We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed for two nights in a superior room, where, it has to be said, it would seem the bathroom merits the four-star, while the room feels more like an upgraded three-star. The balcony was tiny, and the advertised view somewhat hampered by the proximity of neighbouring buildings. However, it was very comfortable, and despite the noises from the alley, we had a couple of very good nights' sleep.

Having said that, the view from the top-floor terrace is terrific, with a wrap-around panorama of the centre of town. It's nice both for breakfast (both hot and cold offerings, very nice), and drinks in the evening. We did not try the restaurant.

The general location of the hotel is also very good, notwithstanding that it faces a very busy road. You can easily walk just about anywhere, or take the bus which conveniently stops almost right outside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,393 - 2,399 of 3,895 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I recently stayed at The Athens Gate for the second year running. It has a perfect location to sightsee and visit Plaka with the most amazing views of The Temple of Zeus and The Acropolis. I had a leisurely breakfast in the April sunshine in the Roof Garden Restaurant. The staff are also very pleasant and helpful and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rowerwfmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Visited Athens for the weekend and stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel. A great location, friendly, helpful staff, well decorated, clean hotel and what a view from the rooftop restaurant! Sitting eating the buffet style breakfast while looking at the Acropolis and the ruins of the Temple of Zeus was fantastic. Some really good places to eat near the hotel at good prices (40 euros for starter and dinner for two including wine and beer) although if you go 5 or 10 mins further away it's half the price. The only downside was we didn't stay for longer.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to have a room with a view of the Parthenon but as you can see it every morning at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dodo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Convenient to public trans and in the heart of the Acropolis neighborhood, the Athens Gate could survive based on location alone but they've gone the full nine yards with their professional staff & comfortable decor. We really enjoyed our six night stay, especialy having breakfast in their Roof Garden Restaurant with its view of the Acropolis. One of our guides said it's the best view in Athens!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Acropolis are quieter than rooms facing Hadrian's Arch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just travelled to Athens three days ago. The door man Johnny gave me the great help by explaining everything. Other staff are also really helpful and nice. Free breakfast with really great roof view. Location is awesome, u can walk all the major spot by feet. The only thing that I was a little bit ur satisfied is u need to pay the in room wifi. But the hotel provided lobby computer for free with print. So great great great hotel an definitely will go live there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were planning to stay 3 nights and we added up one more. It is a great hotel with good
rooms, and very friendly and helpful staff (we specially remember Yani, the bellman).
You can enjoy a wonderful view of the Acropolis while you have breakfast on the top floor.
It is also located in front of the Temple of Zeus and within walking distance to the Acropolis, the Agora, and to areas like Plaka where you can find plenty of restaurants and stores. There is also a metro station nearby we used to go to Monastiraki where there are some pubs and night clubs.
We recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the Acropolis are on the top floor and more quiet. But the rooms with view to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iratxe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

After experiencing a number of Greek hotels, I found the Athens Gate Hotel, to be more than adequate. The staff is very friendly. Creating a “home away from home” feeling.

This is most definitely a hotel I would recommend to my friends

Room Tip: You have to ask for rooms with a view of the Parthenon - the upper rooms from the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,204 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 281 in Athens
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $121 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing