We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in a fully booked hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gmuend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Mainly local people stay at this hotel, which is now 6 years old and kept in a very clean state (thanks to a good housekeeping department - I guess). Rooms are spacious, but do have a basic feel to them. There could be more attention to detail concerning the furnitures and fixtures. Food for dinner was of good quality, but unfortunately the buffet was replenished when there was nothing left to choose from. Breakfast buffet was average, there could be a bit more effort in displaying the products. All in all a nice place in a nice location with room for improvement.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank ViennaHolidaychecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSFB-Team, Marketing at Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback.

It's very nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel sole-felsen-bad and have a great time at a nice place in a nice location :)

And also thank you for your kudos to the housekeeping.

We hope to see you again very soon in Gmünd.

Your Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2015

The prime reason for choosing to stay here was to make use of the wellness complex attached to the hotel.

We arrived before the usual check in time and were given towels & bath robes to allow us to use the facilities, which is excellent because you can also use them after check out so a 2 night stay equalled nearly 4 days using the facilities. This makes the room price very competitive.

The room was average hotel sized, comfortable bed, clean, amenities in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel etc), mini bar and a kettle on request.

We had breakfast and dinner included in our package. All the meals are served on a buffet basis, breakfast had a very good selection with a number of healthy option items as well as the usual cooked fare. I found the dinner choice not that great especially the deserts of which a number were quite bland. The vegetarians in my party were even less impressed with the non existent choice of main courses as no one had obviously thought about them. One member of staff told us a particular dish was ok, only to discover later it contained meat. It wasn't till the 2nd dinner that a helpful waiter pointed out that they could order from the A' la carte menu at no extra cost, shame we didn't know that sooner.!

Overall I would definitely stay here again as we really enjoyed the facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank StuInSaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSFB-Team, Marketing at Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel sole-felsen-bad and also have a great time in the near sole-felsen-bad.

Of course we will check your explanation concerning the vegeterian food with our staff.

We hope to see you very soon in Gmünd.

Your Hotel-Sole-Felsen-Bad-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I'd visit the spa during the day if you are in the area rather than booking into the hotel. It's simply not worth it. There is a children's pool but the rest of the bath does not have any child safe areas where under 3s could play when they had enough of the water. Perhaps summer time is better. The child care is very limited between 9am-1pm. Petra seemed nice but there were no other kids there except ours so it looked a bit sad. There is no wifi in the rooms. Staff are generally friendly but do not expect them to have any problem solving skills, or will to make you feel good about stay in the hotel. Outside of the spa there is nothing in Gmund (the town is not worth seeing at all). So that's why I'd say it's far too expensive for what's on offer.

Room Tip: don't take your laptop child care is between 9am-1pm no safe areas for children to play in spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCampbell904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We found this relatively new but well equipped hotel whilst discovering the sleepy Waldviertel in the north of Austria, close to the Czech border. The rate of € 120 for a double room is, for this remote region, not a bargain but if you consider the free entry to the huge open air bath and a lavish breakfast buffet, you may well argue that it is. Staff is generally friendly but would need a bit more training to give one the ultimate customer is king-feeling.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Jede Etage oder Aussicht ist zu empfehlen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ellinger_Heinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSFB-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jodesbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSFB-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gmuend
22.4 km away
Hotel Schwarzalm
Hotel Schwarzalm
#1 of 1 in Zwettl Stadt
70 reviews
4.1 km away
No photo provided
Kurhotel Leonardo
#3 of 3 in Gmuend
3 reviews
27.8 km away
Faulenzerhotel Schweighofer
Faulenzerhotel Schweighofer
#1 of 1 in Friedersbach
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
FairSleep Avia Motel Gmund
1.9 km away
Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern
6.5 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad

Address: Albrechtser Strasse 14, Gmuend 3950, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Gmuend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gmuend
Price Range: $316 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing