We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
Ranked #50 of 326 Hotels in Athens
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We were treated like royalty”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Divani Caravel in Athens. It was centrally located and we were able to walk and get around to many areas of interest. We were able to walk to the Plaka, which has many stores which tourists like me are interested in. We also were able to walk to the little church on the hill. As for restaurants, not only was there a wonderful restaurant at the hotel, buy you could walk or taxi to a variety of tavernas. The staff was extremely accommodating and treated us like royalty. No request was too much for them to handle.
Since we had come from a very cold climate, we really appreciated that there was a roof-top deck and enclosed pool which we used each day. The weather was perfect and we were able to relax each day on the deck after exploring Athens. The hotel was immaculate, the bed was as comfortable as I ever had and I would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    458
    219
    68
    26
See reviews for
192
303
58
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A classy hotel near to the city center but at a very good position for activities.free shuttle bus,too.I stayed in a tasteful decorated suite with amazing view.bed and duvets soft and warm.There are coffee tea maker,stereo two tv sets (not lcd). housekeeping very good with evening turn down.breakfast with quality and fresh materials for all tastes.Prices at the hotel are very high, spirits around 12-15 euros for example but accompanied with exemplary service and politeness.To sum up,if you can afford it choose these hotel but in high floors.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 831seaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel (and loved being in Athens--beautiful time of year to visit, easy to walk around, and so much to do!). The positives: breakfast buffet was one of the best I've experienced; bathroom was clean and spacious; windows open and provide great views; staff were helpful and nice. The negatives: 15 Euros for 24h of internet! (35 Euros for 3 days...). Really? Charging for internet is such an expensive hotel? And this much? Totally uncalled for. Also: pervasive smell of smoke from the hallways, even on a non-smoking floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbangarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest

thank you for sharing your experiece at Divani Caravel with Tripadvisor

Kindly note that we are taking into great consideration all your comments however please note that in Greece WiFi internet is still on charge from the company to all hotels. That is why we do have to charge it. However we have reduced WiFi costs and still working on it

Hoping to welcome you again in our property during your next stay in Athens

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel not far from central Athens. I stayed here for 2 nights on business and walked to the Syngmata area- 20 minutes which was a pleasant and safe walk day or night. My room was a good size with a lovely bathroom, noise levels weren’t a problem (only hotel guests that feel it’s OK to have loud conversations in the corridors when everyone else is asleep- luckily they didn’t last too long), and breakfast included a good choice and everything I had was delicious.
We had our meeting in a room with a balcony which had a view of the Acropolis- wonderful especially in the sunshine. The rooftop swimming pool, which I didn’t use, also had the same glorious view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel several times for congresses and was pleased to find the same quality of service all the time. The hotel is situated quite close to the centre with excellent public transport connections and they also offer a complimentary bus to the city center. i stayed in many different rooms and they are all spacious and elegantly furnished. the service is excellent and very attention from the reception to the breakfast personnel to room service. The breakfast is also very good and the other threerestaurants as well as the cafeteria area are excellent, There is a stunning room from the rooftop. Also the congress facilities in the hotel are very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Whenever I write a review for this site I try to be very careful. I never review a 2 star property as if it should be 3 or 4 as many do. This hotel is a 5 star so you have to rate it by rigorous standards. The service is very good. Always someone around to help you with your needs. The public spaces are very large on many levels - resembles a cruise ship in some ways. They have excellent conference facilities and can cater for food on a grand scale. But I have to say neither the public spaces nor the rooms measure up to what most people would consider 5 star. No real luxury or flower displays etc. if you've stayed at a Shangri La or the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok or a 5 star in Paris or Vienna you may be disappointed. The rooms (standard) are absolutely fine but not luxurious and the whole place has a slightly old fashioned look. Higher grade rooms may be better Other reviewers have said there are no curtains in the shower. Well honestly! Who cares! There's a glass screen which is much easier to keep clean and certainly meets the bill for me. Some detractors spoil their case by exaggerating. A coffee IS expensive but it's 5.50 NOT 6 something and with that you get 2 cups as it comes in a jug and you get a glass of water. Someone complains about a a €15 Internet charge. True but that's for 24 hours. You can get it cheaper for less time. I'm one that thinks all WIFI charges should be abolished everywhere but it's not that bad. If you consider this hotel as a superior 4 star with a few 5 star touches, you should be very happy. If you are staying there with a group or a travel company you should think yourself very lucky. It has good service for luggage and plenty of space to relax and you can swim if you want. Good location close to the Hilton and downtown. Breakfast buffet cannot compare with a 5 star Asian hotel and there are no fancy chefs standing around cooking your eggs as you like them which is a little surprising when you think that even some Holiday Inns do that! But really, there's plenty of variety and only the genuine connesseurs of 5 star luxury will quibble!! Greece is a great country which needs all our support. Any street troubles in the present hard times are very localised and should not stop anyone going. This hotel is a great place to stay and although it's rated 5 star, it's prices are not in the genuine 5 star bracket. Way below London and Paris for example. Go and enjoy. I'm just back from a 3 day conference there and I was not upset about anything!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terence57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I'm sorry to say this is going to be my last night in Athens and at the Divani Caravel Hotel :(

I fell in love with this city, the people, the food, the art and the culture. But I was mostly surprised by the amazing level of service at this hotel, and how helping and friendly the staff is.

If you're going to Athens, you might want to consider this hotel among your list of potential hotels, and I hope you'll get to experience Athens in all its beauty like I did :)

I <3 Athens :)

Room Tip: I got room # 605 which has a view of the Acropolis! just a tip :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanJB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,821 reviews
Hilton Athens
#18 of 326 in Athens
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 326 in Athens
2,898 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,916 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#69 of 326 in Athens
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Property: Divani Caravel Hotel
Address: Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou 2, Athens 16121, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#53 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (40 suites and 2 presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing