We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Army

An excellent collection of miniature soldiers. Focus is on the Portuguese army. It’s not a large... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2019
johncS9706VI
,
Lower Sackville, Canada
via mobile
Excellent, model soldiers and historical artefacts

Had found this on here and sought it out. Had to be careful with timings as it officially closed... read more

Reviewed October 19, 2018
JeffNNN
,
St Helens, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 35 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Porto
from US$18.33
More Info
from US$51.32
More Info
from US$97.76
More Info
from US$51.93
More Info
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
13
18
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
18
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2018

A very interesting collection of old and not so old artifacts. The cannons were carefully labelled but could have benefited from more space. The display that really impressed me was the World War One gallery. I still can picture the wonderful evocative bronze sculpture of the gun carriage in the mud. I learnt a lot about Portuguese involvement in the war something I knew nothing about before the visit.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

Visited here a few days ago. Staff were very friendly and helpful . The outside display of equipment was first class and historically well balanced. The ultimate star of the museum was the toy soldier collection. Six rooms of clearly and well out toy soldier display centred on the best show of Mignon and Devon figures i have ever seen. The Britains they have included paint versions i have never seen before, probably intended for export only. They also in included displays of other makers in metal like Rose, and Heyde and a complete Timpo West Point band. In plastic, makers like Airfix, Timpo and Cherilea were there. More than 12000 figures, well set out and well worth a visit. A couple of days later i had a face to face interview with the curator , where she discussed her personal favourites. Too many other makes to mention. Superb!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017

Went here on a tuesday morning and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. In the main building loads of history and quite a collection of british, american, french and portuguese toy soldiers and interesting historical facts. The entrance fee of €3 is well worth it. The gentleman at reception is very friendly. Once all the rooms inside the building have been viewed one is led outside to the yard and large out building where the tanks, cannons and armaments are stored. Well laid out and if one has an hour or so this place is well worth visiting

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Robbiecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

This is a small but perfectly formed museum. It does not cover all areas of history of the Portuguese Armed Forces but it is informative about a country that didn't really hit the headlines militarily.

The top floor toy soldier collection is impressive and encompasses several people's collections.

The other two periods of history covered on the ground floor are short but sweet, and the main area of interest is in the pavilion in the back garden. This is where the bigger exhibits are and more modern conflicts are covered.

Would have cost 3 euro each but we got 50% discount with the Porto card. The guy on the desk was fluent in English but the English translations on the exhibits could do with amending/improving.

We arrived mid-morning and were so absorbed by the place that we finished looking around the pavilion after the museum had closed for lunch and the side door we had used to get into the garden was locked. We went into what we thought was a cafe and it turned out to be the staff room where they were tucking into their lunch!

We simply walked out of the side gate.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank bfltd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017

The Museu Militar do Porto (Porto Military Museum) is operated by the Portuguese military and holds collections and exhibits from the 16th to 20th centuries. The exhibits range from 16,000 miniature toy soldiers to decommissioned artillery pieces, that seek to portray military history from around the world, including both world wars.

Part of the museum is housed in a building that was once the headquarters of the PIDE (Polícia Internacional e de Defesa do Estado), the secret police organisation that existed during the authoritarian rule of Antonio de Oliveira Salazar, between 1926 and 1974. A newer pavilion building in the rear holds the larger pieces, primarily from the two world wars.

A single employee operates the admission desk and also directs visitors to the various rooms that hold exhibits. After paying the 3 Euro admission fee, visitors are first directed to the second floor of the main building. That floor houses the extensive collection of toy soldiers, as well as some military-themed oil paintings. But the feature exhibit on that floor is a sword that is believed to have been owned by D. Alfonso Henriques – King Alfonso I – who established independence for Portugal in 1139 and reigned until 1185.

The collection of toy soldiers and miniature military models is displayed in glass cases, through several rooms on the second floor. Each group is identified with a number that can then be referenced against a sign in the display case (in Portuguese) that identifies the country that the models depict.

On the lower level of the main building are two display rooms. One holds exhibits from the Napoleonic area and the other from the period of the first Portuguese rebellion.

The visit then continues, out of the main building and into an open area behind it, where several pieces of artillery are displayed.

The ground level of the pavilion is split into two halves, with one half housing exhibits from World War 1 and the other half from World War 2.

On the upper landing, inside the pavilion, there are additional exhibits that include medieval suits of armour, chain mail and weaponry.

Signage throughout the museum is in Portuguese but there are some hand-held laminated sheets available in each area that provide information in other languages.

The museum is open six days per week (closed on Mondays). Opening hours are: Tuesday – Friday 10am to 12.30pm and 2.00pm to 5.00pm; Saturdays 2.00pm to 5.00pm; Sundays and public holidays 10am to 12.30pm and 2.00pm to 5.0pm. Closed on Mondays. Admission is 3 Euros for adults.Children under 12 years of age enter for free.

The museum is easy to reach via the Metro. Exit the Metro at the Heroismo Station and walk west about 2 minutes.

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews