We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Akropolis, very friendly staff, a bit small room/bathroom”
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #16 of 75 Athens B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very close to Akropolis, very friendly staff, a bit small room/bathroom”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed there recently for 3 nighs with my husband and 5 year old son. First time in Greece.
I booked this hotel cos it seemed reasonably priced and very close to Akropolis which was always (ans still is) one of our "must-see" places in the world, and also my Greek friend`s mum recommended this place.

Staff here is very friendly. We chatted with them like with old friends and they were quite helpful, we asked them lots of questions about trams, metro etc.
Breakfast was good and generous: bread, butter, jam, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, cheese, salami, tomatoes, coffee (very nice coffee!) and tea, juice (too sweet), cereals (very good), walnuts ... Only boiled eggs seemed to be boiled more like a day before than just an hour ago (judging from yolk colour), but we had only two eggs so I can`t say all of them every day were like this.

Room was a bit dark but clean. bathroom was tiny but shower worked good. wardrobe was small but there was lots of shelves so we were OK with it. Beds seemed comfortable for me & my son, but husband complained a bit about hard mattress. air condition worked well.
Staff changed towels and emptied bins every day.

Overall, first impression about room size and facilities in it was not so great, but it`s maybe because I work in luxury (and expensive) 5* apartments where I live so probably I automatically compared size and standard ;-) I have to remind those who are reading my review, this place is cheap so don`t expect 5* standard, but Art Gallery Hotel is a nice place. We were happy with this place and we enjoyed good breakfast (generous and cheap) on the balcony with a view on Akropolis.
I must say again, staff was very nice and friendly and helpful :) :)
We definitely will be back to Athens sometime in the future and very likely stay in Art Gallery Hotel again.

Room Tip: our room was 35, as I said a bit small and dark but we can`t really complain. but this room may be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    109
    40
    18
    6
See reviews for
60
99
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, BC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean with a fair size bathroom. The beds were a little hard but we both were experiencing upper back soreness for the last 6 months at home after sleeping. After the first 2 days sleeping here though our soreness disappeared so our mattress must be too soft and the harder bed was good for us! We had a room on the street and we found it to be noisy till after midnight when it then became quiet so a back room would probably be better. The breakfast was on the top floor and was a buffet style and there was plenty of food for us. We liked to go up at night and sit on the terrace there with some wine that they serve from their bar as you could see the Acropolis lit up at night from the farthest 2 tables. The location is excellent as we could walk to all the sites from there and there were lots of place to eat and drink close by and the metro is just down the street a short way.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delta_BCRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Myself and my art students from Canada stayed here for several days before and after our trip to Hydra. Political unrest caused some travel issued and the owners bent over backwards making connections for various parties in our group...well beyond what I would expect. The location was ideal for what we wanted...historical sites, the Plaka and transportation access to the rest of Athens. I would stay again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gnotnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A great little family hotel in a quiet residential area close to the Acropolis. You can see the Parthenon (just!) from the balcony of the dining room where they serve breakfast. I've been going to this hotel for years now. There are some great neighbourhood restaurants really close or you can walk round the park below the Acropolis to more touristy stuff. Rooms are clean and confortable. Bathrooms a little basic but fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here for a week in October and everything was good. Staff were very friendly & helpful, getting us into our room early. The room (22 I think) was spacious, nice comfortable bed and had a balcony overlooking a reasonably quiet street. The breakfast upstairs on the balcony was a great start to the day. The location was excellent - only a few minutes to the metro & cafes.. Highly recommended budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBill49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Just left this hotel after 2 days.
1. The personal service is outstanding, helpful, and caring. Arrived during riots in Athens. No transportation from airport, no cabs, buses etc,so took a while to arrive there. Greeting was one of sincere care.
2. Bags lost by airlines- made more than a few calls to keep tracking even after midnight. ( 3 days later we stiil dont have).
3. Room was for 3 ladies - VERY clean, room, hot water for shoer great water preesure (no hair dryer). Yes the elevator can onlyl hold 1 person/.1bag. You are not in USA just deal with it, runs great.
4. breakfast - Bread, hard boiled eggs, yougert w/honey, fruit, coffee. Breakfast room on 4th floor very friendly feeling and outside balcony area to also sit.Your in Athens this is what most give unless you want to spend big dollars and lose the personal service. I ahve been in many countries let alone USA that would not make phone calls for you without charging.
5. Great location less 2 blocks to pedistria walk area w/lots places to eat. Can also walk to all sites if want to.
(Booked "Athensfreewalkingtour.com" FANTASTIC. Walked and saw ALL you need there and it is FREE just tip him. Had George who has so much knowledge took appx 3 hrs but was not rushed.)
Been in travel business over 40 years so really have seen it all and this place is great. Made you feel like family and now feel same towards them

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank actitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The front desk staff (Ethel and Ada) were amazing! Everything else was pretty bad. We had Room 31, which was tiny. The shower vertical doors were very hard to open and close. There was no art whatsoever on the walls, which other people mentioned. Very little space to unpack and get comfortable. The mattress was the hardest I've ever slept on, and we woke up with back pain every morning that lasted all day. The view from our room was the next building, so we had no balcony. It had a definite dorm-room feel to it. Breakfast was good, and I can't say enough good things about Ethel and Ada, but the hard bed, austere room, and lack of sp[ace is why we rated this as "poor."

Room Tip: Definitely not Room 31. It's in the back of the hotel, so it's quiet, but see our comments a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marble House
#21 of 326 in Athens
671 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,202 reviews
Hotel Tony
#43 of 326 in Athens
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
996 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
703 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#53 of 326 in Athens
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 5 Erechthiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 42, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget friendly family-run Hotel centrally located in the Acropolis area of Athens. We began our operation back in the early 80’s when a family member and architect converted our family residence into today’s Athenian home enjoyed since by thousands of our guests. Our Ηotel is well-situated in a safe neighborhood of the up-and-coming Koukaki district of Athens. We are conveniently located near the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, and the many interconnected archaeological sites of significance, most of which can be easily reached on foot or via our nearby metro and tram stations or by bus (all a few minutes away). ​ Furthermore, the bustling pedestrian alley just down our street offers convenient access to a variety of enticing restaurants, tavernas, bars/pubs and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing