We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Rate..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Ranked #43 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Very good hotel with best price i have ever seen...
Very good place,5 min. To akropolis.
But bad breakfast..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

It says it all in my title, cheap, clean and located right ob syntagma square.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huesey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Amazon is an excellent three star hotel that is about good as it gets. Perfect location, very clean, efficient and friendly service. The breakfast is very good by Athens standards, my room had everything I wanted and though the shower was small it worked perfectly. A great bonus is free wifi connection. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The AMAZON hotel both boasts an excellent location: While Athens looks chaotic on the map, it is quite easy to manoevre once you are there. Both the airport bus and subway stop three blocks away at Syntagma Square and virtually every downtown sight including the Acropolis and museum are reachable within a 20-30 minute walk (depending on your speed). Restaurant, shopping, and transportation is within metres away.

The hotel itself is good: While I cannot say that I would decorate my own place this way, everything was new, clean, and functioning. Nothing fancy, no frills, but extraordinarily immaculate for this price range. The staff went out of the way to make our stay as good as possible, this includes the front desk as well as the room service who sometimes made the bed several times per day.

And if this isn't enough: Some rooms have a magnificent view of the Acropolis. I can wholeheartedly recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Some rooms on the upper floors have a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank outthereonmyjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel has a great location, however it is very noisy by night and we found it hard to sleep on the first night (until we found some ear plugs!) The staff are friendly and the food was decent however. I would definitely stay again, the value for money is excellent. The noise is just a minor issue.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is unfussy, but is relaxed and makes for a good start to the day. Staff are helpful and friendly. Great location: Bus routes X95 and tube routes to Airport, for 5 Euro and 7Euro are just 5 minutes walk from Syntagma Square. There are lots of local restaurants, but we found the Tzitzikae, about 3 minutes away offered a great range of Greek food at very good value. It is also clearly a favourite of the locals.This location is also ideal for walking to all the magnificent ancient monuments and museums, apart from the Archaeological Museum. The walk can take you through the Plaka area, which is full of markets and restaurants and is very pleasant. There is no pressure to buy. For a more varied and less demanding museum than the Archaeological Museum, The Benaki museum, just up from Syntagma is within easy walking distance and is excellent. It is free on Thursdays.
The Greek people helped make this city visit a real pleasure; always helpful and dignified never intrusive. Would recommend this Hotel and this city for a visit absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We didn't and were overlooking a street. Mind you, it did have a 17t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is in a great location. However, the beds were narrow, the shower room was tiny. In fact in the shower there is hardly any elbow room or room to turn around. We had a room that overlooked the alcove in the corner of the building and although the window was tall and narrow, there was no natural light. The worst thing about it all was the breakfast which was totally cold. They serve fried eggs and scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage - all COLD. When my husband complained the waitress had a take it or leave it attitude. No attempt was made to heat anything up for him. I couldn't believe that people around me were eating cold food which wasn't even luke warm - just cold. Other hotels offer breakfast from 7-10 also and manage to keep the food hot so why can't the Amazon. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Margaret950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,410 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#68 of 282 in Athens
991 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#48 of 282 in Athens
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos & Pentelis Str | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $88 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing