We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Ranked #42 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western Amazon Hotel just off Syntagma Square. I was disappointed with the quality of the room compared to the cost. It did not compare with the Best Western Hotels in the US. We had a small room, 2 single beds, view overlooked a vacant building with broken windows, was noisy, small bathroom with an elevated shower that flooded the bathroom when in use. FIrst impression when we arrived was that it was closed up as the front entrance was not very appealing, and part of the building walking to the entrance was either under construction or was just a " dump". The only positive was the location. Great restaurant across the street ( In Town). Would not stay here again. Not sure the cost of the pictures of the rooms because for $200 for 2 nights, our room was definitely not one of those pictured.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

If I was visiting Athens again, I would come back here. Good front desk always attended, not the friendliest bunch but got the job done, clean rooms, working wi-fi, and very reasonable room rates. Breakfast was basic but good enough. The absolute gift of this place is the location and the reasonable cost. I got a bus from the airport which was supposed to stop just nearby and take around an hour, which (in a good introduction to what it would be like to travel in Greece) just stopped in a random location way before Syntagma, because of a strike! Somehow with a combination of luck and intuition, I managed to find my way to the hotel anyway. Being walking distance from the bustling Syntagma square makes this easier (my first experience of the square was that it was filled with protesting student demonstrators as well as tourists pushing luggage and locals just standing about smoking - an intriguing mix!). Being near the square means it is near nightclubs (there is one just across the road) so it is very noisy - especially on weekends if you are facing the street and you'll need to close the windows to get some peace.

The surrounding streets host beautiful churches (some tiny, old and charming) and shopping strips - my advice is to avoid the eatery immediately across the road, great wine but truly dreadful food, and to venture back a a few minutes walk down the street away from bustling Syntagma and you'll find winding alley ways filled with market stalls, some overpriced stores and art gallerys (with expensive but beautiful stock) and some cheaper eateries, street food and restaurants and eventually, as you keep walking, you'll end up at the main station in a smaller square. You'll be treated to breathtaking views of ancient Athenian monuments there, which you can gaze at, whilst sitting on the steps of the station, eating cheap and yummy street food. What a way to spend an afternoon!

Room Tip: I was near the top floor, didn't make a difference for sound as I was directly opposite a nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RovingRed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The location couldn't be more perfect! From this hotel you can walk to the historical part of the city and to great restaurants and shopping areas. The hotel is ok. As some others stated, you get what you paid for. Everything is very simple, the rooms are very small but very clean. Staff was ok. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Tip 1: Let's face it, any hotels around Athens city center are bound to be expensive. This is by far the cheapest hotel we could find in Athens and also the best value.

Tip 2: The hotel location is so convenient, just one train line from the Athens International Airport (about 45mins to 60mins train ride) and you know what? If you are worried about locating the hotel when you arrive at Syntagma square, just switch on your wifi on your smartphone and you will have free wifi to load your smartphone street map. Just simple as that!

Tip 3: Obviously Athens are still in reccessions so you cannot expect much from the neighbourhood of Athens City Center. There are still a lot of abandon buildings and shopfront. During the night, it does get very quiet but if you walk on the main street but not small alleyways, you will be fine.

Tip 4: Part of the hotel is currently under renovation, so you might not find the entrance but just keep a look out and you will find it. Make sure you arrive Athens during daylight because it is much easier to find the hotel.

Tip 5: Its funny how a country is in recession but still manage to install so many automated bank machines around town. Don't worry about bringing loads of cash because you can cash out your money from any cash machine around this area. There is also a post office just right opposite Syntagma square, very convenient to send a postcard home after you visit the acropolis.

Tip 6: There are also loads of bars and cafes around the hotel, they are cheap and reasonable. Definitely not out to cheat any tourists' money. We also love the greek Gyros that most of the shops sell, cheap and delicious.

Tip 7: The way to Acropolis, Monastiraki and plaka are very convenient, walk out of the hotel and turn left and left again (away from Syntagma sqaure) and you will reach the very busy and happening life of Athens.

Tip 8: About the room, quality of sleep is ok but the wall is quite thin so you can literally hear people from the next room talking to their family. The room itself is very clean and bathroom is very clean too. However it is a very small hotel room, so if you are after bigger room, then this might not be your option.

Tip 9: When we were there, there was a mini demonstrations in Syntagma square. There were huge policemen with batton and shield lining up near the hotel ready to charge at the protestors. So if you are someone who can't take this sort of situation then i supposed you should stay somewhere away from Syntagma square. It is a common area for protestors and certainly a place for pickpockets as well. So remember to look after you belongings!

Athens itself is a fun city and loads to explore, i suggest you stay at least 3 days and have a proper look at the city and the lifestyle of Greek. A very interesting city!


If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is an average hotel situated in the centre of Athens and in walking distance from the old town and the Acropolis.
Without a doubt this hotel's greatest asset is it's location.
However, the rooms were super clean and although I stayed for only 3 nights, towels and bedding were changed daily!
Breakfast was not bad at all. The variety was not great but everyone could find something to eat and well-cooked, too. Things like sausages, bacon, 3 types of eggs, cheeses, fruits, pastries and freshly baked bread were abudant. Coffee was a bit blah but I didn't really mind because drinking coffee in a greek coffee house is an experience on its own and I had my coffee in a nearby cafe with a view to the ancient temples!
The hotel is to be found in a rather quiet road so traffic noise was never a problem.
The only...inconvient thing was the very small yet very clean and new bathroom.
I highly recommend this hotel for a few days in Athens.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have very small bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calliope74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just down from Syntagma Square, where the Greek Parliament building is located, and a five minute walk from Plaka, where you can find countless bars and cafes, the Amazon Hotel offers excellent value for money and a really good location. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was a little small but had a perfect shower so was good enough for our needs. The breakfast each morning was very good and set us up for the days sightseeing around Athens.
When we go back to Athens we will certainly stay here once again.

Room Tip: Excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

When arriving via the Metro at the Syntagma Station be advised that the hotel's location on GoogleMap is incorrect. It is about a half block from the location on the map. Ask someone when you get off the Metro where the hotel is actually located and avoid a frustrating walkabout looking for it.


Good hotel, friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet was included in our room rate. You couldn't be more centrally located in Athens.

Good value if pre-booked, otherwise it could be a bit spendy.

Room Tip: I was told that some of the rooms have a view of the Acropolis. Ours did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyIdahoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#69 of 282 in Athens
983 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#47 of 282 in Athens
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos & Pentelis Str | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $60 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing