We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Athens Insiders
from US$517.55
More Info
from US$184.56
More Info
from US$217.05
More Info
from US$253.83
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
397
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food tour private tour cape sounion wonderful tour yannis guide nota greek greece acropolis olympia poseidon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 403 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2017

The treasure hunt activity organized by Athens Insiders, was by far the highlight of the business trip our organization chose!!

Despite the large number of participants, the organizers and our guide Kostas were extremely well prepared and ensured a fantastic 4 hour session, during which we discovered the city, tried local delicacies, learned about the history of Athens, competed with each other and of course had loads of fun!

Moreover, I would strongly and highly recommend this tour for companies aiming at team building and strengthen further the cooperation and ties among its' member, while exploring the city in the most playful way.

Last but not least, even though I am from Athens and I grew up here, there were many secrets and hidden gems that I discovered thanks to Athens Insiders. THANK YOU for this wonderful experience! For sure I will come back to try a different tour!

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank asimomko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello Kostas,

We appreciate that you have discovered new things with us knowing that you were born here; and we think you still have a lot to discover, Athens is filled with mysteries.

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

This is an exceptionally good tour. George clearly knows all the good spots and can talk very knowledgeably, since he used to work as a chef. His English is fluent and he managed to cover politics, history, food and just about anything else you are keen to know about. We sampled souvlaki, doughnuts, Greek coffee, baklava with mastic ice-cream, nuts and Greek savoury pies. I recommend you have a very light breakfast. We also visited the meat and fish markets where George showed us the freshest of ingredients. What was perhaps more surprising was how well he was able to engage with my young children (six and nine).

A few words about some other tours we did with Athens Insiders: a day trip to Delphi (Yannis) and a half day trip to Sounion (Evangelos). Both trips were excellent and paced just right for us. We found all the guides to be top quality, highly professional, and personable. You get what you pay for. We will be using them again. They used a state guide at Delphi called Cristina. She has to be one of the top guides in Greece. Ask for her.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank W3493CBtimothyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello Timothy,

Thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to amaze you and make you discover a city filled with mysteries, so we are delighted to know that this is the case.

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

We were delighted with Eleni, our guide for the day, who managed to keep our six and nine year olds (and us) interested throughout the whole tour. Eleni arrived at out hotel on time and sat down with us before we started the tour, to explain what we would see and put it into context for the children, making use of good pictures. Her English was impeccable which made it very easy for her to explain and simplify things for the children. Before visiting the Acropolis, she walked us through Plaka and recounted fascinating stories about the area. At the Acropolis she entertained us with many Greek myths related to the temples. She also talked about Greek history such as the Persian Wars. After visiting the Acropolis we went to the museum, which could have been dull for the kids, but Eleni was very entertaining and kept them engaged throughout using a treasure hunt so that they would look at the exhibits carefully. Nothing was too much trouble. Later in the day we stopped to buy some medicine for my son who was ill and Eleni was again very helpful.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank W3493CBtimothyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello again Timothy,

Delighted to know that we have achieved our goal of giving you an unforgettable private experience.
You can be sure that we will always be happy to receive you again and again.

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

George was a fantastic tour guide and not only knowledgeable about food but also Athens and Greece, it's history and the culture. We went to areas that we wouldn't have found ourselves, sampling delicious Greek food along the way, exploring markets, cafes, bakeries and restaurants. A real insight into living and working in Athens in 2017.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank 540Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Hello 540Jackie,

We hope you will not forget this adventure, and that we have given you the desire to return to our beautiful city!

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Natalie and her team of experts toured our group of 6 for 3 days and we could have toured longer! Vivian gave us the most in depth tour of the Acropolis and even used tablets with 3D like visuals. Yanis took us to Delph where we learned so much about the Oracle from Cristina and then visited an olive grove for snacks and a charming Greek fishing village for lunch sharing all his knowledge and chatting us up with interesting conversation the entire day. The other Yanis took us on the most detailed food walking tour of Athens which was so detailed and packed with facts and amazing history and food we all wanted to keep touring. It ended at the most unusual coffee shop in the world where each brewed cup of coffee slowly brews in hot sand. The trip to Posiedons temple was equally amazing. In their expert care, all the Athens insiders family made us feel so welcome and shared their fabulous history and culture in the most extra ordinary way. Natalie even helped us to buy tickets to the historic
Herodes Atticus theater the most incredible venue for viewing theater or live performances anywhere in the world. We could easily have spent another 3 days touring this rich vibrant city and area and will soon return for more.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Insiders T, Guest Relations Manager at Athens Insiders, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hello David,

Thank you very much for your return, hoping you are coming home with lots of memories!

ευχαριστώ πολύ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews