We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, deplorable”
Review of Hotel Botanique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Botanique
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Room Tip: Give what you offer. Your rooms on the pictures are NOT even similar to what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
1  Thank pablon831
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

They sold it as a hotel but it's nothing more than a hostel. The room provides a bed with a very thin matrass. Toilet, sink and shower are shared outside the room. It's noisy, the curtains don't really blend the room and I wil not mention the awful smell. Just stay away OR you really need just a pricy bed in this area of Brussel.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Ignas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

This is really a very simple backpackershotel. You get a room with a bed and a shared bathroom in the corridor. The room was relatively clean but outside the room the floor was dirty. Everything was worn out and very old. The bathroom was combined with toilet. Very primitive and not maintained. It is not possible to have a breakfast at this place.
Only advantage: It is cheap (40 Euro).and WiFi was working.The room is very noisy, due to the street noise and slamming doors in the building.

Room Tip: There is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Snorkelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

I am gonna echo previous reviewers. The official photos are PHOTOSHOPED. The rooms look very different to what u can c here!
I stayed there one nite and it was more than enough. First and foremost if you travel with a dog, be aware! They don't have a clear price list and I was told first to pay 25 eur (!!!!!!!) for my pet. When I complained that I paid less in a 4* hotel, the guy at the reception desk asked me how much I was willing to pay...UNBELIEVABLE. At the end I had to pay 15 eur (15 eur too much!).
Got the room on the sec floor. The staircase is dark. There are some lamps, but they don't give too much light.
The room itself was gloomy. The first impression I had was that it's a perfect place to commit a suicide. I really had.
Sleep quality is nothing. The beds are old. U sink when you lay down. Moreover I could hear every noise coming from the room next to mine. It felt like there were other people in my room :(
The shared bathroom/wc was full of scale and mold. It's ages since I've seen a place ugly like that toilette.

Don't believe that it's close to the centre. IT IS NOT. The place it's close to is...the red light district in Brussel. U can imagine what kind of area is this.
AVOID BY ALL MEANS.

P.S. I gave second star for clean bedsheets and towels.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pitbulltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Its name is B&B, but actually it provides no meal.
There's even no kitchen in this hotel.
They told me that I could pay by card, but their card machine was broken.
The heater in my room was also broken.
There's always a smell of smoking in the building.
Far away from city center.
The staff refused to give me a wake-up call.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lingfeng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Unfriendly area, no payment by card, no receipt, no lift, very bad smell, cold room, dark inside and outside the hotel. Fortunately I stayed there just for two nights. There are many other accomodations in the city wich are much better and even cheaper!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank effetì e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The photographs of this guesthouse on this website are fake. There is no almirah in the room, the TV remote doesn't work and there are lot of mosquitoes. Overall it a dirty building which you can't guess from outside.

Avoid!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Ramanpreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,030 reviews
0.9 km away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,283 reviews
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
2,468 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
349 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Royale
Hotel Villa Royale
#7 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanique

Address: Rue Traversiere 32, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Botanique 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Botanique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanique Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing