We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent personal tour guide

Ricardo Brochado is a great guide: well informed, lively personality, smart, energetic. He took me... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Julia N
,
Sacramento, California
Excellent Walking Tour with Jewish Highlights

Ricardo treated my wife and me to a wonderful walking tour of Porto, with great explanations as to... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
812jerrym
Read all 137 reviews
  
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
88
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jewish heritage current culture customized tour walking tour half day tour everyday life amazing tour pastry by foot ricardo interests insight continuation portugal archaeologist stories sites
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ricardo Brochado is a great guide: well informed, lively personality, smart, energetic. He took me all over Porto, to the "must see" places like the train station with its tiles but also to sites people on group tours never get to see, that truly informed me about the city's history and its people. He recommended an excellent small seafood restaurant for the next day, i was the only non-local there. Having a personal guide makes all the difference in the world in getting to know a city.

Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ricardo treated my wife and me to a wonderful walking tour of Porto, with great explanations as to the City and its Jewish past history. It was obvious that Ricardo takes great pride in his adopted city of Porto. Ricardo gave us a real feel for Porto, both as to its present and its past. The tour concluded with an excellent lunch at a great restaurant with "authentic" Porto dishes.

Thank 812jerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The best move we made on our trip to Porto and Lisbon was to tour Porto with Ricardo on our first day in Portugal. He is smart, clever, knowledgeable and has a wry sense of humor. We loved exploring the nooks and crannies of Porto by foot, hearing stories first hand for more than 6 hours. No wonder he is the go-to resource in Porto for some of the more famous travel shows on US television....but he's not the type to bring it up himself....it came up in conversation. Everywhere we went, from the local produce and fish market to the small plazas that populate the town, he seemed to know someone in a genuine way, which was what made this tour the real deal. We skipped the tourist places (don't know why anyone would stand in line for the bookstore), and instead breathed in the realities of Porto. Before booking the tour, we completed a short list of questions on the website so Richardo could really tailor the tour to our interests. The capper was a nice lunch with him at a local joint, where he kidded with the waitstaff and ordered a variety of local dishes. And the most touching thing was when he excused himself to allegedly take a phone call, and returned with a notebook from a local store so we could capture the details of our journey using an authentic Portuguese notebook instead of the spiral book we'd brought. Richardo watches, listens, and evolves your tour to suit your needs and the current vibe. Be prepared for both a lot of walking, but a lot of memories for which you'll need your own note book to capture. Highly, highly recommended.

1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Would like to have had the opportunity to say he was a great guide. I had booked a tour with him weeks in advance. After emailing several times and texting, he completely ignored me and did a no show. Never once replying or letting me know he was no longer available. Not the way one runs a business. Shame on you. Luckily, ToursByLocals found me a guide in one hour!

Jo Fisher, JH Travel

Thank jofisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

As this was our first visit to Porto, we pre-arranged a half day tour with Ricardo of City Tailors. Ricardo is friendly, knowledgeable and speaks perfect English. His explanations are thought-provoking and very interesting. With his excellent communication skills, he connected with us from his first email response. When we met him, it felt like we were meeting a friend. Ricardo is talented at customizing his tour to the needs of his visitors. As we have some mobility issues and Porto is built on several hills, Ricardo was able to adapt to our needs and sense when stops were needed.
The tour included Jewish heritage information and an excellent overview of Porto’s general history and layout.
The tour ended with unch at a local restaurant with real home cooking and local wine included. Ricardo reviewed our tour by marking a city map of our route and presenting this to us.
Thank you Ricardo. You made Porto and Portugal’s history come alive for us.

Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We recently took a city tour with Ricardo with our two teenage daughters, not always the most enthusiastic tour participants and picky eaters. Ricardo connected in a low key way with every member of the family. My daughters felt fortunate that he showed them the street art and graffiti all over the city, something that we told him they wanted to photograph. All of us tried some new Portuguese specialties that he carefully selected at our meal together at the end of the tour. It was a relaxed, comfortable way to learn about the city from a Porto enthusiast who knows the city intimately and clearly adjusts his tours to the interests of his audience. Thank you, Ricardo!

Thank Wjk0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

As other reviewers note, Ricardo provides an amazing in-depth tour, covering many major and less known sites, and full of history and cultural insights. The tour includes a great lunch with wine. He also went at our pace (4 adults in various shapes, ages 62-72). This was the first time we'd booked a private tour, and it was well worth it. Highly recommend!!

Thank eleanora1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2018

Ricardo was amazing! You would listen to his explanation and thought that they are all interesting. Because other people might explain you things from the guidebook script, but Ricardo would let you think on "why" it happens like that, and is there another angle from the same story?
We absolutely had a great experience with Ricardo. Definitely everyone would have a great time with him :D

Thank Chonnakarn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

Free tours can be great but guides can be uneven. Not so with this company. My friends and I (party of 5) took a full day tour with Ricardo, including a terrific lunch of Portuguese specialties. Ricardo clearly loves his adopted city and gave us a full primer of the city’s history and it’s current political system. He was also generous with advice about the next phase of our trip north to Viana do Castelo and environs. We enjoyed our day with him very much.

Thank MoseCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

I was in Porto with 2 old friends and we wanted to take an all encompassing private tour of the city to see its sights, food, wine and more (a hard task to do in 3.5 hours). I had found Ricardo from an episode of Parts Unknown with Anthony Bourdain so I had high expectations, Ricardo well exceeded them. He showed us all of that and much more. He was super engaging, knew everything you would ever want to know about the city, and introduced us to some amazing local people who shared stories, food and drink. It was a special time, highly recommend for anyone wanting a real taste of Porto.

1  Thank MichaelG7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews