We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice concert hall”
Review of Coliseu do Porto

Coliseu do Porto
Ranked #4 of 13 Concerts & Shows in Porto
Attraction details
Reviewed February 15, 2016

Coliseu has been around for decades but it needs improvements, especially the seatings. Despite that, it's the biggest stage in Porto centre.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank FilipaDaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

6 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2015

We went to Porto on 22nd May 2015 for 9 days. The Coliseum do Porto was open for the first few days that we were there, but we noticed that the poster advertising what acts were coming up stopped at the end of May 2015. Sure enough, the poster was taken down and it looks as though workmen have moved in!

The Coliseum is one of those buildings from the 20s and 30s which are all over Porto - though I think they are ugly, my husband does not and they probably would be listed elsewhere. Nethertheless, I am pleased that this venue is being done up. It is clearly a landmark in Porto as you see it on a lot of directional signage, and as pedestrians it certainly helped us find our way back to our apartment.

That this has been an important musical venue in Porto for decades is clearly seen from the number of Franchesina ( speciatilty Porto toastie) joints opposite it, which were packed out and had queues every night of the week. On the last night that there was an event on in the Coliseum, it was heaving down the street where it is.

If you are into taking photography of illuminated signage, then once the Coliseum is open again, there are some good shots to be had. Hopefully it dill rise like a Phoenix!

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank nettyporthole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2014

I just felt its not that big of a deal! Yes it's pretty, it's "different" from what we normal see, but the chairs in concert hall, are uncomfortable and I believe that it's not very preserved which is sad of course.... Because the potential is obvious!

I would come back of course, but I don't believe the building it self is was good was its advertised.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank camufix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2014

A great venue in the heart of Porto. I watched concerts, ballet, cinema and many other shows in there throughout the years. This is a must go for any Porto lover. It's really magic. I think it's possible to visit it with a guide that shows all its "secrets". I only been there to watch shows but maybe one day I'll do that also.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank pudimflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014

One of the most beautiful concert halls in Portugal. If you are in Porto and have the possibility to go there to see a concert don't miss it.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Cristina_Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coliseu do Porto also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Coliseu do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing