We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place in the world”

Review of Lime House Cottage

Lime Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lime Cottage
Lime House Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lime Cottage
Lime House Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Spring Bay, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inuit_Lei...
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place in the world”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the cottage for a week at the end of December. Initially I was going to stay in the Studio, but as the cottage was available for my dates, Jo gently relocated me in the cottage for the same price. The place cannot be more beautiful than it is; gorgeous views, crystelline water pool, a fully-equipped place with all the stuff new or in perfect condition, and at last but not least, a comfortable, pleasant atmosphere around the whole place. I particularly enjoyed the location on the hills, creating the feeling of privacy and communion with the nature. The distances on the island are short, so if you like walking you don't need to rent a car. At the end of the day I really felt happy going up the hills to get to a place that it felts like home. Thank you so much Jo and Allan for your kindness and hospitality. Ah, I don't want to forget to mention Monty and Lizzie, two beautiful dogs living in the main house :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How good I felt there from the very first minute
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind words we loved having you stay at Lime House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karmilw
Maumee, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Hospitality in a Lush Tropical Garden Overlooking the Sea”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Al and Jo Gabriel are the most delightful hosts! They were very easy to work with in arranging our 10 day vacation lodging and certainly bent over backwards for us. Originally we had rented the "Studio", but due to heavy storms and a problem there, and because the cottage was available, they bumped us up into this more spacious rental. It is a fully equipped villa which we completely enjoyed. Forever etched in our minds will be our afternoon ritual of reading on the covered porch as the trade winds swept in and up the mountain, eventually lulling us to sleep. Their allowed us too some time with their dogs Monty and Lizzie (generally kept within the confines of their own lifting). As dog people who recently had to give up our last boy due to an injury, it was a jewel of a treat. There are many places on the island one could rent... I am glad we stayed in Spring. It is so safe here that people do not lock their doors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The environment and constant breeze
Liked least: Hot water lukewarm - but this is the Caribbean and common
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelinet...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pleasant cottage but located on extremely steep hill and unresolved hot water problem”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in January 2013. This was our first visit to Bequia. If you have looked at the other 6 reviews here, you may notice that they all absolutely glow with praise and 100% perfection. Realistic? You judge.
Bequia is a small (only 7 square miles) beautiful and relatively inexpensive very quiet island in the Grenadines. Access is by plane or a one hour ferry ride in usually very rough conditions. Many people we met had come for long visits of several months. Spring is the residential area of the island, for the generally white and better off islanders. The black people we saw here were gardeners and cleaners. Houses are well spaced, the roads are narrow. It is very steep.

I found it hard to walk down the hill, without holding my husband's hand, not beause of any fitness issues, but simply because it was so very steep that I could not look down. I preferred climbing up. The walk down includes a straighter steep stretch, and 4 hairpin bends. Uphill from the cottage is also steep.

The temps. werre 25 degrees C at night, 29-32 during the day. We used the Bequia open truck taxi's, and found them less expensive than hiring a car. ($30 EC to Port Elizabeth) The tradewinds are very blustery, sometimes more a gale here, and we met several people who said they would stay on the less windy side by choice.

Lime Cottage was our home for one month. The cottage is pleasant and reasonably well furnished. The paintwork was fresh and clean, both inside and out, and both bathrooms were clean and partially tiled with good quality fixtures. The kitchen was well equipped and appeared clean. There was a large refrigerator and small microwave oven, and a full gas stove. The TV was tiny, but little needed in this beautiful place.

We were advised not to drink the tap water without boiling it first. Once we were provided with a clean kettle (the one in the cottage when we arrived was extremely rusty and stained) we did this.

The 2 bedrooms would be suitable for a family with 2 children. The queen room was small but adequate, though I found the bed extremely firm. Jo gave me an old lounger pad to put on the bed, which helped. The ensuite bathroom (only liquid soap provided) had a door, but the wall stopped well short of the ceiling, so every bathroom sound was very audible in the bedroom, which was disurbing at night. The twin room had an ensuite bath which was doorless. Clothes storage spaces were OK, but not very large. An excellent and large safe was provided. Patio doors on 2 walls gave plenty of light but could not be locked, but this was not a problem. There were screens at all windows and doors, but the door screens had gaps around their edges, where some insects could gain access in the evenings. All floors were in good tiled condition. There was a washing machine available to me in a small storage room under the cottage, and a short washing line. (which broke)

Outside the veranda was mostly shady wide and comfortable, with a small glimpse of the ocean. The cottage is close to the pool and behind the main house where Jo and Allan live. The studio is along a short path from the cottage. The surrounding gardens were well kept and attractive, but not large, with very little space for strolling. The main house and apartment, and studio all have excellent ocean views. The cottage used to before trees around the pool grew up.

We enjoyed the pool. Deep enough to swim, but not out of our depth, and large enough to be able to swim around in, it felt slightly cooler than the warm ocean. We never had to share it during our late afternoon swims, and it was not given a lot of use by other guests during our stay.

Jo, a pleasant English lady, was initially welcoming, and we met Allan, originally from St. Vincent, but many years abroad, after a few days. He told us he was once in the armed forces, and was clearly a person used to being in charge of things. To begin with, Jo and or Allan would drop by each day to see if we were settling in OK, The maid service, Jo told us, would be twice a week unless we wished to change it. That was fine, and the maid did a reasonable job when she came, which then turned out to be every 4 days, except that she did not work on weekends, so it was often 6 days- no problem, but we would have like to be told this in the first place!

Unfortunately, as the title suggests, we did experience several problems with the cottage, all of which could have been avoided, if Jo and Allan had only checked up on the place before we arrived! Although they both tried to be friendly and accommodating towards us, they appeared to lack the understanding that goes along with how to treat paying guests. Allan had told us early on that the cottage and studio were built for their visiting friends to stay in, and it was later that they decided to rent them out, when "friends" they had never met visited. It was strange to us however, to feel rather second rate, when they told us that friends would be invited over for a meal, and taken out to dinner. Of course, we did not expect this treatment, but why tell us? Second rate and paying- a very confused situation.

The problems, some of which we tried to laugh over, some not so much, were as follows: hot water. None in the cottage for our first week.

We asked Allan about this our first full day there. First he said it should be hot and there was a problem, then he checked it in the afternoon and decided it was warming up. (wishful thinking!) The following day he decided to get the panel (solar system) on the roof replaced, but this could not be done for several days. At some point, he said we should have reported it sooner...!? Anyway, the work produced some hot water, but only enough for the 2 of us to have 1 evening shower each per day. To give Jo the credit, she then aranged for further work to be done on the roof, while Allan had told me that was how things were (i.e. put up with it) Unfortunately, the work did not produce any further improvement. Until the Studio was occupied we were able to use that shower, which has an electric hot water heater for the shower.

After that we had some very cool showers. We always heated a kettle to wash up. We decided not to complain any further about the lack of hot water as we did not want to sour our holiday, but we would have felt much better about it all, if Jo had offered us some sort of compensation, as any other business would surely have done. We remained polite throughout. All we got in response was "I can only apologize" Really?

After this, it seemed as if Jo and Allan were avoiding us, as we did not see them for almost 2 weeks. Then we were surprised when Jo invited us to a coffee morning, together with other guests, just before our departure date.

The other problems were more minor, such as failed light bulbs, failed motion detector on dark steps (not repaired), and a dangerous plug which was rewired. However, the microwave oven and fridge were on the same extension cord, without a 3 pin ground wire, which Allan could not be persuaded to understand could be potentially very dangerous.

The couch webbing was literally hanging on by a few threads, but we managed not to fall through it, but someone will if it is not repaired soon). If only Jo and Allan would live in the cottage for 24 hours at the beginning of the season, so that paying guests would not have to contend with all that we had to on our holiday!

The local beaches were 15 mins walk downhill. Spring Beach is quite lovely in its way, but has no shade and quite a bit of seaweed. Usually deserted, it has coarse sand, and diving birds. Industry Beach is just another few minutes walk, and has shade and a hotel, and is longer.

I hope this realistic review helps.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: little or no hot water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Reviewed February 26, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed February 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Carolina
Reviewed February 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle
Reviewed February 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing