We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
78
223
143
37
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
223
143
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aliados metro station top floor ham great location star hotel lady receptionist helpful reception staff coffee and juice ideal hotel breakfast room is main square small hotel rooftop terrace walked everywhere breakfast is served minute walk bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 509 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Had asked for an early check-in but when we arrived from a long International flight our room was not read, had to wait a couple of hours before checking in. Had booked a family suite & was not what we expected nor had read about. 2 bedrooms but you had to pass through the second bedroom to get to the washroom. The balcony was only large enough for 2 people to stand on, no chairs or table & was over looking the back of the building in a old dirty alley. The hotel was close to amenities like transit, restaurants & shopping. Could also walk to the river/port to enjoy beautiful scenery & historical buildings, shops & museums. The hotel staff were friendly & courteous & breakfast was provided in the lounge/restaurant on the top of the building. A quick, convenient location to access for the downtown core & sight seeing adventures. Enjoyed the Hop On Hop Off bus excursions & wine tours/sampling.

Room tip: Only views with rooms at front of building. No balconies.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Conrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Well, when you choose 2-star hotel in city centre you cannot expect to much. Rooms are tiny and some of then has no access to natural light, but beds are comfortable and bahtroom has everything you need. Some basic amenities are missing and TV is somehow small and weirdly located. There are two main advantages - excellent location of this premise (right in the city centre, close to metro, restaurants, sightseeing spots) and view from breakfast room (although breakfast itself misses some products like eggs and vegetables). Also room doors are pretty thin and in the morning rush when people left their rooms I was immediately awake.

Overall I can recommend stay at this place but keep your expectaions low and won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2016

I spent four nights in this 2-star hotel in May 2016. The Vera Cruz Porto Hotel is a 2-star hotel, you should not expect anything special from a hotel in that segment. However, considering for what it is and what it wants to be, it does everything right:
- The location is extremely close to Avenida dos Aliados which is in Porto's city center. You can reach almost all landmarks within minutes by feet.
- The staff is very friendly and very helpful.
- The breakfast room is in the highest floor of the hotel and offers an amazing view over Porto.
- My room was very clean. The bathroom was quite lately refurbished.

For me, it was the perfect base to explore Porto. The hotel offers good value for the money. If you know what you can expect from a 2-star hotel, you will not end up disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2016

Fairly basic, but all that we needed, very pleasant staff, breakfast is self service, but on the 8th floor, with a good view over the central part of the city.A good location for most of the city centre locations, but 25 minute walk or a short train trip to the river

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlecon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and helpful but the rooms, reception area and dining room are rather tired and the breakfast was low quality. No fresh fruit! Everything seemed clean though and the location is very decent.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews