We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
339
486
220
41
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
486
220
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssyntagma squaregreat locationwalking distanceermou streetshower roomcentral locationclean hotelmetro stationcity breaktriple roomyogurttourist attractionsbreakfast was includedair conditioningshort stayacropolis viewvisiting athens
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Tip 1: Let's face it, any hotels around Athens city center are bound to be expensive. This is by far the cheapest hotel we could find in Athens and also the best value.

Tip 2: The hotel location is so convenient, just one train line from the Athens International Airport (about 45mins to 60mins train ride) and you know what? If you are worried about locating the hotel when you arrive at Syntagma square, just switch on your wifi on your smartphone and you will have free wifi to load your smartphone street map. Just simple as that!

Tip 3: Obviously Athens are still in reccessions so you cannot expect much from the neighbourhood of Athens City Center. There are still a lot of abandon buildings and shopfront. During the night, it does get very quiet but if you walk on the main street but not small alleyways, you will be fine.

Tip 4: Part of the hotel is currently under renovation, so you might not find the entrance but just keep a look out and you will find it. Make sure you arrive Athens during daylight because it is much easier to find the hotel.

Tip 5: Its funny how a country is in recession but still manage to install so many automated bank machines around town. Don't worry about bringing loads of cash because you can cash out your money from any cash machine around this area. There is also a post office just right opposite Syntagma square, very convenient to send a postcard home after you visit the acropolis.

Tip 6: There are also loads of bars and cafes around the hotel, they are cheap and reasonable. Definitely not out to cheat any tourists' money. We also love the greek Gyros that most of the shops sell, cheap and delicious.

Tip 7: The way to Acropolis, Monastiraki and plaka are very convenient, walk out of the hotel and turn left and left again (away from Syntagma sqaure) and you will reach the very busy and happening life of Athens.

Tip 8: About the room, quality of sleep is ok but the wall is quite thin so you can literally hear people from the next room talking to their family. The room itself is very clean and bathroom is very clean too. However it is a very small hotel room, so if you are after bigger room, then this might not be your option.

Tip 9: When we were there, there was a mini demonstrations in Syntagma square. There were huge policemen with batton and shield lining up near the hotel ready to charge at the protestors. So if you are someone who can't take this sort of situation then i supposed you should stay somewhere away from Syntagma square. It is a common area for protestors and certainly a place for pickpockets as well. So remember to look after you belongings!

Athens itself is a fun city and loads to explore, i suggest you stay at least 3 days and have a proper look at the city and the lifestyle of Greek. A very interesting city!

If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an average hotel situated in the centre of Athens and in walking distance from the old town and the Acropolis.
Without a doubt this hotel's greatest asset is it's location.
However, the rooms were super clean and although I stayed for only 3 nights, towels and bedding were changed daily!
Breakfast was not bad at all. The variety was not great but everyone could find something to eat and well-cooked, too. Things like sausages, bacon, 3 types of eggs, cheeses, fruits, pastries and freshly baked bread were abudant. Coffee was a bit blah but I didn't really mind because drinking coffee in a greek coffee house is an experience on its own and I had my coffee in a nearby cafe with a view to the ancient temples!
The hotel is to be found in a rather quiet road so traffic noise was never a problem.
The only...inconvient thing was the very small yet very clean and new bathroom.
I highly recommend this hotel for a few days in Athens.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have very small bathrooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calliope74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just down from Syntagma Square, where the Greek Parliament building is located, and a five minute walk from Plaka, where you can find countless bars and cafes, the Amazon Hotel offers excellent value for money and a really good location. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was a little small but had a perfect shower so was good enough for our needs. The breakfast each morning was very good and set us up for the days sightseeing around Athens.
When we go back to Athens we will certainly stay here once again.

Room Tip: Excellent value for money.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2013

When arriving via the Metro at the Syntagma Station be advised that the hotel's location on GoogleMap is incorrect. It is about a half block from the location on the map. Ask someone when you get off the Metro where the hotel is actually located and avoid a frustrating walkabout looking for it.

Good hotel, friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet was included in our room rate. You couldn't be more centrally located in Athens.

Good value if pre-booked, otherwise it could be a bit spendy.

Room Tip: I was told that some of the rooms have a view of the Acropolis. Ours did not.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyIdahoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We first found this hotel by accident in 2011. We were Island hopping and got caught up in the National strikes and had to return to Athens a day early. We had booked for Hotel Arethusa, our normal stay place, but getting back that day early meant that were they were fully booked and couldn't help us. We went searching the streets and stumbled upon the Amazon.

Have to remember this is a medium to low price hotel in a major city. The staff were immediately very helpful and friendly. The rooms were recently decorated, or at least felt that way. The rooms were also immaculately clean. Breakfast is the usual buffet style with the usual suspects served of cereal fruit and Greek bacon, not the best but edible, sausages and eggs.

The time we arrived in off the street I think we paid 80 euros but we returned in November having booked through booking dotcom and we paid less than 60 euros. On this occasion I had returned to Athens to run the marathon and the Amazon kindly started serving breakfast around 2 hours early as we had to be on the coach to the start by 6.00 am.

Needless to say, this is now our preferred place to stay as the location is excellent being around 100 meters from Syntagma Square, which gives you great access to the underground, the metro and bus service to the airport. Also easy walk to both the Plaka and Monisteraki and the train to Piraeus should you be getting away to the Islands. Also being off the main road up a little side street has the added benefit of being pretty quiet.
My daughter has booked already for June 2013, so I think you can say we recommend the very good Amazon.

.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the lifts entrance and exits as they have music playing in them all night. Not so great if you are near them.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grecophile262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews