We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some positives and one big negative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #55 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel (and loved being in Athens--beautiful time of year to visit, easy to walk around, and so much to do!). The positives: breakfast buffet was one of the best I've experienced; bathroom was clean and spacious; windows open and provide great views; staff were helpful and nice. The negatives: 15 Euros for 24h of internet! (35 Euros for 3 days...). Really? Charging for internet is such an expensive hotel? And this much? Totally uncalled for. Also: pervasive smell of smoke from the hallways, even on a non-smoking floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urbangarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest

thank you for sharing your experiece at Divani Caravel with Tripadvisor

Kindly note that we are taking into great consideration all your comments however please note that in Greece WiFi internet is still on charge from the company to all hotels. That is why we do have to charge it. However we have reduced WiFi costs and still working on it

Hoping to welcome you again in our property during your next stay in Athens

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel not far from central Athens. I stayed here for 2 nights on business and walked to the Syngmata area- 20 minutes which was a pleasant and safe walk day or night. My room was a good size with a lovely bathroom, noise levels weren’t a problem (only hotel guests that feel it’s OK to have loud conversations in the corridors when everyone else is asleep- luckily they didn’t last too long), and breakfast included a good choice and everything I had was delicious.
We had our meeting in a room with a balcony which had a view of the Acropolis- wonderful especially in the sunshine. The rooftop swimming pool, which I didn’t use, also had the same glorious view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel several times for congresses and was pleased to find the same quality of service all the time. The hotel is situated quite close to the centre with excellent public transport connections and they also offer a complimentary bus to the city center. i stayed in many different rooms and they are all spacious and elegantly furnished. the service is excellent and very attention from the reception to the breakfast personnel to room service. The breakfast is also very good and the other threerestaurants as well as the cafeteria area are excellent, There is a stunning room from the rooftop. Also the congress facilities in the hotel are very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Whenever I write a review for this site I try to be very careful. I never review a 2 star property as if it should be 3 or 4 as many do. This hotel is a 5 star so you have to rate it by rigorous standards. The service is very good. Always someone around to help you with your needs. The public spaces are very large on many levels - resembles a cruise ship in some ways. They have excellent conference facilities and can cater for food on a grand scale. But I have to say neither the public spaces nor the rooms measure up to what most people would consider 5 star. No real luxury or flower displays etc. if you've stayed at a Shangri La or the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok or a 5 star in Paris or Vienna you may be disappointed. The rooms (standard) are absolutely fine but not luxurious and the whole place has a slightly old fashioned look. Higher grade rooms may be better Other reviewers have said there are no curtains in the shower. Well honestly! Who cares! There's a glass screen which is much easier to keep clean and certainly meets the bill for me. Some detractors spoil their case by exaggerating. A coffee IS expensive but it's 5.50 NOT 6 something and with that you get 2 cups as it comes in a jug and you get a glass of water. Someone complains about a a €15 Internet charge. True but that's for 24 hours. You can get it cheaper for less time. I'm one that thinks all WIFI charges should be abolished everywhere but it's not that bad. If you consider this hotel as a superior 4 star with a few 5 star touches, you should be very happy. If you are staying there with a group or a travel company you should think yourself very lucky. It has good service for luggage and plenty of space to relax and you can swim if you want. Good location close to the Hilton and downtown. Breakfast buffet cannot compare with a 5 star Asian hotel and there are no fancy chefs standing around cooking your eggs as you like them which is a little surprising when you think that even some Holiday Inns do that! But really, there's plenty of variety and only the genuine connesseurs of 5 star luxury will quibble!! Greece is a great country which needs all our support. Any street troubles in the present hard times are very localised and should not stop anyone going. This hotel is a great place to stay and although it's rated 5 star, it's prices are not in the genuine 5 star bracket. Way below London and Paris for example. Go and enjoy. I'm just back from a 3 day conference there and I was not upset about anything!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terence57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I'm sorry to say this is going to be my last night in Athens and at the Divani Caravel Hotel :(

I fell in love with this city, the people, the food, the art and the culture. But I was mostly surprised by the amazing level of service at this hotel, and how helping and friendly the staff is.

If you're going to Athens, you might want to consider this hotel among your list of potential hotels, and I hope you'll get to experience Athens in all its beauty like I did :)

I <3 Athens :)

Room Tip: I got room # 605 which has a view of the Acropolis! just a tip :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanJB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Hotel is in a good location. Very near to Kolanaki & Syntagma Square. Good breakfast & roof top pool bar.
Only thing I didn't like is the old TV. I hope they will move to LCD TVs soon.

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narasimha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Rooms and service was excellent
Food was the best
Very polite waiters
I do recommend ifbthe service isnstill asnprevious

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arash723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#65 of 282 in Athens
1,707 reviews
Hilton Athens
#16 of 282 in Athens
3,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
#33 Family Hotel in Athens
#37 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $185 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (42 suites and 2 Presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing