We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #53 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I went to Athens for business and decided to stay in this hotel as it had a good name and good location. However, at the end of my trip, I was rather disappointed with the experience.

The rooms were a bit old-feeling and it seemed that it needed a renovation/modernisation. Staff were relatively friendly, but it depended on who you actually talked to.

Also, the prices in the hotel were overly priced and expensive. At the bar, I ordered a beer (a Mythos - which is the local brand) and when I got the bill, I was shocked to see that it cost 10 euros! Imagine if I had ordered an imported brand!

The positive things about the hotel was the rooftop swimming pool and bar, and since I went during the summer months, you could sit outside. The view was quite impressive, especially at night when you could see the Acropolis in all its glory. Also, the hotel was located in a convenient area and close to the metro line which made getting around Athens (for my business and personal time) quite easy and less frustrating than taking a car/taxi.

However, these positive things couldn't make up for all the negatives that I encountered so I would not go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyorgyigurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stay at DIVANI CARAVEL for a week,and i want to thanks all the staf for the hospitality that they offer to me.
The room was big enought for 4 person,very clean and comfort.
The breakfast has everything that you can imagine .
The most impresive thing was the staff.Everybody were friendly and ready to offer any help,something rare for hotel at this class.
The location is a plus,such as the transportation choise that you have.
A must choise when visit ATHENS

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nchania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I had high expectations since it was branded as a "LHW" Hotel, as most LHW hotels that I have stayed at were very good quality with an interesting experience. However, this one was not up to standard

Pros
- Internet was fast (even though you had to pay)
- Staff service was quite friendly
- Breakfast buffet selection was huge and food were delicious
- View towards the Acropolis was quite beautiful even though I was assigned to a low-floor room with views of the apartments that is only meters away

Cons
- Sound-proofing was bad. You can easily hear conversation from the hallway
- Showers - water leaked all over bathroom floors as all you get is a half-glass partition tub and not curtains
- Decor was quite old, corridors were rusty, and the entire property need some renovation
- There is an indoor pool (but could be an advantage during the colder winter months), but they put these gas-lamps as heaters for the pool area which creates this horrible gas smell throughout the pool, which made me feel dangerous. Gas lamps are not indoor furniture so I have no idea why it was placed there
- Bed was not quite comfortable and pillows were hard

Overall, I can't recommend this hotel based on the expectations I had before I checked-in

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great stay for luxury vacation
I have stayed in Divani hotel in july 2010.
Hotel is excellent, good equipped and with plenty of staff. Especially the roof-swimming pool with solarium and fitness. Rooms are good, spacious with nice bathroom. Hotel Divanis is an excellent starting point to see Athens; you are just 10 minutes’ walk from the center of Athens (parliament, Acropolis …) The service is excellent, the staff is very friendly and the meals are made in heaven. The internet is not free, but you can use the internet room in the hotel (you don’t need your own).
Little pricy but worth it.

Room Tip: Try to book the room in the top of the hotel, owrlooking the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leverman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Nice welcome, staff carefull and professional (I did not like only a young Receptionist chewing gum), nice and elegant room, good breakfast service. Just a few notes to improve: after the shower there was water licking on the floor of the bathroom, the electronic card for opening the door had to be reset 4 times in 4 days. The climatization could not be set-up and it was a bit too hot.

Room Tip: Check you can regulate the temperature of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We had wonderful views of the city and the Acropolis. The service was fabulous and the staff were very helpful. Would stay there every time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Nice place toe tay. Great breakfast. Rooms a bit overrated. But the rooftop swimming pool with great view on the Acropolis tops it all. A bit steep prices but oke,...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wikkie_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#64 of 284 in Athens
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#16 of 284 in Athens
3,899 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
#33 Family Hotel in Athens
#35 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $206 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing