We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof top bar = star attraction!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Ranked #106 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Roof top bar = star attraction!”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Although this hotel was said to be in the not so nice part of Athens we found it was great. This hotel had great value for money, great breakfast service every single morning and the roof top bar, simply amazing! - breathtaking views!

This hotel is located right in Athens, although outside the hotel there are alot of street people, the hotel is amazing in itself. You can walk across the whole city from this location. Some people may be culture shocked but as long as you do not bother anyone, they will not bother you.

The bar man and waitress on the roof top bar were fantatic, not only did all the foods and drinks taste delicious but the service was great too. I believe the main waitress was called Elena (something along those lines) she was great, tip her well!

Room Tip: The higher the level your room is on, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XvErSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    265
    231
    104
    59
See reviews for
128
290
50
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Title summarizes: the hotel may be it was great 30 years ago but now it is only ok. bathrooms look old fashioned now, and small. rooms are average, with comfortable matress. If this hotel instead of being in the centre of Athens were in the islands, it would cost half of the price and would be fair. The most valuable aspect of the hotel is the roof restaurant, with open air terrace where you can have an amazing panoramic while having supper or enjoying drinks. buuuut Omonia area is awful at night, with homeless foreigners begging actively, street african prostitutes actively trying to get you as client or lying drugged people in the streets (poor of them, victims of the system, but anyway making feeling you unsafe if you intend to walk in the night).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Dorian Inn Athens. June 10th

This is situated in a dodgy area. In the morning walking to the Archeological museum ( about 15 minute walk away) we encountered at least 12 drug addicts, several scanning pockets and one following close until we turned to indicate we were aware. Extremely dirty area of Athens and we are familiar with several central city areas of Athens.

The hotel is jaded with chipped glass and a lift that you are pleased to have stop after several judders at its destination. The room was very small and the bedcover a dirty yellow trying to appear white. The room chair was stained - both by mould and large liquid stains. The bathroom was the same size as that on the overnight Crete ferry, but dribbly shower and no plug for the handbasin. The hotel charges holding fees for the room lockbox of E30 and E10 for a pool towel.

The hotel hosts school groups and I am over encountering large groups of noisy Italian high school children when in Europe. They tend to have a penchant for yelling in corridors and banging doors as they relate to friends throughout the night.

The positives? The room air conditioning works. The street noise was minimal from the side room we occupied. There is a rooftop bar that has an amazing view of the acropolis and a friendly maitre dit. The food there,however, is underpar - hard ( reheated?) homemade pasta, dry ravioli and soggy French fries were part of our presentation. The peppered steak was good. There is a lovely pool on the rooftop, but this closes at 7pm and there are only four lounge chairs due to the lack of room around the pool.

I would not recommend this hotel. We have stayed in The Centrotel which is of a similar rating and this is far superior in every respect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFTNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at the Dorian Inn when we visited Athens. It is a good hotel with clean and spacious rooms. Ther service is also not bad, there were days when the staff at the reception were very friendly, and there were other days when some other staff were not so friendly. We stayed there on three different ocassions since we were also taking trips to other islands and had to keep coming back to Athens. The room on our first visit was extremely good, we had a clear view of the Acropolis, we had a balcony as well.

No complains about the rooms on the other two trips as well. The breakfast at the hotel is also good but the service in the restuarant is quite poor. There is only person available to clean the tables and also help with the food. It took them forever to refill the trays if they were empty.

The pool at the hotel is like a diamond in a coal mine. It's on the top most floor and the views from the pool are stunning.

Now for the not so good part, the location of the hotel. The hotel is located in a place called Omonia. The surroundings are not so good. The person who was driving us around in Athens warned us to stay away from a few streets. Also you will find drug peddlars hanging around a little away from the hotel. It's OK if you are in a group but could get scary if you are alone.

But Omonia square is walking distance from Plaka, Monastiraki square, Syntagma square, so that was the good part. Also there are quite a few policemen patrolling the area if that is any relief.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Effie_DCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We had an extremely bad experience with this Hotel and would never consider using it again. The Bathroom door did not close, and there was no bath mats or shower curtain and the toliet leaked. There was a lot of noise from next door rooms throughout the night, however nothing prepared us for a stranger and his "lady of the night" coming into our room at 4am after reception had given them a key to our room and and room number. The next day the staff knew of this incident but made no effort to apologies or make up for was was a very awful experience.

This hotel is one to avoid if at all possible!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewAANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This was in a great location, easy access to metro, Athens main square just 2 stops away and around 15mins by metro to the Acropolis/Parthenon. buses/trams were also available.

The room was clean and comfortable, and had a fridge which was very useful. There is a great view of the City & Acropolis from the roof top cafe. Breakfast was self service buffet with a huge selection to choose from. WiFi available through pay as you go voucher.

Staff were very helpful and even though we went out of season they still allowed us to use the roof top pool, it was freezing cold though!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank VicTrip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenburg, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My boyfriend and I went on our first trip together in august 2010.
We decided to go to Athens and the Dorian Inn Hotel was recommended to us, we've never had any problems in the hotel, the room was clean, we had airco and a nice terras where we could enjoy the sun.
The pool on the roof was small but good enough to cool off some time, after all, we were there to visit the city, not to sit at a pool.
I wouldn't recommend the food in the restaurant, I ordered a salad and it was what i got, lettuce, I didn't manage to find back the goat cheese or sundried tomatoes as described in the menu.
The neighbourhood isn't really safe but my boyfriend and I didn't really care, we went out a few nights and never had any problems with anyone.
The staff at the hotel was really friendly and our room was cleaned every day (don't forget to place the "please clean the room" card on the door).
We had a wonderful time at Athens and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anima123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stanley Hotel
#92 of 326 in Athens
1,514 reviews
Best Western Candia Hotel
#169 of 326 in Athens
47 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#85 of 326 in Athens
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,019 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
727 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Inn Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Inn Hotel Athens

Property: Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Address: 15 - 19 Pireos Street, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Inn Hotel Athens 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorian Inn Hotel, is a well organised 3* Hotel in the center of Athens in Omonoia district. The hotel offers 24h reception, 146 rooms with magnificent view of the city and the Acropolis(some of them), internet corner,large breakfast buffet, swimming pool on the 12th floor along with the well known Bar Restaurant 'Point of View' also on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorian Inn Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing