We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Ranked #44 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and perfect location”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

It says it all in my title, cheap, clean and located right ob syntagma square.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huesey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    417
    198
    36
    13
See reviews for
141
456
81
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Amazon is an excellent three star hotel that is about good as it gets. Perfect location, very clean, efficient and friendly service. The breakfast is very good by Athens standards, my room had everything I wanted and though the shower was small it worked perfectly. A great bonus is free wifi connection. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The AMAZON hotel both boasts an excellent location: While Athens looks chaotic on the map, it is quite easy to manoevre once you are there. Both the airport bus and subway stop three blocks away at Syntagma Square and virtually every downtown sight including the Acropolis and museum are reachable within a 20-30 minute walk (depending on your speed). Restaurant, shopping, and transportation is within metres away.

The hotel itself is good: While I cannot say that I would decorate my own place this way, everything was new, clean, and functioning. Nothing fancy, no frills, but extraordinarily immaculate for this price range. The staff went out of the way to make our stay as good as possible, this includes the front desk as well as the room service who sometimes made the bed several times per day.

And if this isn't enough: Some rooms have a magnificent view of the Acropolis. I can wholeheartedly recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Some rooms on the upper floors have a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outthereonmyjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel has a great location, however it is very noisy by night and we found it hard to sleep on the first night (until we found some ear plugs!) The staff are friendly and the food was decent however. I would definitely stay again, the value for money is excellent. The noise is just a minor issue.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Sussex UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is unfussy, but is relaxed and makes for a good start to the day. Staff are helpful and friendly. Great location: Bus routes X95 and tube routes to Airport, for 5 Euro and 7Euro are just 5 minutes walk from Syntagma Square. There are lots of local restaurants, but we found the Tzitzikae, about 3 minutes away offered a great range of Greek food at very good value. It is also clearly a favourite of the locals.This location is also ideal for walking to all the magnificent ancient monuments and museums, apart from the Archaeological Museum. The walk can take you through the Plaka area, which is full of markets and restaurants and is very pleasant. There is no pressure to buy. For a more varied and less demanding museum than the Archaeological Museum, The Benaki museum, just up from Syntagma is within easy walking distance and is excellent. It is free on Thursdays.
The Greek people helped make this city visit a real pleasure; always helpful and dignified never intrusive. Would recommend this Hotel and this city for a visit absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We didn't and were overlooking a street. Mind you, it did have a 17t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is in a great location. However, the beds were narrow, the shower room was tiny. In fact in the shower there is hardly any elbow room or room to turn around. We had a room that overlooked the alcove in the corner of the building and although the window was tall and narrow, there was no natural light. The worst thing about it all was the breakfast which was totally cold. They serve fried eggs and scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage - all COLD. When my husband complained the waitress had a take it or leave it attitude. No attempt was made to heat anything up for him. I couldn't believe that people around me were eating cold food which wasn't even luke warm - just cold. Other hotels offer breakfast from 7-10 also and manage to keep the food hot so why can't the Amazon. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishguard
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked through Easyjet.co.uk and certainly got the best possible deal. The Amazon is located about 150 metres from the Syntagma tube station, everything that we wanted to see was in walking distance. We had room 607 with the most amazing view of the Acropolis (if booking ask for a room with a view). All of the more mature staff were charming and totally helpful, this could not be said of the young girls on reception, they were very abrupt and did not want to know or offer advice. What a shame because they really did let the hotel down.
We spent 5 days doing the old city, plenty of very reasonably priced eating places near by. If you are going to do several of the major sites then buy the book of 6 tickets (12 euro), this works out at about half price. These can be purchased at any of the entrances to the historical sites.
The new Acropolis museum (5 euro) is quite outstanding (no wonder Greece is bankrupt), and we wish we had done it before visiting the Acroplis, we would have had a much greater understanding of the historical site. This museum is open until 8.00pm unlike all other sites that close at 3.00pm (winter season) and 5.00pm (summer season).
The most amazing museum is the National Archaeological but it needs a full day to even scratch the surface.
If you are travelling from the airport to the centre of Athens the X95 bus (5 euro) takes you to Syntagma Square, the same journey as on the tube (8 euro) and takes about the same time.
We arrived Sunday afternoon just in time for the riots, because the hotel is so central, just of Syntagma Square there were a lot of problems, tear gas, petrol bombs, explosions, fires, shouting and chanting. The following morning it was like a war zone. These were NOT friendly demonstrations, we were advised most strongly to stay in our room not that we could have gone out. The tear gas was like a dense posionous fog, we were very thankful that the hotel did not get fire bombed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morawel_Fishguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,677 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,503 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#63 of 326 in Athens
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,236 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#65 of 326 in Athens
512 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#64 of 326 in Athens
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amazon Hotel

Property: Best Western Amazon Hotel
Address: 19 Mitropoleos & Pentelis Str | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing