We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location, service and value!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis House
Ranked #92 of 326 Hotels in Athens
USA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, service and value!!!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

As a persn looking for location and with a good value I researched many hotels in the Acropolis area and came across this hotel. Not only did the hotel meet my expectations, but the staff was wonderful in answering my questions and steered me in the right directions regarding addendums for my time in Athens. On my floor I had a great night view of the Acropolis for photos. The hotel is one block removed from the Plaka area and close to the Stygma Square for the Metro. My room came with a veranda overlooking the street in a quiet neighborhood. Would I go back again? You bet!
Any questions - fire away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hermann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    193
    68
    37
    35
See reviews for
109
186
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Hotel was easy to find when we got off the Metro, only a few minutes walk.
On arrival, Andres was very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, tidy and basic. A/C worked great - we had a balcony room (we did request this ahead of time).
Bathroom was across the hall, however it was a private (didn't have to share with other guests)
Location of hotel is perfect - located on a quiet pedestrian street, and very close to sightseeing and restaurants. I felt safe walking around in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glitterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stay away or get at least a 100 % guaranty that they don't put you in the ground floor room behind the reception, or you will not get any sleep at all.

We chose this hotel based on recommendation from a friend who had praised the view to Acropolis, as from my understanding, from the window of their family room. Therefore, I specifically asked for a room with a view. Surprisingly, I was answered that “We will try for a room with balcony as family rooms does not have particular view”. However, instead they put us in two bedroom on the ground floor with only a paper thin blinded door between the one room and the reception, when lying in bed we could literally hear when they guy at the front desk turned a page in his book!!

We were traveling two adults + two baby twin girls (3 yrs.) and needed a place to sleep for one night before heading to the islands, and again one night on our way back home. Since the twins actually prefer to share one normal sized bed, I asked for a triplet room for us to share. I was receiving an email back quoting the price, not for a triplet, but for a four persons room so I wrote back asking again politely if we would be allowed to share a triplet room between us. I was told in principle yes, but that the extra person in the room would have to pay a 20% surcharge and that it would add up to exactly the same price as a four persons room. The surcharge would also cover breakfast for the extra person. I must say that we have not before in Greece encountered reluctance towards letting our two 3 years old baby twins share a bed in a triplet room, however, I do understand that the hotel needs to stick to their rules about the number of persons in each room. Therefore, I accepted a four persons double room, even we would not really need the fourth bed. (But given the breakfast we were “served”, I now found the argument completely ridiculous-see below).

The double room we were given behind the reception was old and dull, and the paint was literally pealing off the ceiling, however, it was fairly clean compared to how difficult it must be to clean a room with such a standard of maintenance. Since we were not actually promised a room with a balcony higher up the building, I didn't feel entitled to complain, and since it was only for one night we accepted the room. This was a huge mistake. It turned out to be the noisiest experience I remember. We all woke up every time a guest came home during the night, and sound was so loud that the first time I actually thought someone was standing in our room talking to me. It is just so unscrupulous to offer such a room. The room should never again be rented out but the should instead be included in the reception area. Or at least, the room should be offered at a highly reduced priced with clearly indication of the level of noise. Anyways, we would never accept it again at any cost.

When arriving, the management was apparently very friendly and helpful. Since we would be leaving early in the morning, they told they would get some breakfast ready before the normal hour (this option is also advertised on the website and was one of the reasons why we chose this hotel). They also told that they would buy some paper backs and prepare some sandwiches for the girls. Nice. However, when we got out just five minutes before the announced time of leaving, ready to grab the sandwiches and a quick breakfast, there was nothing but one cup of coffee left on the pot and no breakfast and no sandwiches. The poor guy at the front desk explained that someone just drank nearly all the coffee (before the official breakfast hours?!) and that he had just received the bread rolls and therefore hadn't had time to prepare anything for us. (But he actually looked like he hadn't been noticed about our early leaving). He offered us some dry rolls in a small garbage back. He apologized repeatedly and explained that it was what he had got, and he politely asked if we were happy with that. But should could we say? Who would prefer a garbage back with a couple of dry rolls instead of breakfast and the promised paper back with sandwiches for the kids? Hugely disappointed, rather hungry, and very tired we left the hotel, of course we canceled our reservation for the night on the way home, and we will surely never be back.

Another downside was that we didn't find any individual control of the air-con, and we were all freezing during the night. Maybe we just couldn't find it or the problem could be fixed, we didn't address it in morning since we were leaving anyway and new we would never come back. Also, on the hotel website a 5 % discount for artists and teachers is advertised. Since that is what we are, I clearly indicated it in my initial contact, however, we were still quoted and paying the full prize. It does not mean a lot to us and I didn't want to make a fuzz about it, but now I see how it adds to the bigger picture of greedy, unscrupulous management that promises far more than they actually keep.

On the way back we stayed in a very spacious suite in Areos hotel at a less central area of Athens. It was not a luxury hotel but it was so much nicer. We had to rooms, a large bathroom with a spa tub, and an enormous top floor terrace with a view over the city and the hills, and even to Acropolis in the distance. The price was less than that of Hotel Acropolis House!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeppe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, 2011. The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and helpful with advice re: where to eat, where to go, etc. Our room and bathroom were somewhat small, but it was adequate. Breakfast was somewhat simple but nice.
Free wireless internet in the lobby.
Location was great, in the plaka area, but a little bit removed from all the touristy craziness.

I would definitely recommend this place, and the price was very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loriotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Good location- walking distance to most major tourist sites & shopping. Helpful front desk with honest taxi services.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean. A little small -historic building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanko, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed at the Acropolis House from June 25th to 29th 2011, and we simply loved the place! The welcoming was warm, service exellent and the staff so helpful in every way. For example when there was the general strike on the day of our departure, Emmanuella at the reception called the airport to check our flight and did everything so that we could get to the airport on time despite the fact that there was no public traffic that day. And we didn't even ask her to do it! Thank you !!!
The rooms are simple but impeccably clean, and the bathroom was ok. There was always hot water in the shower, and the towels were changed daily. Breakfast was simple, but fresh, and every day fresh fruit from the owners garden was provided.
The hotel is located perfectly for sightseeing, and is really easy accessible by foot from Syntagma metro station.
Next time we visit Athens, Acropolis House will definitely be ous choice!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The Plaka (old part of Athens) is definitely the best part to explore and The Hotel Acropolis House is well located and provides a welcoming retreat from the heat. The rooms are basic and clean and fairly quiet and very reasonably priced. The staff are knowledgable about what to see and the best way to get there and very happy to assist. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pafreeman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,731 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,542 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#32 of 326 in Athens
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#52 of 326 in Athens
581 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis House

Property: Hotel Acropolis House
Address: 6-8 Kodrou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropolis House 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acropolis House is a preserved mansion of the last century, in excellent condition. It is consisted essentially of two different buildings together. The oldest of these is a stone manor house about 120 years old and the other is well-built four-floor building of 75 years. In 1965 it was modified to a hotel from the family Choudalakis, which operates since. Generally the hotel is a two star family business with character, providing security and full service to both families, and unique people who respect the identity of the hotel. In total the hotel has comfortable single, double and large rooms for families. The Hotel Acropolis House has a non smoking policy in all areas. Guests may smoke in the terrace of the first floor. Hotel Acropolis House is located at the gates of Plaka having so the advantage of being close to all the interesting places without the disadvantage of the hustle of the people and vehicles visiting the site. It is situated in a stunning location, either for professional or tourist as it is a 10-minute walk from the monument of Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, 3 minutes from Syntagma Square and the metro / bus and 2 minutes from the commercial and business center of Athens. Near the hotel there are parking, museums, pharmacies and the tourist information office. The hotel has a breakfast room, which served continental style breakfast very early in the morning for early morning flights (from 07.30 Until 10.30). There is luggage storage and safe for customers. Finally, Hotel Acropolis House has a library, with a rich collection, to borrow books from. This is himself occasionally enriched by the customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Acropolis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing