We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and fantastic rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 65 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect location and fantastic rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This has got to be the most perfect location in the whole of Athens! Monastiraki Square has a lovely villagey atmosphere and almost doesn't feel like part of the city. Great bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk, and only 5-10 minutes from the Acropolis. We arrived, as most travellers do, weary under the weight of our luggage, to be greated by a friendly gentleman on reception who was smiley and welcoming. Our room (no24 - non Acropolis view) was HUGE and airy with a fabulous bathroom and monsoon style shower. Breakfast was served in the roof bar and offers a good selection of hot dishes, meats, cheeses and pastries etc and was well worth the extra €3 a night per person.

Due to the popularity of the amazing roof bar though you may find it difficult to get a seat in the afternoons or evenings, but as long as you don't mind waiting, or pre-empting your visit and booking table, you will guaretneed one of the best views in Greece!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    329
    80
    31
    18
See reviews for
146
455
71
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

First of all the location is simply great! right next to the Metro and Plaka! The bars are just around the corner.The hotel itself is brand new so expect to stay in beautiful decorated and clean rooms.My room had a veranda with a table and chairs! the staff are really helpful ! No complains!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October and were very impressed. The rooms were very modern and clean and the beds were awesome. The staff at reception were very nice and could not do enough to help us, particularly the young guy with the amazing blue eyes, we never got his name. when we checked out he walked us around the corner to a taxi and talked to the driver an told us exactly how much the trip to the Larissa train station would be before we got in. We only wish we had cash to tip him.

The only negative would be the noise coming from the roof top cocktail bar, particularly the sound of chairs constantly being moved accross the floor.

Despite the noise I would defenently recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hottie1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. Excellent room! Clean, huge, modern furnitures, excellent bed! I couldn't find anything wrong with the room.

Service staff are really good. Its true that Greek are not the friendliest people sometimes but the staff here are extremely helpful!

Breakfast is very decent in this place. We had breakfast one morning during sunrise, and the view is absolutely stunning!

Music from the roof bar does get a little loud on weekends but it was Ok for us. If you are light sleeper, try to get room that are not facing the main street. The area is usually busy till about 1 or 2 am even on weekdays.

Surrounding area can appear a little dodgy at night. Very good location near ermou st shopping and very close to syntagma square.

Corner restaurant near the hotel with lots of pictures hanging serves the best kebab!! Its a must try!!

If you take the metro, exit on monastiraki station turn right at athena street and right again its next to the corner gelato shop.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gytheio, Greece
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Good big room, terrific bathroom, superb bed (Cocomat) and located very central (just next to the metrostation Monistiraki). Also a good breakfast with a stunning view.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryGythio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the end of a cruise holiday to see the main sights of central Athens. Its a perfect choice because of its location beside the Metro and was very easy when it came time to head to the airport too. The front counter staff were very friendly and helpful.

Our room was very spacious, well appointed and modern with everything you need including a good size safe and small fridge with complimentary bottled water. Complimentary breakfast was included and served at the top floor cafe/bar that was perfect for viewing the Acropolis in the morning and the sunset (over a drink) at the end of the day. The top bar was particularly popular with the local trendy set and the place was packed for the sunset session. Its popularity did mean the tiny 3-4 person lift was always full of people going up to the top.

The view of the acropolis from our room (no 23) was very special. We could even lie in bed to take it all in.

Room Tip: For that special view of the Acropolis, its worth paying the extra price for a room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at A for Athens in December for just one night. The room was large, the shower was great, and the bed was super comfortable. We did not experience the breakfast as we had to check out before it was served.

The bar at the top of the hotel was good - packed with young and hip Greeks. The view was incredible. Loved the location right by the metro station, and in our opinion, the best area for great restaurants and small shops.

Only negative is that it boarders some not so great areas - took a wrong turn and encountered some drug activity. Not a big deal for us, certainly was not in any danger - and it's something that happens in all big cities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank augustpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 333 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing