We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
340
488
221
41
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
488
221
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssyntagma squaregreat locationwalking distanceermou streetshower roomcentral locationclean hotelmetro stationcity breaktriple roomyogurttourist attractionsbreakfast was includedair conditioningshort stayacropolis viewvisiting athens
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western Amazon Hotel just off Syntagma Square. I was disappointed with the quality of the room compared to the cost. It did not compare with the Best Western Hotels in the US. We had a small room, 2 single beds, view overlooked a vacant building with broken windows, was noisy, small bathroom with an elevated shower that flooded the bathroom when in use. FIrst impression when we arrived was that it was closed up as the front entrance was not very appealing, and part of the building walking to the entrance was either under construction or was just a " dump". The only positive was the location. Great restaurant across the street ( In Town). Would not stay here again. Not sure the cost of the pictures of the rooms because for $200 for 2 nights, our room was definitely not one of those pictured.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If I was visiting Athens again, I would come back here. Good front desk always attended, not the friendliest bunch but got the job done, clean rooms, working wi-fi, and very reasonable room rates. Breakfast was basic but good enough. The absolute gift of this place is the location and the reasonable cost. I got a bus from the airport which was supposed to stop just nearby and take around an hour, which (in a good introduction to what it would be like to travel in Greece) just stopped in a random location way before Syntagma, because of a strike! Somehow with a combination of luck and intuition, I managed to find my way to the hotel anyway. Being walking distance from the bustling Syntagma square makes this easier (my first experience of the square was that it was filled with protesting student demonstrators as well as tourists pushing luggage and locals just standing about smoking - an intriguing mix!). Being near the square means it is near nightclubs (there is one just across the road) so it is very noisy - especially on weekends if you are facing the street and you'll need to close the windows to get some peace.

The surrounding streets host beautiful churches (some tiny, old and charming) and shopping strips - my advice is to avoid the eatery immediately across the road, great wine but truly dreadful food, and to venture back a a few minutes walk down the street away from bustling Syntagma and you'll find winding alley ways filled with market stalls, some overpriced stores and art gallerys (with expensive but beautiful stock) and some cheaper eateries, street food and restaurants and eventually, as you keep walking, you'll end up at the main station in a smaller square. You'll be treated to breathtaking views of ancient Athenian monuments there, which you can gaze at, whilst sitting on the steps of the station, eating cheap and yummy street food. What a way to spend an afternoon!

Room Tip: I was near the top floor, didn't make a difference for sound as I was directly opposite a nightclub! However with closed windows, it's fine.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RovingRed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location couldn't be more perfect! From this hotel you can walk to the historical part of the city and to great restaurants and shopping areas. The hotel is ok. As some others stated, you get what you paid for. Everything is very simple, the rooms are very small but very clean. Staff was ok. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Tip 1: Let's face it, any hotels around Athens city center are bound to be expensive. This is by far the cheapest hotel we could find in Athens and also the best value.

Tip 2: The hotel location is so convenient, just one train line from the Athens International Airport (about 45mins to 60mins train ride) and you know what? If you are worried about locating the hotel when you arrive at Syntagma square, just switch on your wifi on your smartphone and you will have free wifi to load your smartphone street map. Just simple as that!

Tip 3: Obviously Athens are still in reccessions so you cannot expect much from the neighbourhood of Athens City Center. There are still a lot of abandon buildings and shopfront. During the night, it does get very quiet but if you walk on the main street but not small alleyways, you will be fine.

Tip 4: Part of the hotel is currently under renovation, so you might not find the entrance but just keep a look out and you will find it. Make sure you arrive Athens during daylight because it is much easier to find the hotel.

Tip 5: Its funny how a country is in recession but still manage to install so many automated bank machines around town. Don't worry about bringing loads of cash because you can cash out your money from any cash machine around this area. There is also a post office just right opposite Syntagma square, very convenient to send a postcard home after you visit the acropolis.

Tip 6: There are also loads of bars and cafes around the hotel, they are cheap and reasonable. Definitely not out to cheat any tourists' money. We also love the greek Gyros that most of the shops sell, cheap and delicious.

Tip 7: The way to Acropolis, Monastiraki and plaka are very convenient, walk out of the hotel and turn left and left again (away from Syntagma sqaure) and you will reach the very busy and happening life of Athens.

Tip 8: About the room, quality of sleep is ok but the wall is quite thin so you can literally hear people from the next room talking to their family. The room itself is very clean and bathroom is very clean too. However it is a very small hotel room, so if you are after bigger room, then this might not be your option.

Tip 9: When we were there, there was a mini demonstrations in Syntagma square. There were huge policemen with batton and shield lining up near the hotel ready to charge at the protestors. So if you are someone who can't take this sort of situation then i supposed you should stay somewhere away from Syntagma square. It is a common area for protestors and certainly a place for pickpockets as well. So remember to look after you belongings!

Athens itself is a fun city and loads to explore, i suggest you stay at least 3 days and have a proper look at the city and the lifestyle of Greek. A very interesting city!

If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an average hotel situated in the centre of Athens and in walking distance from the old town and the Acropolis.
Without a doubt this hotel's greatest asset is it's location.
However, the rooms were super clean and although I stayed for only 3 nights, towels and bedding were changed daily!
Breakfast was not bad at all. The variety was not great but everyone could find something to eat and well-cooked, too. Things like sausages, bacon, 3 types of eggs, cheeses, fruits, pastries and freshly baked bread were abudant. Coffee was a bit blah but I didn't really mind because drinking coffee in a greek coffee house is an experience on its own and I had my coffee in a nearby cafe with a view to the ancient temples!
The hotel is to be found in a rather quiet road so traffic noise was never a problem.
The only...inconvient thing was the very small yet very clean and new bathroom.
I highly recommend this hotel for a few days in Athens.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have very small bathrooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calliope74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews