We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Diamond Plus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Diamond Plus
Ranked #105 of 325 Hotels in Athens
edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I was feeling a bit hesitant after a disappointing stay at the sister hotel (Diamond) but nevertheless booked a standard room here. This time I was not disappointed - the room was very clean and had all basic facilities (only thing that could be added is perhaps tea/coffee facilities). For the money these rooms are good value in a very convenient location. The decor is a bit OTT for my taste but very clean, good sound-proofing from the street and an amazingly comfortable bed (will make me shop at Coco-mat in future). The night care-taker was so pleasant and helpful as well, nothing was too much trouble for him. The breakfast was good too, plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Choose Diamond Plus not Diamond hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    83
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
107
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I had originally booked a room at the Diamond across the street but was placed here. Location is, of course, outstanding. There is no reception at this residence - you let yourself in with a proximity-type magnetic card, which you also use to access your room. Feels a bit more like an apartment building than a hotel, while reception is at your service whenever you need it. Having to cross the street for breakfast and reception service was much less of a hassle than it sounded. Room was immaculate, nicely decorated (pictures are a fair representation of the room interior), with a very comfortable bed and a great shower. One could hope for a slightly more spacious room at a 4* residence, but it was decent for the price I paid - 80 Euros/night, below the average of 4* hotels in the neighbourhood at the same time. Breakfast was awesome. The hotel did, however, lack some amenities which one could expect of a 4* hotel - bar, restaurant, cafe, room service, minimal spa facilities.
For this price, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen_Lev_Eshkolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The location is awesome. We love the design of the room and the fresh juice of the breakfast. The reception are really friendly and helpful.
But....The blanket!!!!! I couldnt believe that the extremly thin sheet was our blanket but we couldnt find anything else looked like blanket more than that. Please change it to the soft duvet like it should be!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiftKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Athens Diamond Plus is a modern boutique hotel very conveniently located only 2 blocks from Syntagma Square in Athens. It is just across a small street from the main part of the Athens Diamond Homtel (containing reception and breakfast facilities), but this is no disadvantage at all. It is probably an advantage, as there is less activity in the Diamond Plus building. The rooms in the Diamond Plus are beautifully decorated, all in white, though some might find some of the decorating touches a little kitsch. Excellent cleanliness and daily room servicing. We had 2 stays in the Diamond Plus, and had a regular double room and a suite. Both were excellent. Included breakfast buffets were good. No complaints about this excellent Athens hotel. Good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just after arriving to Athens I realized that near aren't many areas in the city that I can feel safe, so I was really have to choose Plaka area. This is a very nice area, with narrow lanes, plenty off restaurants, cafes and kiosks. The hotel is nice, the rooms are small (after having the cod open we couldn't leave the bag open) and a bit kitsch despite they are all white, the bathrooms is also small with a small shower , but all is very functional and with some closets. The breakfast has plenty off food and variety. Overall was a very good choice taking in consideration the location and the price per night (125€ in a weekend).

Room Tip: quite hotel in Plaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Diamond Plus at the beginning, and another 2 nights at the end, of a 3-week swing thru the Greek islands.

Let's start with the good points. First, the location couldn't be any better. The hotel is on a quiet street, yet within a 5-minute walk of either Plaka or Syntagma Square (and a 10-minute stroll to the Acropolis). Second, the room is nicely decorated, spotless and comfortable. Third, the rates were very reasonable, especially considering breakfast was included.

Now, for the bad part. Aforementioned breakfast was simply awful, in terms of both quality and selection. With the exception of the freshly squeezed orange juice, everything was tasteless (the sunnyside up eggs were the sorriest we've ever seen). Breakfast was supposed to be until 10:00am but, if you show up after 9:30, expect to see a lot of empty trays. Service was at worst lacking and at best amateurish. The phone in our room did not work and reception sent up the porter to take a look. He promptly sat on our bed in his dirty jeans and fiddled with the phone fruitlessly for 10 minutes. It never did work for the rest of our stay. One night another porter knocked loudly on the door at 4:30am while we were soundly sleeping. When my wife opened the door, he insisted that we had asked for a wake-up call at that time (which we never did). The guy just glared at my wife and walked away without an apology when she explained that he must have had the wrong room.

On the overall, we would still recommend the Athens Plus with certain misgivings. Just be forewarned of the unprofessional service and take it with a grain of salt. We would have given the hotel 5 stars if it wasn't for the issues mentioned above.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HipTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We only stayed at Athens diamond plus hotel for 2 nights, however would have been more than happy to stay longer. Service was great, the girl at reception was particularly helpful. The breakfast was excellent, with a large variety and a juicer for freshly squeezed juice. Rooms were clean and immaculately presented, only criticism would be that the bed was small for 2 people. Perfect location, close to train, very safe and walking distance to the acropolis.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MmandLl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#63 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#65 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#46 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#103 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#89 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Diamond Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Plus

Property: Athens Diamond Plus
Address: 23 Voulis & Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Athens Diamond Plus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Diamond Plus is a stylistic boutique hotel in Plaka, the old town of Athens that opened its doors in May 2011. The theme of Athens Diamond Plus is white opulence with bold golden strokes. The style is eclectic and neo-romantic with details inspired by ancient Greece. Athens Diamond Hotel is designed to offer to its guests a unique experience of relaxation and reverie in an inspiring environment of beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Athens Diamond Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Diamond Plus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing