We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
391
77
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
77
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dumb waiter small door no lift hot drink making facilities great shopping area lovely lounge enclosed balcony bolhao market steep stairs breakfast room great tips extractor fan three flights of stairs first floor on arrival homemade breakfast guest house
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 488 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Superb hotel in a great location, but what really makes it special is the staff, they are so helpful and friendly, obviously proud of their city and a goldmine of information on what to see, where to go and best restaurants, it's a gem.

Room tip: There are stairs, no lift because the building is the Portuguese equivalent of listed, but if you are able bodied its worth the climb
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay at B the Guest. The staff were outstanding, polite, diligent, and helpful. Great price and location. Lots of stairs but they have a dumbwaiter for luggage. Good breakfast. Spacious and very clean room with a balcony was fabulous.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kah07a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

3 night stay in Porto, stayed at the B The Guest Hotel, the good points Location right in the heart of the City next to the market and shopping street and in walking distance to the Metro and The sights of etc city, Loverly staff very helpful, very accommodating, nothing to much trouble. Great breakfast fresh breads and Orange severed to after 10.30 every day. rooms cleaned and tidied daily. A tad noise at the front of the hotel on market day morning and plenty of stairs to climb.

Room tip: Rooms facing the city can be noise early morning for market day !! and no people lifts .
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yourwallsphotog... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We arrived in Portugal airport on Thursday 22nd of February 2018 . Fabulous stylish airport. Got a taxi to the Hotel €23 . Great location for exploring Porto.
On arrival we realised that reception was on the first floor. NO LIFT , so carried our luggage up the 32 steps to reception.
We were greeted by Martyr . Could not do enough for us. Room wasn’t ready as we were early , so we left our bags in the lounge cupboard. We were invited to have breakfast which was very welcome as we’d been up since 4am.
After breakfast Martyr sat with us and helped us decide what to do for the next couple of days.
We went out and did a Blue bus tour around Porto, in the glorious sunshine. The bus was hop on , hop off. We booked a two day ticket which meant it included an hour river cruise and port tasting.
We stopped for lunch at a fabulous tapas bar by the river. Awesome.
When we got back to the Hotel we found our luggage had been taken up to our room via a Dumb waiter lift. So grateful for that, because we had three flights of stairs to climb from reception. 102 steps from the front door to our room.
Myself and my husband have arthritis in knees and hips, so found this climb very challenging. Not having a lift was a real problem for us. As the Hotel was booked for us by someone else, as part of a photography weekend, I was unaware of all the stairs until I got there.
The room was 301, at the back of the hotel which was lovely and quiet. We had an enclosed balcony off our room , which was a nice extra. The bed was comfy, and the room was minimally decorated and very clean. On the balcony was a kettle, tea and coffee but no milk. There was a fridge in the room. On arrival we found a complimentary litre of water.
The next morning we had breakfast again. Same as the day before, and as we would find , the same every day. Mainly consisted of cakes, cold meat, wafer thin slices of cheese, tinned pineapple , strawberries and kiwi fruit.
We didn’t find out until our last morning that we could have asked for scrambled or poached eggs, omelette etc , as no one told us and there was no menu.
That said, the food was fresh every morning.
Martyr helped us to book a trip for the Monday , down the Dourre Valley. Run by Living City tours.
We ate out 3 nights out of 5, at some fabulous restaurants . Very reasonable cost in Portugal too. Less expensive than say , Cyprus or Spain.
We were blessed with the weather for the whole 5 days we were there.
All in all, a fabulous hotel. Very stylish, very comfortable but the stairs let it down for us. The building is listed , do no chance of a lift.
Staff were brilliant. Martyr and Tiago could not do enough for us.

Room tip: Get a room at the back , it’s quieter. Higher up,if you have no mobility issues.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TheTraveller1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

This must have been how Alice in wonderland felt. This place is pretty deceiving from the outside and from the pics - they don’t do it or the staff enough justice. From the minute you enter to your last day - the atmosphere the guys create is such a lovely pleasant one
The service was excellent, our room was spacious, lovely and very clean. Thank you for having us and we will visit again

Room tip: If you want skip gym classes book a room on the 6th floor - has a balcony and is amazing
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews