We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,846)
Filter reviews
3,846 results
Traveller rating
2,959
629
157
62
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,959
629
157
62
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service rooftop restaurant winter garden butler floor cigar bar gb roof garden syntagma square parliament building beautiful hotel deluxe suite steam room indoor pool greek parliament top floor marble bathroom king george our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 3,846 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This hotel is pure luxury and indulgence. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. We had a private check in with a glass of French champagne, a nice touch. Perfect location and first class service. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of options and variety which is constantly replenished. This is our second stay at the Grande Bretagne and it was just as wonderful as the first.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnneS12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We stayed here and we also stayed at the Electra Metropolis which is a two-minute walk away and, on the balance of things, I’d go back to the Metropolis over the Bretagne. That’s not a slam of this hotel (I gave them the same star rating) but between price, size of rooms, and pool view the Metropolis wins. The Bretagne, for sure, has more charm. It’s beautifully maintained but the older features/style means that the rooms are very dark (although the bathroom was by far the best I encountered anywhere in Greece). The service at the Bretagne was lovely and I do have to give credit to the pool bar staff who were unfailingly polite to one of the rudest guests I have ever seen in a hotel! But for price and pool lounging the Metropolis would be my future choice. The Bretagne is the kind of place that it’s nice to stay in once but you might not want to pay those prices too often! Little things, like burgers, were ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights during a week trip to Greece (Athens & Santorini) and 2+ weeks in Italy. While all the hotels in which we stayed in both countries were very nice, the Hotel Grande Bretagne was superlative in every way. The staff members were especially accommodating, and the hotel is gorgeous.. Food at the 8th-floor restaurant was excellent with a stunning view of the Acropolis & Parthenon. Whether it was the concierge, the front desk staff, members of housekeeping or staff in the restaurants, every single one was so courteous, professional and genuinely nice. As a platinum guest, we appreciated the upgrade to a gorgeous suite -- you can rest assured that we'll be back and will recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a real plus
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Platinum2VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017

What a beautiful view of the Acropolis at evening while eating delicious food! The service was excellent! There were 8 of us and we had the best spot in the restaurant. Wine was great. The orzo with lobster was a favorite.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SueD0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Probably the only 5* hotel in Athens. Location is perfect.
A traditional and old building, tastefully decorated, comfortable rooms. Nice ambience and great common areas.
Pool is average... ( Royal Olympic 's pool is nicer)
Roof top bar and restaurant has great very nice views, but are a bit overpriced, since there are many rooftops with the same views and food is very good, but not WOW!! service is standard.

Room Tip: All rooms are really fully equipped an comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews