'll soon be too late to save. So many buildings are in a dire state and are deteriorating rapidly. There was heavy rain when we were there and I have never seen so many buildings without basic guttering/downpipes.
The room has been renovated inside, making the rooms warm and attractive. However, they are pretty small. We returned on the basis of the room we had a few years back, which, it transpired was unusually large. We were shown our room this time and it was small. We asked for a bigger one, and, to their credit. they gave us a corner room with 3 windows, including views of the river. ( In other countries it would have been described as a Junior Suite)
Breakfast was good and the staff were courteous and professional. It also has a bar, which was handy on our first day as the rain was monsoonal and getting out was impossible.

Room Tip: Aim for 306 (see my review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarksdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    308
    92
    16
    4
See reviews for
112
289
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mt eliza
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We recently stayed two nights at Hotel Bolsa, and were very pleased with our choice (thank you Trip Advisor!).. The location was great, a short downhill walk (5 mins) to the Ribiera (restaurants, cafes, river) district. Staff were friendly and breakfast was good. Our room wasn't big, but was very clean and the windows opened. Bed was quite hard, but we don't mind that. The Hotel was appealing from the outside; very cute and historic looking. The price was good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Gail & chris, Victoria, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel Bolsa is a lovely hotel in Porto. We had a room that looked directly at the cathedral and when the sun was going down it was truly lovely. The room and bathroom were both small but both were comfortable and everything in the hotel was extremely clean. There were two lifts so access to your room or to the front desk was speedy. Breakfast was served in a lovely little room with window views of the city. They provided a myriad of choices that would satisfy the palate of any traveler. All of the desk staff were extremely helpful with suggestions, directions, making reservations and in general going out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. The location was fairly central, close to the river, the port lodges and many really good restaurants. It was also only a short distance to the sights in the city which required an uphill walk but it was really quite doable without much effort. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Older hotel, but nice big room and newly renovated(?) bathroom. Excellent location close to Ribeira, river, bridge dom Luiz, Gaia, shoppingstreet etc. Also close to the first stop of the hop-on-hop-off buses(which are excellent also). Pastelaria and farmacia in same street.

Streetview from our room, absolutely no noise because of isolated windows. Windows could be opened.
Breakfast: GOOD cofee, hot milk. Sweets and white bread. Ham, cheese and fresh orangejuice. :-)

Free(30 min) internet-computer in the lobby, helpful and englishspeaking staff. Bar with big tv(usually on sports channel) on ground floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatoNoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After checking into a VERY dirty and disappointing hotel (recommended by Rick Steves, which was even more disappointing), my mother and I decided right away to try and check back out! We found Hotel da Bolsa while wandering around Porto to find a place for dinner. I knew it would be a long shot to walk in and ask about availability for 5 days, but the young guys at the front desk were extremely gracious and took pity on us, showed us their last room available, and we immediately snapped it up at a very inexpensive price. Our room was decorated in a very chic and modern fashion, spotlessly clean, had a safe, two wardrobes, a flat screen tv, and TWO huge bathrooms- which was such a plus considering my mom and I were traveling together and take our sweet time getting ready! Our room looked out over the opposite riverbank as well, with the port houses and beautiful monastery perched on the hill. It was a joy to wake up and look out over the city every day or take in the sunset over the river, truly gorgeous! The location is spectacular, right by the Ribeira waterfront and several fabulous restaurants. Every single time we entered and exited the hotel the front desk staff was cheerful and wishing us a good day/night, it was wonderful. I really couldn't recommend this hotel more. I WILL be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hotel Bolsa is located very close to the Ribeira and the Port-wine lodges in Vila de Gala. our room had a great view of the Ribeira but was very noisy at night due to the night scene however, the room is fairly soundproof and the AC helps to mask the noise. The bathroom was not planned well and not for two people at the same time. Breakfast food was great but the service was very lacking. We had to clear a table for use and many dishes were not refilled.

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast room earlier or expect not to find a table or any items to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrldtrvlr596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My parents stayed at this hotel for 10 days while me and my wife stayed at her sisters house in Oporto. The room was an ordinary sized double room, very clean and with excellent air condition. The breakfast was included in the price and was were good. The hotel is situated in the very middle of the old town in Oporto near to all the must see things yet not noisy at all. My parents overall impression of the hotel is a big "we'll be back for more next year".

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farawayfromhere44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 km away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
0.9 km away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 106 in Porto
1,335 reviews
0.2 km away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#35 of 106 in Porto
854 reviews
0.6 km away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#39 of 106 in Porto
930 reviews
0.9 km away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#18 of 106 in Porto
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bolsa

Property: Hotel da Bolsa
Address: Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bolsa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel da Bolsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bolsa Hotel
Da Bolsa Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing