We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A lovely view of the river meeting the sea!

Such a beautiful view. Very easy to get to and if it was not so windy, I could have stayed all... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
LeonaTC
,
London, United Kingdom
Ocean Views

Located at the mouth of the River where it empties into the Atlantic Ocean, this is a great place... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
235AndrewR
,
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Read all 324 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Porto
from US$13.90
More Info
from US$17.40
More Info
from US$13.30
More Info
from US$13.90
More Info
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
41
18
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
18
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atlantic ocean getting wet light house praia da luz the river hop on hop off bus beautiful scenery waves pier lighthouse windy nature coastline queijo douro witness city
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Such a beautiful view. Very easy to get to and if it was not so windy, I could have stayed all day. I would say it is definitely worth a visit!

Thank LeonaTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located at the mouth of the River where it empties into the Atlantic Ocean, this is a great place to watch the Ocean, I was lucky enough to be here when then waves were 2m and crashing over the breakwater, it is really easy to get to on the route 500 bus, or a short walk from the end of the historic tram route 1.

Definitely worth a trip out from the City

Thank 235AndrewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

My wife and I took the STCP number 500 promenade bus out to Foz. We got off at a stop called 'Igreja Da Foz', had a walk through the park 'Jardim do Passeio Alegre' which was very nice and peaceful, then headed on towards the lighthouse.
We walked out the length of the pier to view the lighthouse, and were both surprised how rough the sea was at this particular point, even on what we considered to be a good day. We managed to walk out to the lighthouse and back without getting wet by the sea spray, just!
This was a really enjoyable experience, as we both like visiting some of the more unusual sights when on vacation, great views, captured some great photos, plus the added excitement of the waves and rough waters.

Thank thetravellingmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Easy to reach the lighthouse with the public transportation. Its nice for some pictures, but generally windy, cold (also during high summer) and the water is really dirty.

1  Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

A very nice place to visit if you're into watching the sea and the Atlantic Ocean. It's usually with lots of people and of you go by car it can be difficult to park

Thank TitoT416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

A beautiful view of the sea meeting the river! It’s a perfect place to be just to admire nature in its pure soul!!!

1  Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We took a cab out here to see the parks and take in some local life. Very nice beaches, full of activity. It was a warm day so lots of people out enjoying the scenery and weather. Sailboat races were on and the wind and waves made for a picturesque day. Had lunch at a wonderful restaurant on the beach - Praia da Luz - and then headed back to Porto for another great night

Thank ScotC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

...and when you get there, get off the bus at the mouth of the Douro and just start walking. The view from the piers that the lighthouse is on is amazing; and the roughness of the surf, even on a calm day, makes you realize just how difficult the sea life was (and is).

1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2018

Came here via a tourist tram ride and a short walk through Jardim do Passeio Alegre.(nice palms, restaurants are aroun the street there) There are two lighthouses - an 'old' one on a broad wall (Felgueiras Lighthouse) and, in short distance on another wall, a massive walkway to a small (modern) second lighthouse some hundred yards more into the sea. Watch the tide and winds to determine the time of visit if you can - best breakers are seen if the tide is raising and wind blows from the Atlantic. Way back could be a long walk along the seaside up to the Praia do Castelo do Queijo a few kilometers in the north, back to town by bus from there.

Thank r_d_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

As calm as die Douro river seems, you can come and see the might of the Atlantic just a few kilometres west of Porto city centre. The swell and the waves crashing into the pier wall is just fascinating to watch. The walk to the lighthouse was open, but the pier few metres to the South was frequently overrun by the waves... so just watch a while before you start the walk. There are barriers that they close if things become dangerous, I assume. So if it's closed... rather don't enter.

1  Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews