We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
FairSleep Avia Motel Gmund(Gmuend)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
48
43
15
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
43
15
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 119 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2015

The prime reason for choosing to stay here was to make use of the wellness complex attached to the hotel.

We arrived before the usual check in time and were given towels & bath robes to allow us to use the facilities, which is excellent because you can also use them after check out so a 2 night stay equalled nearly 4 days using the facilities. This makes the room price very competitive.

The room was average hotel sized, comfortable bed, clean, amenities in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel etc), mini bar and a kettle on request.

We had breakfast and dinner included in our package. All the meals are served on a buffet basis, breakfast had a very good selection with a number of healthy option items as well as the usual cooked fare. I found the dinner choice not that great especially the deserts of which a number were quite bland. The vegetarians in my party were even less impressed with the non existent choice of main courses as no one had obviously thought about them. One member of staff told us a particular dish was ok, only to discover later it contained meat. It wasn't till the 2nd dinner that a helpful waiter pointed out that they could order from the A' la carte menu at no extra cost, shame we didn't know that sooner.!

Overall I would definitely stay here again as we really enjoyed the facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank StuInSaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSFB-Team, Marketing at Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel sole-felsen-bad and also have a great time in the near sole-felsen-bad.

Of course we will check your explanation concerning the vegeterian food with our staff.

We hope to see you very soon in Gmünd.

Your Hotel-Sole-Felsen-Bad-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I'd visit the spa during the day if you are in the area rather than booking into the hotel. It's simply not worth it. There is a children's pool but the rest of the bath does not have any child safe areas where under 3s could play when they had enough of the water. Perhaps summer time is better. The child care is very limited between 9am-1pm. Petra seemed nice but there were no other kids there except ours so it looked a bit sad. There is no wifi in the rooms. Staff are generally friendly but do not expect them to have any problem solving skills, or will to make you feel good about stay in the hotel. Outside of the spa there is nothing in Gmund (the town is not worth seeing at all). So that's why I'd say it's far too expensive for what's on offer.

Room Tip: don't take your laptop child care is between 9am-1pm no safe areas for children to play in spa floors are very slippery so take sandals for kids!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCampbell904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We found this relatively new but well equipped hotel whilst discovering the sleepy Waldviertel in the north of Austria, close to the Czech border. The rate of € 120 for a double room is, for this remote region, not a bargain but if you consider the free entry to the huge open air bath and a lavish breakfast buffet, you may well argue that it is. Staff is generally friendly but would need a bit more training to give one the ultimate customer is king-feeling.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSFB-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSFB-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews