We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Ranked #94 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 13 December 2011

It was the second time we stayed at this hotel and it seems to get better each time. We arrived late in the evening and after a quick check-in we were also offered free dinner in the roof restaurant with a spectacular view of the Acropolis. The meal was excellent and so was the breakfast with a great choice. Our room was on the ninth floor with views of Athens, very clean, comfortable, spacious and at a fantastic price. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaLarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

I have traveled to Athen 3 times in the last 12 years and have stayed at the Dorian twice. The second time we stayed around the corner, but this year I was back at the Dorian. I was never afraid. In fact, I loved the location. It was close to lots of food, shopping, and sightseeing. The staff was pleasant and accomodating and you can't beat the rooftop pool and bar area. What a great place to end a day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Due to certain circumstances our stay in Athens was cut short (a blessing in disguise). As soon as we got to the check in counter I knew it would be a nightmare. The location of the hotel is in a terrible part of town. We passed lots of sketchy people and places on our way to the hotel. Upon check in we weren't even greeted with a pleasant staff. The old man at the front desk tossed a couple of forms on the counter and pretty much ordered us to fill it out without even bothering to ask who we were. After check in we got to our room and discovered it's nothing like the pictures on the website. Our bedcovers were torn and stained. There was even long hair on my pillow. My partner and I both have short hair so we know it was not ours. Our balcony door didn't lock. We went back to the front desk to ask for a different room and the two men at the front desk acted like we were crazy when we told them our bed was dirty. We were given different rooms... but not much better. The name of the hotel was written in permanent marker on the bath towels. How ghetto is that? The only nice thing that we liked was the top floor pool/bar/lounge area. Beautiful view of Acropolis. Toward the ending of our vacation we had to stay at the hotel again. We talked to our travel agent about the hotel and he made sure we were put on the 11th floor on our second time back. It was a BIG DIFFERENCE!. The room was big and very modern. It was nothing like the floors beneath it. We only stayed for few hours but it put us at ease that it wasn't nearly as bad as the first experience. Not all staff was rude. There was one older gentleman with glasses that was nice and helpful. The other staff members were rude and smoked at the entrance of the hotel so the lobby and extremely small elevator was saturated with the stench of smoke. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone. Not worth it at all.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here... Make sure you stay on the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

As I am from South Africa, I am used to crime, but the area where this hotel is located FRIGHTENED me.

We arrived after 12am at night as the ferry arrived late, we got off at the metro station closest to the hotel and started walking there. I was almost running with our bags to get off the streat as the type of people that were milling around and harrassing us was really scary. The next day we were walking down the street and on the same block there were junkies shooting up with drugs right there on the sidewalk. It was in broad daylight!

The hotel is not bad, it is clean (although not pretty) but the bathroom is smaller than we have seen in Europe. The bath is to close to the toilette that it was impossible to sit straight.

Breakfast was actually a pleasant surprise, but for what you pay for it it is probably expected as the rates are more than double the other hotels we stayed.

Room Tip: Don't sleep here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heloisef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The staff at reception were very rude. They became hostile when we politely requested a room with a cleaner bath tub. The toilet was leaking and bed sheets were dirty. I would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelshrink84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Although this hotel was said to be in the not so nice part of Athens we found it was great. This hotel had great value for money, great breakfast service every single morning and the roof top bar, simply amazing! - breathtaking views!

This hotel is located right in Athens, although outside the hotel there are alot of street people, the hotel is amazing in itself. You can walk across the whole city from this location. Some people may be culture shocked but as long as you do not bother anyone, they will not bother you.

The bar man and waitress on the roof top bar were fantatic, not only did all the foods and drinks taste delicious but the service was great too. I believe the main waitress was called Elena (something along those lines) she was great, tip her well!

Room Tip: The higher the level your room is on, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XvErSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Title summarizes: the hotel may be it was great 30 years ago but now it is only ok. bathrooms look old fashioned now, and small. rooms are average, with comfortable matress. If this hotel instead of being in the centre of Athens were in the islands, it would cost half of the price and would be fair. The most valuable aspect of the hotel is the roof restaurant, with open air terrace where you can have an amazing panoramic while having supper or enjoying drinks. buuuut Omonia area is awful at night, with homeless foreigners begging actively, street african prostitutes actively trying to get you as client or lying drugged people in the streets (poor of them, victims of the system, but anyway making feeling you unsafe if you intend to walk in the night).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
743 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 281 in Athens
1,608 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novus City Hotel
#34 of 281 in Athens
754 reviews
Delphi Art Hotel
#85 of 281 in Athens
289 reviews
Best Western Candia Hotel
#135 of 281 in Athens
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Inn Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Inn Hotel Athens

Address: 15 - 19 Pireos Street, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $62 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Inn Hotel Athens 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorian Inn Hotel, is a well organised 3* Hotel in the center of Athens in Omonoia district. The hotel offers 24h reception, 146 rooms with magnificent view of the city and the Acropolis(some of them), internet corner,large breakfast buffet, swimming pool on the 12th floor along with the well known Bar Restaurant 'Point of View' also on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorian Inn Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing