We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,132)
Filter reviews
2,132 results
Traveller rating
727
1,012
304
58
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
1,012
304
58
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great location monastiraki square metro station athinas street flea market balcony room central market within walking distance great view of the acropolis rooms are basic minute walk budget hotel street noise roof garden two blocks ancient agora
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,132 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best roof top terrace bar in Athens. Great location & breakfast room.
Recommend & would stay here again. Could walk to the major sights of Athens. And wonderful location to walk & immerse yourself in athens.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bill R ,

Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel and for recommending us !
We are delighted to hear that you liked our rooftop bar , the traditional Greek breakfast and of course our central location so much.
We would love to have you here again!

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis / Attalos Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a double room with balcony (which, btw, had a pretty awesome view of the Acropolis). Bathroom was smallish but recently renovated with all new fixtures and tiling. Room was quiet at night and we did not hear any noise from the street below. Enjoyed the plentiful breakfast options (included) and wifi connection was flawless. Location is good; heading towards Monastiraki the area felt very safe; heading in the opposite direction perhaps a little less so. Police station is directly across the street so I certainly felt it was a good sign. Staff very very friendly and helpful and there are lots of restaurants and grocers in the immediate area. The hotel has rooftop terrace with a bar (not really any meal service).

TIP: If arriving from the airport, the hotel does offer to arrange a taxi for you for a few extra Euro. We didn’t take advantage of the hotels offer on arrival in Athens and experienced an incredibly reckless taxi ride in from the airport. Paid the extra Euro when we were leaving and was extremely happy with the professional driver, spotless taxi and informative conversation.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the acropolis - you only live once
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nancy_Ottawa ,

Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel and for your review !
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be a great value.
It is noce to hear that you liked your room , our staff , the rooftop bar with the Acropolis view and our services.
It is true that our neighborhood is very central and one of the safest streets in Athens whereas as you go to smaller streets and towards Omonoia you may get an unsafe feeling (it is still safe but is not so lively )
We always suggest a transfer as it is people we know and trust and most of the times they can give a small tour or offer something to ease your travel before they drop you off at the hotel.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis / Attalos Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

The hotel doesn't look too prepossessing from the outside, but inside it was perfect for us. We stayed twice at either end of an island hopping tour. Our room both times was a good size with a wet room type modern bathroom. The aircon was free, quiet & efficient (and as it's in a busy area you can't really sleep with the windows open). Our room facing the street had a small balcony with table and chairs- although not all rooms have a balcony- you need to book one if it's important to you. The rooms at the rear of the hotel have larger balconies, but these face South and we were very happy with ours. We booked direct with the hotel, and they were great at sending confirmation. They also sent details on how to find the property, including public transport choices, and there were handy links eg to the ferry companies, which we found very useful and were a real bonus. Now for the best bit...location location location! The hotel is a couple of minutes from Monisteraki tube staion and a 10 minute walk from a bus stop.It's really close to the Acropolis &other ruins, and there are lots of places to eat close by. It's also close to the flea market which is a fascinating place. Although the area is busy & there's the usual graffiti (everywhere in Athens) the area felt reall y safe. In fact there were quite a few single women staying at the hotel & I'd definitely recommend it for the lone traveller. It has a roof top bar that opens from about 4pm (I think) to midnight (I know!). The bar has the most stunning views of the Acropolis - we couldn't believe it - and prices were very reasonable too (3 euros for a large glass of wine). We thought this place was a real gem.

Room tip: Rooms at the back face South, have larger balconies. Rooms at front are cooler, smaller balconies & more street noise
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kayteey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear kayteey,

Thank you for choosing Attalos Hotel and for your detailed review !
Stating that our hotel is a gem made us really happy as we always try to offer the best possible services and make up to our small dowsides, like the appearance from outside.
The building is old as you noticed but we try to keep our facilities up to date and do renovations every year.
We are glad that you liked your room with balcony , the hotel in general and of course the Acropolis view from our rooftop bar. The central location is an extra bonus.
We are always happy to assist our guests with any information they need before arrival and during their stay and we are glad you found it helpful.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis / Attalos Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The hotel is conveniently located within 3-7 mins walking distance to places like Monastiraki Square, Psiri, Ermou. It's also walkable to the Acropolis Museum (about 15 mins). So much so that we could go out in the morning, explore and come back in the afternoon to rest when the sun was very hot, and head back out. There's a supermarket just opposite (about 1 min walk) and plenty of eateries nearby. We opted for breakfast with the room and had no regrets! We're vegetarians but had plenty of options to choose from - dried and fresh fruit, spinach and cheese pies, croissants, Greek yoghurt, cereals, coffee, tea and juices. Rooms were small but clean and staff were friendly and helpful. There's an open area on one of the floors where you have access to computers with internet and printers. Tea and coffee were also available in this room until 4PM. Overall a great experience staying in this hotel, and if ever we come back to Athens, will definitely stay here!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyasmin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear pyasmin88,

Thank you for your preference in Attalos Hotel and for your review !
Thank you for all your nice words about the hotel , our staff and our services.
Of course our central location is a big advantage and is very convenient for sightseeing.
We are glad you also liked our traditional Greek breakfast and you had a great experience witrh us.
We are looking forward to having you here again!

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis / Attalos Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

Our second stay at the Attalos was as good as the first. Great location near Monastiraki. Very short walk to the metro, close to the Parthenon, Plaka and great restaurants and bars (including the famous Bairaktaris!). Clean rooms, friendly helpful staff and a good value breakfast. Possibly the best feature of the hotel is the incredible view from the rooftop bar. One of our favourite hotels anywhere.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nigeldiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attaloshotel, Διευθυντής at Attalos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nigeldiana ,

Thank you for your preference in Attalos Hotel and for stating that we are one of your favorite hotels anywhere !
This is such a great honour for us and we appreciate all your nice words about the hotel and our services.
Of course our central location is a big advantage but it can't beat the incredible view from our rooftop bar.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you many more times!

Kind regards,
Kostas Zisis / Attalos Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews