We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveller rating
501
539
138
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
539
138
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel acropolis museum great location acropoli metro station quiet street within walking distance yogurt hard boiled eggs partial view large balcony safe neighborhood rooms are small short walk to the acropolis continental breakfast nice breakfast family room hotel room
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2018

This hotel was 1 block from the acropolis metro stop and many great restaurants. Everything was in walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast was enough to get you to lunch. The staff was very helpful and spoke English. The rooms were clean and spacious

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gulliverstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018

Wonderful value for money central hotel. Buffet breakfast to die for, lots of choice. So close to Acropolis, shops, bars and restaurants. Helpful staff and nothing too much trouble. Would visit again and recommend to family and friends.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear guest Angela N,
It is true that our location is so strategic. Two blocks from the Acropolis and the new Acropolis Museum, next to the touristic Plaka- the old Athens- but in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Thank you for your feedback, your warm recommendation and we hope to see you passing through our doors again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

You can't beat the location of this hotel in relation to the sights in the city and the train. There are several great restaurants within a short walking distance. The staff were all very friendly and helpful in answering questions and assisting in transportation arrangements. The breakfast is hearty and filling. The rooms were and clean and spacious. Be sure to go to the rooftop and check out the view of the Acropolis.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank traveltrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear gues traveltricie,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that all our services including our breakfast were so highly appreciated. Thank you for your praise for the knowldedge and efficiency of our front desk team. We hope you may visit us again on your vacation to explore more the hidden beauties of Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

Hotel location is excellent. Walking distance from old town (10 - 15 minute walk) and metro station and in a safe neighborhood.Staff are helpful and friendly.
Showers / bathrooms are extremely small
Improvement points:
1. Towels did not seem clean at all although they were changed daily and some of them worn out. I recommend taking your own towels if you have hygiene issues.
2. Reception / lobby / breakfast area has a bad smell (from dishes and food).

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Farahnemeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

"Helpful and Friendly staff"Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us at Philippos Hotel. Whilst we are really happy that you enjoyed our prime location and professional staff, we are very disappointed with your impression concerning hygienic issues. For 38 years in both our hotels we operate a central inhouse laundry professional unit and follow very strict protocols on Hygiene and Laundry procedures with numerous controls throught the day. We only wish you had addressed this with the reception desk, always willing to accommodate and solve any issues that may arise! As you might have noticed we are offering a turndown service during evening hours to refresh our guests' rooms and change towels, a service not expected in three star hotels.
Regarding your second point, it is also suprising as there is no kitchen in the same building and no food is being prepared on the spot.
Nevertheless we value consructive feedback as we are constantly examining service and trying to ensure that a high standard is achieved throughout the hotel and we were saddened to know that we did not achieve this for you. Rest assured that the important points you brought up will immediately be checked to ensure we deliver the standards promised. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Philippos some time in the future so you may experience the full level of service and hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

This hotel as all the right trimmings, it’s cute, comfortable, perfect location within walking distance to many points of interest such as historic sites, bars and restaurants. The staff is very hospitable with adds to the charm. ok breakfast. I’d recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lixandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews